We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews - we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Aura April 2013. They were still in the process of the changeover but we really did not feel the effects of it too much.

We had a swift check-in along with a warm towel and a drink and were shown quickly to our swim up suite. Everything was great and the only real complaint we had was a lack of drawers to put things in. A nice dresser would have been great. We had to utilize the shelves that were there which worked ok for the most part.

The bar was stocked, the a/c worked great and the bath products were awesome. We've traveled to many 4-5* all inclusives in Mexico and while this one was smaller, we still found iti to be perfectly acceptable.

It would have been nice if there had been more restaurants on property however the ones that were there, were fine. No complaints. We don't mind if it takes a while to get served. We had a glass of wine and lingered over each course. We were on vacation and didn't want to hurry anyway.

The swim up suite was awesome. We weren't particularly thrilled with the location as it was right in front of the little bridge that crossed over, so next time we will pick a room further away from that. People were coming and going all day long so there was no privacy. In saying that we spent most of our time at the beach anyway.

As for the beach, it was great. We did bring water shoes but really didn't need them. I found several spots that I was able to walk in and snorkle. We found the perfect spot on the beach away from the crowd that for some reason, nobody really utilized. It was near the massage hut and the lobby pool. We had the best of both worlds with the pool directly behind us and the ocean in front with plenty of chairs. The bar was nearby too so it was the perfect combo.

We rented a car and went into town and to the other side of the island which was fun. We highly recommend doing that as the other side of the island is completely different. Hit Coconuts and a few of the other little bars and restaurants. Loads of fun.

Shopping is great downtown too and it's so picturesque. It's not that far really and worth the time.

All in all we enjoyed the "adults Only" Secrets Aura and will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a swim up room ocean side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieNBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear AnnetteandBobby,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay among us and that we met your expectations. Thank you for your positive words regarding our resort amenities, our relaxing atmosphere and hard working staff. We can assure you that your review will serve to motivate other travelers to visit and encourage our employees to continue to work with diligence, and most importantly to know that you have the intention to visit us again.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,643)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Aura Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,923 - 2,929 of 3,643 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very appealing online. Property could use some upgrades. Need better lighting at night by the steps leading to the pool with swim up bar, had ants in the room, need more help in the restaurants .... service was good, but not enough people, had to wait long periods of time for items. Fairly rocky by the beach and not enough activities. The resort nightlife is a little slow for it to be an adult resort.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view ... larger & more appealing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Lynne B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was not a good experience. We encountered cockroaches, the smell of sewage, and a lackluster view. The smell is abhorrent of sewage and we smelled it both the entire time on the beach as well as from our room. The staff servers were kind and accommodating, however there seemed to be mass disorganization with everything else. We received the next day's itinerary of activities only once in 7 days. The only bright side were a couple of server and hosts, including; a server in Oceana, a bartender named Luis in the Rendezvous and a hostess named Beatriz who worked in the morning buffet. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. I have been to other Secrets that were amazing. If at all possible, book anything else than the Aura.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear CG R,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We apologize for the inconsistencies of our service and for the negative impression that you got regarding our resort. As you can imagine this was an unusual situation and certainly not the norm regarding cockroaches and a sewer smell. As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you the fact that you feel the resort and service are below par with makes a big difference to the guest.The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff is totally friendly. our room was perfect. pay the extra for a swim up ocean view. meals were great. a little slow but for a reason...you came to relax and decompress from society so do just that. entertainment is what you make of it. go into town if you don't like what is offered. diving was great. walk the miles of beach south and you see overcrowded resorts and kids. secrets was not. it invited relaxation. If you didn't make new friends while there then you went on the wrong vacation. beatrix (at windows) and david, my friend of 90 years (at oceana,) were spot on employees. kudos to both. Yared was great at check in. they made us feel more than welcome. they love their jobs, you can see it daily. spend a day shopping in town, it was fun. we will be back... p.s. go to have fun and relax. try not to be the ugly americans, you'll have a better time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachbumhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear beachbumhq,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your positive comments about our friendly staff, service, room, diving and relaxing atmosphere were also inspiring to prospective guests and staff. Our team remains committed to the total satisfaction of our guests, so reviews like yours remind us that we are on the right track.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple for a five day get away to the Secrets Aura Cozumel. We range in age from 31 to 38 years of age. Upon arrival the service and wonderful and so friendly. We were taken to our room and the room was very clean and we loved our view of the ocean from our balcony.We spent the rest of our day snorkeling and enjoying the beach.The ocean is beautiful but access into the water is very difficult to get into and rocky. Our first evening at dinner tasted wonderful, the service was a bit slow, however there were a lot of guests to service. We did not realize our room was located right under the Sky Bar. There was a large party going on until 2 am and we experienced the noise, loud talking, music, and laughing. We heard all the noise in our room for 4 nights straight!!!!! Do not get a room by the Sky Bar if you like to be in bed before midnight. Our room did not get cleaned for two days and our mini fridge was only restocked two of the four nights, our mini fridge did need to be restocked. Room service was very good. The employees and food servers were nice. The activities listed on our sheet did not really exist. We wanted to Kayak in the morning had to ask 4 different employees where to go and all of them had a different answer. There is not an Entertainment Coordinator so there was a lot of confusion about what activities the resort offered. Two times the entertainment that was supposed to come called the resort and cancelled. There was a gentleman named Casper who tried to provide fun things to do. On our last night on the resort Casper offered a party bus. We had to pay $20 per person and we had to meet at the sister property next door. We waited for over an hour for the "Party Bus" to arrive, come to find out, they sent the wrong bus and only beer was stocked on the bus. There were no air conditioner on the bus, just open windows. We were offered a refund and Casper refunded our money on the spot. We were all dressed and ready to go into town so we ended up finding a taxi to take us to town. The hot tubs never worked at the Sky Bar or the one by the pool. If you want just to lay down and relax all day then this is your place. If you like activities, tours, and things to keep you entertained, this resort is NOT for you. Pretty boring and away from town. Not within walking distance to anything fun. For us this place was a very big disappointment for the amount of the money we spent and we will not be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Do not get a room anywhere close to the Sky Bar if you want a quiet environment before 12 am.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Kiki W,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear that despite your disappointment you still managed to enjoy some services, scenery and amenities at the resort. We however apologize for the lack of entertainment and activities that created issues during your stay and we are trying our best to improve our services so that we can make a better experience for future guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Where do I start?! From the minute we stepped out of the taxi, we smelled the overwhelming smell of sewer. When we walked into our room, again, the smell of sewer. We had to call the main desk the second day because the bathroom lights didn't work. They had to replace the breaker. The third day we had booked the hotel's photographer for group photos and he showed up an hour and a half late. We said no thanks. The food was stale and cold and the service was extremely slow and non-caring. We went to town our last night just to get a decent dinner. Mosquitos are terrible, inside the rooms and out. We have stayed in Cancun and Cozumel before and had loved it. Brought 6 friends with us this time to celebrate my daughter's birthday and our 23rd wedding anniversary. We cannot vacation together very often, so I cannot tell you what a complete disappointment this stay was. Do not waste your milestone or money on this resort.
(Like the other reviewer, the only thing we enjoy was the pool activity coordinator Julio. Very professional and attentive.)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tkharless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Tkharless,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent vacation with us. As you can imagine we are very apologetic about the fact that you did not enjoy your special occasions and thought the staff was unaccommodating due to the many issues not being able to offer you a satisfactory experience. This was an unusual situation and certainly not the norm. As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest. It is unfortunate that we did not have the chance to change your negative perception of our property before you left.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I, along with two other couples, just returned from a 6 night stay at Secrets Aura Cozumel. We have previously stayed at Dreams Tulum, Secrets Silversands, Excellence Riviera Maya, and Secrets Puerto Vallarta. Overall, we had a great experience at Aura and would definitely go back.

Upon arrival, we were escorted to the preferred club lounge for check-in. Miguel was efficient and friendy. We checked in at 2:30 and our room was ready at arrival.

Room: We had preferred club section room 1425. It was the corner suite facing the ocean and pool that had a wrap around balcony. It was HUGE! It was clean, had all the necessities needed and plenty of towels. We were on the second floor and the palm trees obstructed most of our ocean view. We did not have the "rain" shower that our friends had in their suites. We had a tub/shower that was in need of a renovation. It was almost a deal breaker for me to ask for a different room, but we really enjoyed our wrap around balcony.

Food: We ate at Bordeaux (3 times), Windows and Oceana for dinner. Food was very good and service was efficient. We ate at Oceana every morning for breakfast and enjoyed the ready made omelets and buffet. We also took advantage of the room service and it was very quick and the food was hot.

Service: We had no complaints about the service. Most all servers were extremely friendly and accommodating, especially David in the Oceana, Francisco who worked at all the restaurants, Zitlaly at the pools, Beatrix at the Oceana. I was very disgusted by the behavior of some of the guests at this resort. They were very rude to staff and acted like pool side service were personal servants. The poor girls around the pool were working very hard. So, have a little patience and get out of the pool yourself to get your next round of drinks and snacks so that they can also serve the rest of the guests. It's only a few short steps away. We thought service, overall, was fantastic. There was one occasion at Bordeaux where we left before we had our dessert because it was taking too long. No biggie, it was our choice to leave. We tipped often and it was greatly appreciated.

Preferred Club: Being in the preferred club gets you your own concierge and perferred club lounge. Miguel, preferred club concierge, was worth the preferred upgrade. If we ever had any questions or needed anything, he took care of it immediately. One couple we were traveling with had an issue with their A/C not working. After expressing their issue to Miguel, he took care of it personally. He was also helpful with information on excursions and any other needs. In addition, Rigo and Miguel, who both bartended in the preferred club lounge, were outstanding. They would come out to the back pool and ask us if there was anything we needed. That's great service! That being said, I'm not sure if we would upgrade to the preferred club again. Since the preferred lounge is in the back pool area, we didn't use it very much if we were in the front pools. I would have been happy with ocean view room in the front part of the hotel.

Entertainment: Julio and Gaspar were personable and very friendly. There did not appear to be as many activities at this resort as the others we have been to, but I think that may be due to the size of this resort. One day, we had them set up beach volleyball and soon had others joining in for a few games.

Gym: It would be nice if Secrets had their own gym so that guests would not have to go all the way over to Sabor. There's a nice vacant storefront across from the Coco Cafe that would be a great spot for a gym!

Pools: During our stay, the back pool with the slides was definitely the party pool, usually such that we found somewhere else to relax. Several of the slides need some paint but were operational the entire time we were there. The lazy river pool was quiet in the morning but sometimes picked up by mid afternoon. We found that small pool in front of the lobby was very quiet and peaceful all day. One of our biggest complaints was that there are only four resort pool floaties! Because of this, people bring their own. It makes the pool area look trashy with all the different colors and types of floats in the pool. Every other Secrets we have been to has had plenty of floats for the guests. This may be petty but a small investment would make a significant improvement on appearance.

Beach: The beach and ocean were better than expected. The sand was clean and, although not powdery fine, is easy on barefeet. The ocean entry is rocky but we overcame it to get past to softer surface and wonderful swimming and snorkling. We snorkeled off the pier and up and down the coastline everyday. Visibility was excellent and fish were plentiful. We also took a group snorkle tour through the dive shop and saw a large variety of sea life including a shark and sea turtle. My husband and another from our group paid for scuba class and a discovery dive through the Dive Shop and had a great experience.

Overall, we had a great experience at Secrets Aura. We understand that as an all inclusive, there are sometimes guests that drink in excess and get loud. We do not fault the resort for their behavior as there is really not much they can do. We would just find ourselves looking for a more quiet spot to lounge with our friends and laughing at their expense. Yes, there are bugs and birds, as well as other creatures, but this resort is on an island.

As previous reviewers have said, do your homework before you go on any vacation! Please remember that this is not a new resort. There are areas that need some attention (paint, tiles, etc) but overall this is a beautiful resort. If you are looking for a new resort with lots of entertainment and nightlife, then this is not the resort for you. However, if you are looking for a small resort with dedicated and friendly employees, great food and drink, and some relaxation, then look no further and enjoy. If we return to Cozumel, we would definitely stay at the Secrets Aura again!

Room Tip: Preferred club if you want addition concierge service. Avoid the pool view rooms if you prefer quie...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are grateful for having the opportunity to have served you at Secrets Aura Cozumel, but we are even more elated to hear that we exceeded your standards and expectations during your honeymoon. Your compliments of our staff, food, rooms, beach and preferred club concierge service means a lot to us and no doubt such comments will serve to encourage our team.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $194 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing