We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Upon check in my party of 8 family members were upgraded to ocean front suites with over sized balcony's with Preferred club amenities included free of charge as the Hotel Front Desk Manager Daniel Cazarin appreciated the fact that we are loyal to the AMResort chain with I Preferred membership. This pleasant surprise was just the start of what turned out to be an excellent overall experience the this Secrets Property. The staff at this resort are well trained, always polite with a greeting, providing outstanding service in every area from the food venue, drinks, maid service, bellman, room service, and the pool wait staff. Looking out over clear blue water with lush landscape grounds is just wonderful. The resort is still completing some upgrades to achieve that 5 star rating that it will so deserve very soon. I must add this the food at this resort is the best overall we have experienced with excellent taste and variety. The El Captain at all the restaurants went out of their way to accommodate my party of 8 always checking to make sure everything was just perfect and it always was. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who loves the sun, excellent food, and service at a great resort. FYI loved the Fire Show on the beach and the Latin band in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear toadt,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a loyal customer to the AMResorts chain of resorts, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff and management as it is fantastic to see how happy they get when their departments are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,963 - 2,969 of 3,784 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our first all-inclusive and we enjoyed our stay. Food was good but we are not picky at all. Bonus that you can also dine at the neighboring Sabor for free also. Not big drinkers but the drinks seemed top shelf and not lacking in alcohol to us. Very good room service with a few menu selections but not a lot. Would highly recommend spending the extra for a massage at the spa!! Amazing!! Only issue we had really was the shower was not good at all. Spit on you at best but from our understanding they are in the process of improving the whole resort. Really enjoyed snorkeling for the first time as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason(Hny Pkg) F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Jason(Hny Pkg) F,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind review regarding your honeymoon in Cozumel, we are so pleased to read your detailed overview of your positive experience as a first time customer to an all inclusive resort. Our Spa, amenities including access to our sister resort, quality of our food and room service menu, such compliments serve to inspire our team of hardworking staff. It is obvious that you understand we are still undergoing change but we still successfully met all your vacation needs.

We are glad you are allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Aura for our delayed honeymoon from Nov 7-11 and this was our first time in Cozumel. Our travel agent told us that the Secrets resorts are some of the best places to stay which is why we chose Aura over another resort on the northern part of the island...when I was researching the resort I found beautiful pictures of the rooms and pools, but little did I know that they were pictures of the remodeled rooms (which isn't where we stayed). We had a pool-view room which was nice, just not what we were expecting after seeing the pictures.

The food at the resort is underwhelming...there were tiny portions and no variety. Almost every night we ended up eating at one of the restaurants for dinner and an hour later ordered room service because we were still hungry. We even tried the food at Sun Scapes next door, but it was pretty much the same thing. The drinks and bars were good, though.

I would recommend waiting a while before staying at this resort so that they can finish all of the construction and remodeling. This will EVENTUALLY be a nice place to stay in Cozumel...just not right now.

Room Tip: Definitely get a swim-up suite or an ocean-view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear KimberlyRH,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your trip such as our location and bar service. However, we very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to food portions and quality of food offered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We have discussed the problem with our Executive Chef to exercise better control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Overall I enjoyed our stay at this resort. We also had all-inclusive privileges at the Sunscape resort which is a 2 min walk down the beach. The entertainment staff was over the top (Isabel, "Pretty Boy", and "Chuey")

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donielle((Anv P... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Donielle((Anv P... C,


Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your trip such as our friendly entertainment and additional amenity to have access to our sister property.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from aura and must say we were treated very well. The hotel is in flux due to renovations but we looked past that and enjoyed ourselves. The food was good, the service was good and the employees were great. We really enjoyed the birds coming back to roost every evening. It was a blast. Had a great lobster tail at Oceana and enjoyed the wine. Also had a great massage from Virginia. She was quite knowledgable and interesting. Will miss our "beach girl", Zilily. What a smile and personality. My husband wanted to bring our housekeeper, Juanita, home with us. But, she said she 'had too big of family', with a big smile. The Concierge was very accommodating above and beyond. We would return...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Marsha W,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased to read your detailed overview of your positive experience with our staff, service, quality of our food, Spa and beach service. Such compliments serve to inspire our team of hardworking staff and It is obvious that you understand we are still undergoing change but we still successfully met all your vacation needs.

We are glad you are allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My hubby and I vacationed at the Secrets Aura for a week. We were so excited to get there only to discover at check in that the only room available was in the old Sabor area. (Which evidently they have now changed to the Aura) We booked our room online and asked for a Jr. Suite in the Aura. We have 5 other couples of family and friends that go every year and meet us there for a week vacation. Everyone was in the new section but us. Our room was up four flights of stairs with no elevator. I told them my husband has bad knees and can't climb those stairs........They didn't care.We spoke to a manager that basically told us that was the best he could do. We argued that we paid for a room in the new section. We fought with management for 3 days out of our seven before they finally moved us to the room we paid for in the first place. But it was right in front of a construction site and we had to listen to jackhammering, sawing, and pounding . They would only allow us to move if we agreed to sign a waiver NOT to complain about the noise!!!
So here's my advise to anyone comptemplating staying at the Secrets/ Aura in Cozumel.....
DON'T Waste your money or time!! It's not worth ruining your vacation. There are too many other places to go where they appreciate your business.
My family and I have been going to this facility for the last 8 years! WE ARE DONE!
The last three years this place has been rapidly going down hill and this was the final straw.
If this is how there management chooses to treat their REGULAR customers. We will have our family reunion elsewhere!!

Room Tip: My advise......don't stay here at all. Take it from someone who has wasted a lot of money hoping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Connie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Connie E,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at Secrets but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless apologize for any dissatisfaction and we will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.


We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Cozumel and I was pretty excited from looking at the pictures of the resort. I expected it to be pretty awesome and was unfortunately disappointed by what we found.

Overall it was a mixed bag in line with other recent reviewer's experiences - the rooms were in disrepair (our towel rack was coming off the wall, sink was cracked and the room was moldy and smelled like a very wet basement). The room was clean but service was very spotty. Some days it was awesome, some days poor - I sort of expected more consistency at an all inclusive - my mistake. Isabel, Mario, Vicky and Julio down at the pool are great and all of the other staff we encountered seemed really friendly so that's good at least. Food was ok but also all over the place as far as taste, temperature, arrival time, whether it was what you ordered and so on. For example, at dinner one evening we had our waiter drop off our main courses and then disappear. We ended up just leaving after about 30 minutes since no one else came over either.

The beach and snorkeling by the shore was great and the pools were good (and clean) but the construction was constant and the property looked like it still needed a lot of work to become what it's advertising itself as - definitely not a 5 star resort. The Sky Bar and meeting areas appeared to be closed so really the only bar open after 10 pm was Desires which also smells really musty. We won't be back.

Room Tip: We tipped our room cleaner and that seemed to help keep a good supply of towels and water. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Drea G,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach, snorkeling and pool facilities. With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at Secrets but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. With regards to maintenance and food and beverage we apologize for any dissatisfaction and will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4,927 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $212 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing