We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From Aug.8th through the 14th we stayed at Secrets and had the time of our lives. We traveled with our best friends and all stayed in the swim-up ocean view rooms. The rooms were exactly as the website shows, with amazing views and pool access. The hotel was always clean as were our rooms. If you see a mess, its due to lazy tourist who seem to think that leaving food out on their patios for the birds to devour is perfectly acceptable. The beach and pools were well groomed daily and always had staff that quickly became apart of our favorite memories. We loved our bar tender at the Oceana named Fermin. He made us the most delicious drinks! Everyday he had a smile on his face and always gave us a good laugh. Zitaly, Mariana and Amalia were polite and prompt with bringing drinks or food when needed. We never had empty drinks unless we had to cut ourselves off:) Our entertainment director Julio was also a fan favorite. He introduced us to snorkeling, coconut bowling and even a few dance moves that we have never seen before! We had so much fun with the activities of the day. If you are bored at Secrets its because you chose to be bored, not because of lack of fun things to do. We also wanted to mention; Miguel, Ricardo, Leonardo and Oscar for all of that you did to make our trip so magical and memorable. The food at the resturants was so delicious and well portioned. It was nice to go to Sunscape as well and try out the resturants their as well. The spa at the Sunscape was wonderful and calming after a long day on the beach. We just got back and are already planning our return trip to Secrets in Cozumel as well as looking into the Serets in Jamaica. Thank you for making our first trip so successful and memorable that it definelty will not be our last!

Room Tip: Swim-up ocean view really are the best way to go. There was a lot of constuction still going on in t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Lindsay C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We appreciate your kind review as a first time customer to Secrets Aura. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and accommodating staff, views from your room, restaurants and activities during the day. I am sure your informative review will also serve to motivate other travelers who might be thinking of visiting our property. In addition your positive recommendation of our Entertainment and Food and Beverage team members will serve to encourage our staff who work tirelessly to ensure our guests’ receive total satisfaction.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,646)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Aura Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,922 - 2,928 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a 1st floor swim up room. Be careful which room you get... The first 2 we were offered smelled moldy. This is a wonderful resort. Our scuba crew picked us up right off the pier. The beach was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear David F,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are grateful for having the opportunity to have served you at Secrets Aura Cozumel, but we are even more elated to hear that we exceeded your expectations making it a wonderful vacation. Your compliments of scuba diving, swim up rooms, beaches, and convenience of the pier means a lot to us and no doubt such comments will serve to encourage our team.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aura 8/2-8/10. We had previously stayed at Aura four years ago for our honeymoon and were very happy with the changes and numerous upgrades. It was also nice to see familiar faces from our last trip.

Room: We stayed in a swim up suite in the back of the resort, the former Sabor. It was very nice that this part of the resort was integrated into the Aura. Our room was cool and clean upon arrival. We had maid service daily and when we left a tip, were pleasantly surprised with flowers in the plantar in the bathroom. Our mini fridge was restocked daily. The bed was clean and comfortable for a week's stay. We liked the swim out room, which led to a water slide down to the pool bar. Our pool did turn green after a heavy rain, but the next morning the staff were out cleaning and addressing the issue. I am from AZ so am used to this issue. They had it taken care of by late morning.

Pools: The pool slides are in need of repair as they are chipping, but that stopped no one from using floats to fly down the slides. It was a lot of fun. This back pool is the party pool. If you want to play a game of pool volleyball or chat with some fun party people, this is where you want to be. They play fun music and the drinks at Manatees pool bar were fantastic. Never had a problem with service there, it was always staffed with at least one bartender and poolside waitress. The front Aura pool was more quiet. We had very good service out there from Zitlali and another nice lady. We also had no problem with service on the beach, there were staff around every 15-20 minutes.

Beach: This side of the island is rocky and the reef is right up to the beach. This means great snorkeling, but you could use a pair of water shoes. So many colorful fish right off the shore, it was very neat. But not a super soft sandy beach, so watch your expectations there.

Restaurants: We were very pleased with the improvements to the restaurants. Windows served a breakfast buffet every morning with an omelet station. They will make you any type of eggs you would like. I enjoyed the chilaqules everyday with eggs and spicy salsa. Lunch at windows was also good, a favorite being the fish tacos.

Oceana had lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the mixed seafood grill at lunch and fried shrimp tacos. Also the scallop ceviche was nice. At dinner, the seafood cuatro was so delicious, as was the grouper. Dessert was good as well, ricotta cheese cake and coconut ice cream.

Bordeux has a wonderful atmosphere and service. We were not a fan of the house wines and treated ourselves to a bottle of pinot noir one night. It was very nice and was $40, so not outrageous. On my birthday, my husband snuck down to the restaurant and tipped $20 for them to set up something special. It was a wonderful surprise. They covered the tables in rose petals and candle-lit our dinner. Towards the end of the meal, the waiter brought gorgeous chocolate martinis and my dessert plate had birthday wishes written in chocolate. It was such a nice surprise, we had a wonderful meal.

I recommend upgrading one night to the lobster dinner. It was delicious! The lobster is beautifully seasoned and is served with garlic butter. They will even do surf and turf for a larger appetite. As far as portions, portions are small, but meals are meant to be ordered in multiple courses, so try everything. Between the three restaurants and the pool side service, we did not tire of the food as others have complained. I find it really hard to believe that people could not find a single thing to eat in the entire resort that they enjoyed. Also, I really like how Secrets has a very nice drink menu with some great tropical cocktails at each of the bars. Takes the mystery out of what to order.

The resort is older and they are slowly working on upgrades. We noticed a few broken tiles here and there and minor aesthetic things that certainly did not effect our trip negatively in any way. The resort fogged every other day for mosquitoes and the hostess stands at the restaurants had bug spray in the evenings. For two, we brought two cans of spray and used 1.5 of the cans. People, it's the tropics. There are bugs, mosquitoes, cockroaches, crabs, lizards and birds. If you want to live in a quiet glass bubble, please don't travel to a tropical island.

The staff at the resort was awesome. The entertainment team, Julio and Gasper were so great in engaging everyone. My husband played volleyball everyday, we did bingo, the crazy game, so much fun. The fire show was really impressive and we loved the International Beach party.

Bottom line, a vacation is what you are going to make of it. We noticed some very rude Americans at the resort, who complained about silly things. Guess what? You are in a different country and you need to give Spanish a try. If you go to Europe or Asia, not everyone speaks English and you have to get by however you can. Don't be that crabby American. Enjoy the beauty of the resort, don't get hung up on the small things and have nice trip. Grab a lounge chair under a palm tree, order a mai tai and listen to the ocean waves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Blue462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Blue462,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear about your enjoyable return vacation spent with us and your comments about our rooms, service, snorkeling, lobster dinner and varied activities offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property so great when visiting the island of Cozumel.To this end, it was encouraging to hear you mention that you are pleased with upgraded that Secrets has made to the property as a result leaving a positive impression on you.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been to many places in Mexico and Cozumel is amazing! We have been to a couple other resorts in Cozumel and this one was really nice. I loved that it was adult only. The staff was amazing and very helpful, they could have had an extra waitress helping on the beach.(there was only one girl and they had her running crazy) The food was great! Could have been more snack bar foods or one that overlapped. There was one point of the day that the snack bar was closed but the others weren't open for dinner yet. Rooms were outstanding and the beds were very comfortable. If you have the means i would recommend the ocean view rooms, much nicer than the ones in the back. No bad complaints though. I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Amber G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are so happy that on your return visit to Cozumel we were able to accommodate you and make your vacation great! Your comments about our friendly staff, food, rooms and adult only atmosphere offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property unique. We hope that when planning your next vacation in Cozumel you will make our hotel your destination of choice.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Aura April 2013. They were still in the process of the changeover but we really did not feel the effects of it too much.

We had a swift check-in along with a warm towel and a drink and were shown quickly to our swim up suite. Everything was great and the only real complaint we had was a lack of drawers to put things in. A nice dresser would have been great. We had to utilize the shelves that were there which worked ok for the most part.

The bar was stocked, the a/c worked great and the bath products were awesome. We've traveled to many 4-5* all inclusives in Mexico and while this one was smaller, we still found iti to be perfectly acceptable.

It would have been nice if there had been more restaurants on property however the ones that were there, were fine. No complaints. We don't mind if it takes a while to get served. We had a glass of wine and lingered over each course. We were on vacation and didn't want to hurry anyway.

The swim up suite was awesome. We weren't particularly thrilled with the location as it was right in front of the little bridge that crossed over, so next time we will pick a room further away from that. People were coming and going all day long so there was no privacy. In saying that we spent most of our time at the beach anyway.

As for the beach, it was great. We did bring water shoes but really didn't need them. I found several spots that I was able to walk in and snorkle. We found the perfect spot on the beach away from the crowd that for some reason, nobody really utilized. It was near the massage hut and the lobby pool. We had the best of both worlds with the pool directly behind us and the ocean in front with plenty of chairs. The bar was nearby too so it was the perfect combo.

We rented a car and went into town and to the other side of the island which was fun. We highly recommend doing that as the other side of the island is completely different. Hit Coconuts and a few of the other little bars and restaurants. Loads of fun.

Shopping is great downtown too and it's so picturesque. It's not that far really and worth the time.

All in all we enjoyed the "adults Only" Secrets Aura and will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a swim up room ocean side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieNBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear AnnetteandBobby,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay among us and that we met your expectations. Thank you for your positive words regarding our resort amenities, our relaxing atmosphere and hard working staff. We can assure you that your review will serve to motivate other travelers to visit and encourage our employees to continue to work with diligence, and most importantly to know that you have the intention to visit us again.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very appealing online. Property could use some upgrades. Need better lighting at night by the steps leading to the pool with swim up bar, had ants in the room, need more help in the restaurants .... service was good, but not enough people, had to wait long periods of time for items. Fairly rocky by the beach and not enough activities. The resort nightlife is a little slow for it to be an adult resort.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view ... larger & more appealing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Lynne B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was not a good experience. We encountered cockroaches, the smell of sewage, and a lackluster view. The smell is abhorrent of sewage and we smelled it both the entire time on the beach as well as from our room. The staff servers were kind and accommodating, however there seemed to be mass disorganization with everything else. We received the next day's itinerary of activities only once in 7 days. The only bright side were a couple of server and hosts, including; a server in Oceana, a bartender named Luis in the Rendezvous and a hostess named Beatriz who worked in the morning buffet. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. I have been to other Secrets that were amazing. If at all possible, book anything else than the Aura.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear CG R,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We apologize for the inconsistencies of our service and for the negative impression that you got regarding our resort. As you can imagine this was an unusual situation and certainly not the norm regarding cockroaches and a sewer smell. As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you the fact that you feel the resort and service are below par with makes a big difference to the guest.The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $198 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing