We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded EVERY expectation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded EVERY expectation!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had been planning this trip for a long time and we looked at many different resorts before deciding on Secrets. We had a wonderful time and received excellent service. The entertainment team in particular (Adrian, Manny, and Julio) were fantastic. We really enjoyed the volleyball and karaoke and the other fantastic shows at the resort. All of the staff were very friendly and everything was very clean. The beach was beautiful and there we always plenty of chairs and towels and nearby bars. The food was very good and we highly recommend the swim up rooms! The resort is large enough to offer many choices for dining, fun and relaxation but also small enough to get around quickly and run in to new friends that we met.We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a swim up room, it was worth the extra and some of them connect to a water slide that takes you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Amber J,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    998
    518
    254
    127
See reviews for
212
2,442
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed at aura with my girlfriend and another couple for a week. We had a great time thank to the entire staff especially Julio, Adrian, Isaiahs, Pepe and whoever else made our trip special. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Ron P,

We appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed; it is a pleasure to us that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, we are all the time trying to please to our guest, and when we see that you enjoyed your stay we are happy, because it shows what we want to provide to our guest at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and i made our second visit to Secrets in Cozumel. Last year we stayed in a large suite overlooking the pool, ocean and the beach, great view. The bed was comfortable, but furnishings were sparse, no dresser, or drawers in the bathroom. Hot water was in short supply and made the whole experience less than enjoyable. Since we came to dive and our wives to sit on the beach we both enjoyed these our preferred activities. Food was good, but not great. Service was the best thing this resort had to offer. Friendly staff with many eager to make your stay better. I'd give in 3 stars at best.

This year we saw improvement in the resort overall appearance. Dingy areas were cleaned painted and landscaping was improved giving a more lush feel to the property. We stayed in a jr. suite pool view away from the ocean. Our room was clean, and smelled good as long as the AC was running. Shut it off and it got musty. It had a dresser and large spacious closet lots of area in the bathroom for my wife to layout make up and stuff. The shower was excellent and hot water was endless. Food was good, but not great. The resort staff was very friendly and hustled to please. Each morning we were greeted by Beatrix in the marketplace who's smile and happy demeanor made you feel right at home. Room service was quick and food was good. Construction was in progress but was confined to new rooms on the beach and did not bother us at all. Clearly, they are investing in the resort and its come up to a 4 star in the past year. We looked at the Palace while we were in Cozumel but the wives refuse to give up the beautiful beach and pool areas. We will be back next year for more fun sun and great diving.

Room Tip: You're preference pool view or ocean view are good but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jack021455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Jack021455,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Secrets Aura Cozumel, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better.

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments of our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.


warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went over Christmas 2013, for 5 days. The food was pretty good, the best meals being in the "french restaurant". The room was pretty good, large and clean, although we had a steady battle with our air conditioner and the remote controller. We were not bothered at all by the construction. The staff was very good, always helpful and making things happen. The only real black thumb was the nasty loud music that was playing by the pools most of the afternoon and at lunchtime...same soundtrack every day, same awful music. We would move around the property to find a quiet location, sometimes not possible.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are quite far from the beach. the plus side is they can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwolfgang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We have taken note in our opportunity areas kindly mentioned on your overview. Please feel confident that we will take the proper measures to prevent reoccurrences like this in the future.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this resort in July of 2013; we were on our honeymoon. The resort knew this and we did not receive any of the "honeymooner" specials. We went through a travel agent and were told (not only by the agent, but by the Secrets website) that the resort was brand new as of December 2012.

When we arrived, it was lovely. We were greeted with a nice drink and our luggage was taken.
Our room was nice, however, I could tell it was not new. We splurged a bit and booked a "swim up" room. The small pool located outside our suite led to the main pool via water slide. The slides were old and chipping off paint. It was uncomfortable using this feature; therefore, we did not. For being an “adult only” resort, we found it odd that the pool/bar outside our suite closed at 6pm.

The hotel staff were excellent. However, I would not return to this resort. We were very disappointed that the resort was falsely advertised as newly built, when in fact, it was only purchased from another company in 2012 and being remodeled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VBT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi VBT K,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay through this mean. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improve our service levels.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you enjoyed such as the service and staff however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at the hotel.

As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest. It is unfortunate that we did not have the chance to change your negative perception of our property before you left.


Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 2 weeks at this resort and were very disappointed overall. With five previous stays at the Dreams Resorts which are related and visiting the Secrets website we expected a good quality 4 to 5 star hotel like the others we have stayed in in Mexico. On check in we asked for a room away from construction and with decent pool views. We were taken to a second floor room that smelled of dampness and mustiness that had no view except a tree top and that was very dark and dated. We walked back to the front desk and the clerk was well aware of the issue and offered to upgrade us to an ocean front room for $700 which we did when he declined to move us to a better room for free. It was a large, comfortable room with great views although somewhat dated.The windows leaked in the rain, the sink was cracked and the hot water heater gave out. Internet access was sporatic.

We met 5 other couples who had had similar experiences although three were upgraded at no cost! Their rooms had obvious mold. This is an older property that has upgrading in progress.

The staff were friendly and tried hard. Service was very good most of the time and terrible at others. The red house wine was the worst I have had at a resort and they offered no alternative. These were observations of other guests as well. The food was generally good although the beef servings mostly had lots of gristle. They opened a new buffet cafe for lunch and breakfast and food varied from good to being unrecognizable..

The beach front area is good, the snorkeling mediocre, and entertainment average.

There are numerous better hotels for the money in Mexico.

Room Tip: They are opening a new Preferred Section that will be completely redone and I assume that will be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank voyageur87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi voyageur87,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent gateway. Please be certain that we’ve taken your comments really serious and we will ensure that situations like these will not happen in the future.

As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest.

In the meantime, we have noted your comments about rooms with the concerned department in order to ensure we maintain our usual high standards.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in one of the junior swim up rooms in the back with the slides. The room had a very musty moldy smell, and when we got home we had to wash all of our clothes including the ones we did not wear. For people with allergies like I this is not good. Still very congested after being home for a few days. From other reviews I've read some moved to a room closer to the ocean that was good, but it will cost more to be up there. Otherwise had alot of fun. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the ocean to avoid the mold smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Bob M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product

We appreciate your objectivity and I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and we have made changes for a more positive customer experience.

I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services

We regret to know that our room had not met your expectations. All aspects you have raised to our attention are under review.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cozumel
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
21.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing