We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$248
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,116)
Filter reviews
4,116 results
Traveler rating
1,756
1,208
649
323
180
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
1,208
649
323
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barpreferred clubpreferred poolswim up roompreferred arearoom servicemarket cafebarefoot grillpreferred roomcoco cafemanatee barocean viewpool conciergefoam partysister resortfishportions are small
Filter
Updating list...
3,366 - 3,371 of 4,116 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Secrets but when they bought Aura Cozumel I really wanted to go there knowing that it might not be up to the standards yet of all the other Secrets. We were pleasantly surprised. We paid for oceanview and had a lovely corner room with a large balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The only problem with the room was that when the toilet flushed it made a loud groaning noise (which we laughed about everytime). This property doesnt have as much nightlife as Maroma does but they strive to have something entertaining after dinner somewhere (beach party, casino party, trivia etc). We knew that the beach wasnt going to be a beautiful swimming beach but with Chen Rio just a 15 minute ride away we were happy to pack up and go spend the day there. We were totally fine with every meal and had read reviews that service was slow but we did not experience slow service at all. Bordeaux meals were excellent. Only suggestions are: More servers for pool and beach since there isn't a swim up bar at the pools overlooking the beach. Men should be allowed to wear nice shorts and collared shirts to dinner (its freaking hot there and I was allowed in to the restaurant with nice shorts and shirt and sandals.) My husband looked great in golf shorts and collared shirt and nice shoes but had to go put on long pants. Sitting next to us is a guy in ratty blue jeans and a tee shirt and flip flops. That rule definitely needs to be refined..........for ALL of the Secrets properties

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathiKSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear KathiKSL,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy that even though it was your first time to Cozumel you had a wonderful time, we appreciated your kind comments about our staff, room, dining experience and overall relaxing ambiance . We have noted your comments about more servers on the beach and the lack of entertainment It is certainly our intention to make improvements accordingly. In addition to that we have recently revised the dress code in the evenings for the restaurants as per Management. Bordeaux will be the only casually elegant restaurant where Men will be required to wear long pants and collared shirts. You are not able to dine at Oceana and Windows in a more casual dress code.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The rooms were very nice and modern. The downfall was the walls were pretty thin and could hear staff often pushing the carts etc. Food was excellent and waiters were very prompt. Didn't like the pool area but nothing to do with staff, it gathered a lot of very drunk and loud people using foul language. The pier was wonderful attracting many schools of fish. Also enjoyed the snorkeling outside the hotel. It is rocky so make sure you bring shoes or just go off the ladder of the pier. This resort was mostly all American vacationers which was different from our last resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear colette s,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear about your enjoyable vacation spent with us and your comments about our rooms, food, snorkeling and service staff offered on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property so great when visiting the island of Cozumel. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleasured with the behavior of other guests but unfortunately that is beyond our control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned today from secrets aura cozumel & I can't say enough good things about the resort! Management, staff, & facilities were amazing! I read all the reviews leading up to our trip, & I was more than a little concerned. We are so thankful we did not change resorts We have stayed almost everywhere on island, & secrets is by far the best!
Our solarium suite was amazing, room service was always delicious and arrived in less than 30 minutes. The spa was exceptional.
Thank you secrets for a amazing vacation! We will see you again soon!

Room Tip: Solarium suite & preferred club are the way to go!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LLeRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear LLeRae,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a frequent visitor to Cozumel, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well as your constructive comments. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff and management as it is fantastic to see how happy they get when their departments are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I have to say reading the bad reviews I was concerned. I even looked into trying to switch hotels or at least upgrade to the preferred club. I stopped reading the reviews about 3 weeks before my visit and thank god I did. I decided to go in with an open mind.
We got a shuttle to the resort. Just walk right through everyone else to the desk on the right right near the exit doors. Get a ticket 12usd per person and your set. Pulling up to the resort you see two big tall gates with someone sitting guard which automatically made me feel safer. We pulled up someone came over right away took our bags for us and directed us to sit down. We got champs and a cool towel while waiting. We waited maybe 5min and sat down and checked in. No time share talk no trying to sell us anything just checked in and our room was ready. We got a golf cart to our room and the driver was very friendly talking to us the entire drive.
The room was amazing. Jr suite swim up. There were bathrobes slippers and more champs waiting for us in the room and a fruit plate. We werent even celebrating anything special! It was very nice! The air worked great, hot shower, comfy bed. The room was always freezing we even had to turn off the air a lot it was so cold. Tip! If you want really hot water turn on just the hot knob on the left!
The staff was great always friendly. Room service was great we got it every morning. The people were always friendly and set out all our food for us on the table. Room service would ALWAYS reconfirm your order! Which i liked! The staff works hard and we tipped! It was hard seeing people not tipping and conplaining about stupid things the resort had NO control over!

YES the resort has birds ans tes they are loud but your on an island. People were saying the resort should cut down the trees and then the birds would be gone. It made me angry how people could be such morons. Yes there are bugs and mosquitos. BRING bugpray and itch cream. Its going to happens cant do anything. Espically when it rains they get worse but again it is what it is your on an island outside all the time if you dont want to get bit go to the artic;)

Food was very tasty HOWEVER i do think they need a bigger selection or maybe change the menu a little more often. Im not a big fancy eater kind of plain, so eating a burger all the time or chicken kind of got tiring. My boyfriend loved the food though, ate the fish shrimp everything and raved about it all! One night we got a bottle of wine that was great! Never got sick from anything we ate and no belly issues! Some stuff made us gassy but that happens everywhere! Bring some gas x and your fine! Water and ice is all purified no issues there BUT dont use the water to brush your teeth and dont swallow any in the shower!

staff spoke good english! Just speak at a slower rate and give them time to write down your orders when dining! If you dont like onions or cheese or whatever it may be on your food learn how to say you dont like it in spanish!! Thats what i did and it takes no longer than 5min to look up a few words. People often complain about things but then never do anything to try and avoid the problems from happening! Its easier to complain than to learn a few spanish words!

only bad thing. The pool with the volleyball net and swim up bar was green, totally green 2 days out if our vacation and we couldnt use the slides bc we didnt want ti slide into green water. It was from all the rain they had previouslt had so we just went to the other pools, not a big deal. They fixed the pool drained them and they were perfect and were able to use them the rest of the vacation! If that was the only thing that was bad ill take it

OVERALL go it with a positive attitude. Dont be an ugly american and complain about stupid little things like birds and bugs! Bring bug spray and itch cream. Learn some spanish, tip, be nice, And appreciate what these people are doing for you! One girl worked the entire beach the whole time and busted her butt! Props to her but they should get another server so the poor girl has some help! If you need a drink get up and get it instead of complaining.

Email justyne before you go if you have any questions or concerns before you go. She always answers and helped me a lot! Thanks! The facebook page is also great for info! And the staff was great! Ask for Jose at Windows hes awesome! Fransciso is great too at the French place and the entertainment team is awesome "el gatto" haha. Enjoy yourself and relax and you will have a great timd! I will be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chrisxh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Chrisxh35,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and that your first visit to our resort was a positive experience for you despite your initial thoughts. It is very pleasing to read wonderful comments especially from new guests like you, We are thankful for your attention and we will make sure to share your kind words with the above mentioned staff, so they know they did a good job in providing you with an wonderful holiday. Your feedback provided us with an insight of our brand and perception of the services we offer.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Secrets Aura the middle of June. We arrived early on Saturday well before check in time. The room was not ready yet, as expected so we had lunch and then had a drink. The receptionist then called us over and told us that the room was ready. This was at least 30 minutes before check-in actually begins. We were staying in a junior suite swim-up. The first thing we noticed was that the slides outside our room were not working. That night our air conditioner broke. It was nice in the room so we waited until the next morning to report it. The bigger issue was that the ceiling fan in the room was missing chains, so we were not able to turn the light out on the fan. So we had to sleep with no AC and no fan the first night. This might have been an issue if the room was different but the temperature kept and it was comfortable to sleep in. I reported the issues to the front desk first thing the next morning on our way to breakfast. We finished breakfast and went back to the room to find that they were already working on the issues. They fixed them quickly and everything worked perfectly the rest of the vacation.
The food at all the restaurants was good. I thought they offered good portions if you were to order 3/4 course meals. I can understand how some people may be upset with the portions but it was meant to be 3/4 courses and if you did not order that many, you could still be hungry. I found the staff to be engaging and all with smiles and happy faces. The biggest issue is the Unlimited Luxury club folks. They tell you 90 minutes but it takes about 4 hours. We dealt with it because we wanted to $100 dollar voucher. It made our excursion, $60 instead of $160. If you have no plans for excursions, then just avoid these people. They are like used car salesman.
The biggest issues was the swim-up pool and slides. They did not work all week we were there. The pool filters also did not seem to work and by Tuesday the pool was green. After Tuesday employees cleaned the pool daily but the slide never worked as people were painting and doing other various maintenance to it. It was very disappointing as that was the only reason we had picked Secrets Aura over any other Secrets resorts.
My suggestion would be to wait a year or two before booking at Secrets Aura. It really seems like a work in progress. I felt like they are waiting for guests to "complain" about issues in the rooms before fixing them, rather then having proactively replacing things such as fans and AC units. Also, the grounds were constantly having improvements done to them. It was very nice and I would return in a few years. First to give them time to get that Secrets worthiness and because there are other places I want to visit before going back,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bungles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Bungles D,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. We were doing preventative maintenance on the water slides to make them more safe for guests for future use. I admire that you were so objective in your review and that you will take the time in the near future to visit our property as it has a lot of potential and we are continuing to make improvements daily. The above mentions areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

On another note It was very rewarding to read that despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed other aspects of the resort which include our friendly staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews