We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice all-inclusive, secluded spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice all-inclusive, secluded spot”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went over Christmas 2013, for 5 days. The food was pretty good, the best meals being in the "french restaurant". The room was pretty good, large and clean, although we had a steady battle with our air conditioner and the remote controller. We were not bothered at all by the construction. The staff was very good, always helpful and making things happen. The only real black thumb was the nasty loud music that was playing by the pools most of the afternoon and at lunchtime...same soundtrack every day, same awful music. We would move around the property to find a quiet location, sometimes not possible.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are quite far from the beach. the plus side is they can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwolfgang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We have taken note in our opportunity areas kindly mentioned on your overview. Please feel confident that we will take the proper measures to prevent reoccurrences like this in the future.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    998
    518
    254
    127
See reviews for
212
2,442
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this resort in July of 2013; we were on our honeymoon. The resort knew this and we did not receive any of the "honeymooner" specials. We went through a travel agent and were told (not only by the agent, but by the Secrets website) that the resort was brand new as of December 2012.

When we arrived, it was lovely. We were greeted with a nice drink and our luggage was taken.
Our room was nice, however, I could tell it was not new. We splurged a bit and booked a "swim up" room. The small pool located outside our suite led to the main pool via water slide. The slides were old and chipping off paint. It was uncomfortable using this feature; therefore, we did not. For being an “adult only” resort, we found it odd that the pool/bar outside our suite closed at 6pm.

The hotel staff were excellent. However, I would not return to this resort. We were very disappointed that the resort was falsely advertised as newly built, when in fact, it was only purchased from another company in 2012 and being remodeled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VBT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi VBT K,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay through this mean. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improve our service levels.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you enjoyed such as the service and staff however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at the hotel.

As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest. It is unfortunate that we did not have the chance to change your negative perception of our property before you left.


Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 2 weeks at this resort and were very disappointed overall. With five previous stays at the Dreams Resorts which are related and visiting the Secrets website we expected a good quality 4 to 5 star hotel like the others we have stayed in in Mexico. On check in we asked for a room away from construction and with decent pool views. We were taken to a second floor room that smelled of dampness and mustiness that had no view except a tree top and that was very dark and dated. We walked back to the front desk and the clerk was well aware of the issue and offered to upgrade us to an ocean front room for $700 which we did when he declined to move us to a better room for free. It was a large, comfortable room with great views although somewhat dated.The windows leaked in the rain, the sink was cracked and the hot water heater gave out. Internet access was sporatic.

We met 5 other couples who had had similar experiences although three were upgraded at no cost! Their rooms had obvious mold. This is an older property that has upgrading in progress.

The staff were friendly and tried hard. Service was very good most of the time and terrible at others. The red house wine was the worst I have had at a resort and they offered no alternative. These were observations of other guests as well. The food was generally good although the beef servings mostly had lots of gristle. They opened a new buffet cafe for lunch and breakfast and food varied from good to being unrecognizable..

The beach front area is good, the snorkeling mediocre, and entertainment average.

There are numerous better hotels for the money in Mexico.

Room Tip: They are opening a new Preferred Section that will be completely redone and I assume that will be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank voyageur87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi voyageur87,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent gateway. Please be certain that we’ve taken your comments really serious and we will ensure that situations like these will not happen in the future.

As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest.

In the meantime, we have noted your comments about rooms with the concerned department in order to ensure we maintain our usual high standards.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in one of the junior swim up rooms in the back with the slides. The room had a very musty moldy smell, and when we got home we had to wash all of our clothes including the ones we did not wear. For people with allergies like I this is not good. Still very congested after being home for a few days. From other reviews I've read some moved to a room closer to the ocean that was good, but it will cost more to be up there. Otherwise had alot of fun. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the ocean to avoid the mold smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Bob M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product

We appreciate your objectivity and I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and we have made changes for a more positive customer experience.

I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services

We regret to know that our room had not met your expectations. All aspects you have raised to our attention are under review.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location: Pros...Situated on a beautiful long stretch of sandy beach. Cons...A bit farther from town compared to other resorts.

Check-In: Pros...Friendly and efficient front desk staff with prompt welcome drink. Cons...Despite making reservations 7 months in advance and the property being less than 100% full, we were given a junior swim-up room (4015) a distance away from the main building, next to a trash dump site and near the construction. The lobby was small, bland and not what you'd expect.

Room: Pros...Spacious, tasteful decor, comfortable bedding, large walk-in shower, plenty of hot water, prompt air conditioning repair which worked well afterward and shallow swim-up pool. Cons...Musty smell, hard bed, low lighting, small tv size, no bathroom exhaust fan, harsh towels, unpleasant toiletries, inadequate shower head, unreliable Internet access and shallow pool.

Room Service: Pros...Always delivered promptly with friendly service. Cons...No variety, half of the food always arrived cold, small portions and inconsistent (as noted by other reviewers) on preparation/quality as well as condiments/utensils.

Restaurants/Food: Pros...Friendly servers and mostly good food. Cons...No variety, small portions, limited snacks and Bordeaux's usually closed.

Bars: Pros...Friendly bartenders who know how to mix a good drink using premium alcohol. Cons...Outdoor bars close early or not open at all.

Pools: Pros...Clean with plenty of chairs, towels and rafts. Cons...Small pools, no water features, cold water and wet towels.

Resort Grounds: Pros...Clean, no bugs and well maintained with good snorkeling off the long sturdy dock. Cons...Resort facade is boring and outdated. Nothing special or beautiful about the landscaping or design.

Sundry/Gift Shop: Pros...Open on a regular schedule and carries basic necessities. Cons...Tiny and unfriendly staff. Don't expect to find clothing, gifts or unique items here.

Coffee Shop: Pros...Nicely set up. Cons...Terrible, bitter coffee and stale treats.

Overall: We love the island of Cozumel. However, this was our first time to a Secrets hotel (for a belated honeymoon) and we found it to be disappointing. It definitely wasn't the adult-only, all-inclusive LUXURY resort that we had expected...or that was advertised! We are not picky travelers and don't expect 5-star hotels, but at Secrets it was one negative thing after another that added up to our final conclusion.

Room Tip: It looked like the Ocean View Swim Up Suite may be a better choice than the Junior Suite Swim Up due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wandering_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

You did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service, that´s why your comments are very appreciated beacuse this help us to improve our services

We appreciate your objectivity and I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and we have made changes for a more positive customer experience.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We came here with friends and had a wonderful time - from January 9-15. Food was delicious, beach and pool were clean, and the staff was extremely friendly. Adrian and Julio on the entertainment team were very friendly and great at keeping people aware of all activities that were happening. All other staff was extremely helpful and welcoming as well. We had a relaxing week and would definitely come back here and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was wonderful and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service, cleanliness of rooms, delicious food and drinks and various staff members. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.

it was a plasure to host you.We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Aura Cozumel January 4th - 15th. I will admit to being a little bit nervous after reading some of the reviews, but we went with an open mind and looked forward to leaving the snow behind.
Upon our arrival at Secrets, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and a cool cloth and the check in process was quick and our room was ready to go. We received a free upgrade (due to being members of AM Resorts) and we were very pleased with our swim up, ocean view room. Room 1110 is super conveniently located and is an end room. We also received better wifi in our room than the staff did in the lobby!
Room was clean and spacious. There was a little bit of a musty smell but that is to be expected being right next to the pool and close to the ocean. It wasn't an issue for me. Hot water and AC in perfect working order throughout our whole trip. (Thought that was important to mention re previous reviews)
The resort itself is well maintained and the staff are happy and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. As it is a smaller resort, it has a cozy feel to it without being crowded. The beach is nice as well. Most days the ocean was calm and swimming was easy. Although it is true some parts can be tricky navigating your way into the water due to rocks, but it is not inaccessible. As well there is a ladder at the end of the pier that allows for easy, rockless access to the ocean.

As we were expecting some less than perfect weather, we had brought a few dvd's down with us. When we got to the room, we found there was no DVD player. A quick call to the concierge and within five minutes, a DVD player was brought to our room and hooked up for us. I was pretty impressed with that.

Food --- to be honest, sometimes the food left a little something to be desired. Some dishes we had, like the Rockefeller shrimp at windows, was fantastic....other dishes...not so much. One issue we found frequently was that things were not served hot. I do believe they are working hard to sort these issues out. While we were there, breakfast was served buffet style at windows. But just as we were leaving (the day before) they opened the new restaurant, Market Cafe for breakfast and lunch...both being buffet style. This allows for a much better buffet as space is not an issue here as it was in windows.
We ventured over to sunscape (the sister resort) a couple of times just to check it out. Neat little beach bar over there with swings rather than bar stools. We ate at the Italian restaurant, portofino, and really enjoyed the lasagna. We ate as well at Bordeaux a couple of times. Had a wonderful lobster dinner there for our last night on the island. Really enjoyed the escargot as well!
We ordered room service a few times and this was always quick and hot! We never waited more than 20 minutes for our order to arrive.

Nightlife - have to agree with previous posters on this one that the nightly entertainment is definitely lacking here. No shows (heard they have a fire show on the beach one night a week but it was unfortunately rained out both weeks that we were there). Sky bar is a nice place to hang out at sunset and to have a few evening cocktails. They do have a "disco" but for me personally, this just wasn't a nice place to hang out. Dark, dingy, small...not my thing.
But other than that, there just wasn't much to do around he resort. The resort does have an "entertainment team" but I honestly didn't see them doing a whole lot other than some beach volleyball. The entertainment team definitely is not as lively and engaging as the previous teams we have met at other AM resorts.

We have visited a couple of Dreams resorts and were blown away. This resort, although did not "blow me away", was very relaxing and quaint. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful resort, then this may be just perfect for you. We enjoyed our vacation overall. The staff, for the most part, works hard to try to ensure that you are having a good time. Pool bar service was great, drinks and snacks were always flowing.

We unfortunately got hit with some bad weather while we were there (6 out of our 11 days) rain rain and more rain.... Although this is obviously out of the control of the resort, I do wish that they had been a little more prepared for rainy days by offering some fun in the main lobby or something to do for the guests. I was honestly getting sick of the site of my room. Six days is a long time with nothing to do. We did do an island tour during one of the rainy days and had a great day with Santiago, our tour guide. He was just great!

Another night, we ventured out of the resort for dinner and went to "Buccanos at Night". Absolutely gorgeous place with food to match. Highly recommend you check this place out during your stay! (Only open Friday and Saturday nights)

I know some previous reviews had mentioned a lot about construction going on at secrets. Happy to report they are just about done and the new area looks fantastic! We, unlike some other reviewers, were not bothered in the least by any noise by the work being done. We barely noticed it at all.

We took advantage of the spa services one night and had a wonderful couples massage. No complaints here...left feeling completely rejuvenated.

I do feel that this resort is working hard to get up to the "Secrets" level that their guests have come to expect. As we have not experienced another Secrets resort up to this point, we came with no expectations of what it should be and accepted it for what it is..a beautiful island getaway.

A special thank you to some of the staff that went above and beyond to help make our stay a great one
Dariana and Zitaly - pool bar service waitresses, hard working waitresses that always had a smile and were so wonderful.
Margarito - windows waiter who remembered our names at every visit
Pepe, Juan Carlos, Sophie, Rapheal and Alma of the member services staff. You guys were all fantastic!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank candipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cozumel
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
21.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing