We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to bad reviews, this place is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't listen to bad reviews, this place is amazing!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I have to say reading the bad reviews I was concerned. I even looked into trying to switch hotels or at least upgrade to the preferred club. I stopped reading the reviews about 3 weeks before my visit and thank god I did. I decided to go in with an open mind.
We got a shuttle to the resort. Just walk right through everyone else to the desk on the right right near the exit doors. Get a ticket 12usd per person and your set. Pulling up to the resort you see two big tall gates with someone sitting guard which automatically made me feel safer. We pulled up someone came over right away took our bags for us and directed us to sit down. We got champs and a cool towel while waiting. We waited maybe 5min and sat down and checked in. No time share talk no trying to sell us anything just checked in and our room was ready. We got a golf cart to our room and the driver was very friendly talking to us the entire drive.
The room was amazing. Jr suite swim up. There were bathrobes slippers and more champs waiting for us in the room and a fruit plate. We werent even celebrating anything special! It was very nice! The air worked great, hot shower, comfy bed. The room was always freezing we even had to turn off the air a lot it was so cold. Tip! If you want really hot water turn on just the hot knob on the left!
The staff was great always friendly. Room service was great we got it every morning. The people were always friendly and set out all our food for us on the table. Room service would ALWAYS reconfirm your order! Which i liked! The staff works hard and we tipped! It was hard seeing people not tipping and conplaining about stupid things the resort had NO control over!

YES the resort has birds ans tes they are loud but your on an island. People were saying the resort should cut down the trees and then the birds would be gone. It made me angry how people could be such morons. Yes there are bugs and mosquitos. BRING bugpray and itch cream. Its going to happens cant do anything. Espically when it rains they get worse but again it is what it is your on an island outside all the time if you dont want to get bit go to the artic;)

Food was very tasty HOWEVER i do think they need a bigger selection or maybe change the menu a little more often. Im not a big fancy eater kind of plain, so eating a burger all the time or chicken kind of got tiring. My boyfriend loved the food though, ate the fish shrimp everything and raved about it all! One night we got a bottle of wine that was great! Never got sick from anything we ate and no belly issues! Some stuff made us gassy but that happens everywhere! Bring some gas x and your fine! Water and ice is all purified no issues there BUT dont use the water to brush your teeth and dont swallow any in the shower!

staff spoke good english! Just speak at a slower rate and give them time to write down your orders when dining! If you dont like onions or cheese or whatever it may be on your food learn how to say you dont like it in spanish!! Thats what i did and it takes no longer than 5min to look up a few words. People often complain about things but then never do anything to try and avoid the problems from happening! Its easier to complain than to learn a few spanish words!

only bad thing. The pool with the volleyball net and swim up bar was green, totally green 2 days out if our vacation and we couldnt use the slides bc we didnt want ti slide into green water. It was from all the rain they had previouslt had so we just went to the other pools, not a big deal. They fixed the pool drained them and they were perfect and were able to use them the rest of the vacation! If that was the only thing that was bad ill take it

OVERALL go it with a positive attitude. Dont be an ugly american and complain about stupid little things like birds and bugs! Bring bug spray and itch cream. Learn some spanish, tip, be nice, And appreciate what these people are doing for you! One girl worked the entire beach the whole time and busted her butt! Props to her but they should get another server so the poor girl has some help! If you need a drink get up and get it instead of complaining.

Email justyne before you go if you have any questions or concerns before you go. She always answers and helped me a lot! Thanks! The facebook page is also great for info! And the staff was great! Ask for Jose at Windows hes awesome! Fransciso is great too at the French place and the entertainment team is awesome "el gatto" haha. Enjoy yourself and relax and you will have a great timd! I will be back :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chrisxh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Chrisxh35,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and that your first visit to our resort was a positive experience for you despite your initial thoughts. It is very pleasing to read wonderful comments especially from new guests like you, We are thankful for your attention and we will make sure to share your kind words with the above mentioned staff, so they know they did a good job in providing you with an wonderful holiday. Your feedback provided us with an insight of our brand and perception of the services we offer.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    998
    518
    254
    127
See reviews for
212
2,442
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Secrets Aura the middle of June. We arrived early on Saturday well before check in time. The room was not ready yet, as expected so we had lunch and then had a drink. The receptionist then called us over and told us that the room was ready. This was at least 30 minutes before check-in actually begins. We were staying in a junior suite swim-up. The first thing we noticed was that the slides outside our room were not working. That night our air conditioner broke. It was nice in the room so we waited until the next morning to report it. The bigger issue was that the ceiling fan in the room was missing chains, so we were not able to turn the light out on the fan. So we had to sleep with no AC and no fan the first night. This might have been an issue if the room was different but the temperature kept and it was comfortable to sleep in. I reported the issues to the front desk first thing the next morning on our way to breakfast. We finished breakfast and went back to the room to find that they were already working on the issues. They fixed them quickly and everything worked perfectly the rest of the vacation.
The food at all the restaurants was good. I thought they offered good portions if you were to order 3/4 course meals. I can understand how some people may be upset with the portions but it was meant to be 3/4 courses and if you did not order that many, you could still be hungry. I found the staff to be engaging and all with smiles and happy faces. The biggest issue is the Unlimited Luxury club folks. They tell you 90 minutes but it takes about 4 hours. We dealt with it because we wanted to $100 dollar voucher. It made our excursion, $60 instead of $160. If you have no plans for excursions, then just avoid these people. They are like used car salesman.
The biggest issues was the swim-up pool and slides. They did not work all week we were there. The pool filters also did not seem to work and by Tuesday the pool was green. After Tuesday employees cleaned the pool daily but the slide never worked as people were painting and doing other various maintenance to it. It was very disappointing as that was the only reason we had picked Secrets Aura over any other Secrets resorts.
My suggestion would be to wait a year or two before booking at Secrets Aura. It really seems like a work in progress. I felt like they are waiting for guests to "complain" about issues in the rooms before fixing them, rather then having proactively replacing things such as fans and AC units. Also, the grounds were constantly having improvements done to them. It was very nice and I would return in a few years. First to give them time to get that Secrets worthiness and because there are other places I want to visit before going back,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Bungles D,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. We were doing preventative maintenance on the water slides to make them more safe for guests for future use. I admire that you were so objective in your review and that you will take the time in the near future to visit our property as it has a lot of potential and we are continuing to make improvements daily. The above mentions areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

On another note It was very rewarding to read that despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed other aspects of the resort which include our friendly staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

hotel: First lets talk about the layout of this hotel. these are two hotels connected together but they are by no means close you have to walk a good jaunt to get to the other one (that has the decent food). Also the layout of the rooms that are not inside the lobby area you have to walk on a service road with staff and service trucks to get to the beach or main lobby. by the time you get there your hot and tired.

staff: we had two switch rooms 2times. The first room we had was not 2 doubles like we were gauranteed, then they tried to mo

Food: They tried to be so gourmet with the food, that all the sizes were way too small while the taste was terrible. Most people including myself walked the long walk to the connect sister property that was not adults only to enjoy real food at their buffet.

beach: i swear the beach was 13ft in width and half a football field long. There were no umbrellas provided so if you dont like to tan but just like to lounge on the beach all day your required to move your chairs around the shade of the palm trees. They have a bad mosquito problem and they know it, and they dont provide spray they force you to walk all the way to the sister property to their gift shop and pay $12 usd for some bug spray.


Rooms: the rooms were not that bad besides one glaring terrible feature. In the second room we were moved to with TWO beds the bathroom had a large cutout circle over the jacuzzi tub. Which means everyone in the room walk out of the shower naked. Why in the world would a room with two beds want to see that, wherease the room that had only one bed the bathroom had a fogged glass wall giving you PRIVACY.

Room Tip: the rooms connected to the lobby building are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetdeesignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sweetdeesignz,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent vacation with us. As you can imagine we are very apologetic about the fact that you did not enjoy the food and thought the staff was unaccommodating due to the many issues not being able to offer you a satisfactory experience. This was an unusual situation and certainly not the norm. As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest. It is unfortunate that we did not have the chance to change your negative perception of our property before you left.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Upon arrival everything was great. They had nice cool towels waiting for us, and gave me and my wife champagne. So we sat with the receptionist to check in. Check in was at 3pm so we were a little early, we had arrived at 1:30pm. She told us we can't check in until 3pm which was fine we completely understand. So we went to one of the restaurants and had lunch, talked, and mingled a little until we was time to check in. Go back to the receptionist and she says our room is not ready! Won't be ready for another 20 minutes! In disbelief they try taking our mind off of it by showing us the attractions on the island.
Okay room is ready. So we pack our stuff and go to the room. The room was beautiful, everything was cleaned and neat. So since we had the solarium suite we go up the steps to check out the private pool. Behold, the pool was filthy! The water was green and had bugs everywhere. After we got unpacked we told the staff about the pool and they say they will clean it immediately. Okay that was fine. So we wait and wait. The very next day we were taking laying in bed and heard a noise on the roof. Go up to check it out and it was 3 guys on the roof cleaning the pool. Here is the problem, they did not go through the room to get up there. So how did they get there?? Make sure you keep all doors locked...
The male staff is very rude. When you talked to them they rarely ever smile and just give blatant answer. When dining in the restaurant the waiters take 20mins to bring you something or...sometimes they don't come back at all. The female staff was very nice, no problems at all.
The food was great but they do give you very small portions, so make sure you ask for doubles. Oh! You might see somebody eating lobster which we wasn't aware they had. They will tell you its $25 which is fine but bring you a check for $35 and demand you pay it, even though you and the surrounding guest heard $25.
Do not go into until unless you are just grabbing souvenirs. The people in Cozumel will cheat you anyway they can. Some stores had 10 pesos=1$, 11 pesos= 1$, 12 pesos=1$, and 14 pesos= 1$. Clearly 12 pesos=1$ but they get you anyway they can.
Check out was also horrible. We had round trip and waited for our ride "Oscar" to come. it was 15mins pass the time. So finally a staff member came to us and said they Oscar wasn't come that he had a stomach ache! Me and my wife never been so ready to go in our lives. Ended up catching a taxi, in the flooded streets of Cozumel to the airport.
The best things about Cozumel was off the resort. If you do go, do the Bottom glass boat with snorkeling that was very fun. Also if you get a taxi or rent a car go check out Coconuts bar. It was one of the best views I every seen in my life. Stay away from anything that is owned by Secrets!! Check out the other resorts!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom that walk out into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deaundra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear deaundra d,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

I apologize on behalf of the Management at Secrets Aura Cozumel as we are most disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us fell below your expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by our shortcomings with regards to the attitude of the staff and lack of housekeeping. Please be assured that incidents such as these are not the norm and steps are being taken to ensure that this does not happen to future guests. Your concerns regarding the above mentioned issues has been passed on to the Management and are under review, so that they can prevent this from happening to future guests.

I am extremely sorry that I did not get an opportunity to meet you in person. I do hope we are going to be able to restore your confidence in Secrets Resorts in the future so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from June 16-23rd and had been worried reading all of the mixed reviews. We had a fabulous time! If you want relaxing they have it. If you want fun go to the swim up pool. The food at Boudreaux's was top notch we ate there a few times. We really enjoyed the 24/7 room service that was something we haven't had at other resorts. Every employee we passed was so friendly it made us feel very welcome. I liked that you have the opportunity to use facilities at both resorts. There was some construction happening on the swim out slides which meant the swim out pools were yucky so that was the only bummer but I'm sure it had to be done. I also recommend using the onsite photographer at the resort he was great and we got some reasonable priced photos. I would return to this resort tomorrow funds willing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TxToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jessica K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear about your enjoyable vacation spent with us and your comments about our swim up bar, Bordeaux, friendly staff, 24 hour room service and photographer on property will also serve to inform other prospective travelers as to what makes our property so great when visiting the island of Cozumel. We were doing preventative maintenance on the water slides in order to make them more safe for guests to enjoy for future stays.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in early June, mostly for relaxation, snorkeling, and diving. There are pros and cons but overall we enjoyed the stay and would likely return.

Rooms: I've stayed twice before in the Junior Suite rooms which used to be the Exclusive section of Sabor, and was happy to see some nice upgrades - clear railings on the balcony, extra comfy hammocks, flat screen tvs, more comfortable bedding, robes and slippers, good toiletries including sunscreen lotion, and of course access to the Aura facilities. These rooms are not fantastic, but they are also very affordable and more than worth the price point. We visited an ocean view room, and they are beautiful and the right choice if money is not an option. However, for us, we did not feel like they were worth the extra cost for an upgrade. We were happy in our room. The only issue was not having hot water after our first day, but that is just something you have to potentially accept when traveling in Mexico and the Caribbean.

Food & Drink
I felt like the food had declined in quality as far as consistency across restaurants. Breakfast on the oceanfront was wonderful and every meal was delicious. Sometimes service was a little slow, but relax, it is vacation. Typically, if not too busy, service was very good. We also ordered room service twice which never took more than 40 minutes and was very good, but usually cold due to our room being in the back of the resort and lots of people ordering due to rain. We were not a big fan of most of the food we had during lunch, and I missed the old Mexican Food option that is now Bordeaux. However, we are pretty easy going and found things we liked. Hilario, our waiter oceanfront during lunch, was a stand out as far as service. He made us delicious off the menu ceviche table side, and gave us the recipe! We wandered over to Sabor one day for pizza - mistake. The pepperoni is hotdog slices, and it took over an hour with nobody else in the restaurant! We stuck to the Aura restaurants after that. We were also not very impressed with Oceana for dinner - somewhat slow service, small bugs/ants on the tables (although maybe unavoidable on the beach), and the fish and mussels did not taste fresh. However, we absolutely loved Bordeaux. The food here is top notch and you are definitely getting your money's worth as far as food quality, service, and atmosphere. Portions are on the small side, but this is to minimize potentially wasting food. You can order as many entrees etc. as you like. The escargot, chateubriand, and the duck entree are fantastic, but everything we tried here was good. We actually ended up eating here 4 of 5 nights. We never had a wait as far as being seated or getting a table. The white wine was not good, but the red was fine with food. Low wine quality is pretty standard at an all inclusive anyway. We had no problem with the drinks, but due to personal taste, avoided most of the frozen mixed drinks. The liquor selection here is completely decent for an all inclusive, and they will pour higher end liquors if you request. We had great service at the pool bar, Rendesvous, and the Sky Bar. We drank quite a bit of tequila, and were happy with the selection. The margaritas were also pretty good.

Entertainment
Due to the fact it rained heavily 3 of 5 days, events like the fire show and beach dinner did not happen, and we did not venture to Sky Bar until our last night, but that is out of the resort's control. We usually fell asleep pretty early anyway. I have to add, I was at first upset about the rain, but it was actually not bad at all. There was still plenty to do, and the rain actually cooled things down a lot. Who needs to bake 10 hours a day in the sun for 5 days anyway? You can still swim, snorkel, dive, go to restaurants, lounge in the comfy hammocks and robes, spend time with whom you are with, etc. The dive boats go out, in even the seeming scariest of conditions. I dove with Dive Palancar in front of Sabor. They were fine, but the past two trips I went with Dive with Martin and I thought they were better - cheaper rates and they cart all of your gear for you. However, they go out very early, making breakfast difficult, and Dive Palancar offers many different times to go dive during the day which was more convenient to my schedule this time. Diving was good. Snorkeling was good as well, even in the rain, and a steal at less than $35 per person. The activity staff at Aura was exceptional. When raining, they made a point of being social and chatting with the guests. When sunny, the encouraged (although not annoyingly so) participation in fun activities. Paola was a real standout here - she really helped make our vacation extra wonderful, but in reality, the entire team was great. Beach volleyball, paper airplane flying contests, karaoke (yes this did actually happen, you just have to be sociable with the activity team and pick out songs at Skybar), ping pong, chess, etc. I've stayed at a lot of all inclusives and have never had so much fun or been so impressed by an activity team (I usually find them an annoyance). Just have an open mind, be friendly, and you will find plenty to do and keep you entertained. Also, other resort guests were very friendly and we had a great time meeting and hanging out with people. Trust me, there is plenty of entertainment here.

Facilities
Due to the rain, there were some serious issues here. Flooding occurred in some parts of the resort - the tennis court was completely flooded out deeply with water. Wandering the resort sometimes required walking through areas of standing water on sidewalks, and after standing long enough, the water began to have a sewage like smell. Also, the pools on the junior suite side were brownish green in color and kept us out of the junior suite pool. We later learned this was due to runoff from the thatched roofs into the pools. Once the rain slowed later in the week, the resort cleaned the pools and made them sparkling and beautiful and we spent a day by the pool bar and going down the extremely fun water slide. I'm not sure if there is anything the resort could have done, but it would have been nice if they sent out a letter explaining and apologizing for the problems, or offered some sort of upgrade or something to make up for it - we received nothing of the sort. We were however happy to see a bottle of champagne and fruit in our room upon arrival, as I had mentioned to the resort we would be there celebrating my husband's birthday - very nice. The beach and pool chairs are very comfortable, and towels are placed on them for guests every morning. There are also no ridiculous wristbands here, or "towel check in/out" requirements as there used to be, which is a very good thing.

Overall, we really enjoyed our trip and would likely return to the resort. The resort is not perfect and has some issues, but remember, you are not staying, or paying for, 5 Star quality here. We found an extremely good rate for our room category - just the meals and drinks alone in the States would have cost more than we paid for our room. You generally get what you pay for, just remember that. Here, I felt we got more than what we paid for overall, even given the issues, and that makes for a pretty good vacation.

Room Tip: If money is no object, go ocean view or swim up. These rooms are very nice. If on a budget, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joannalacy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear joannalacy1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your return trip as facilities, friendly staff, room cleanliness and other services. However, we very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to food portions and quality of food offered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We have discussed the problem with our Executive Chef to exercise better control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from Secrets Aura Cozumel for our second trip there in 6 weeks!! We absolutely love it there! It's so peaceful and romantic! The staff goes above and beyond to cater to our every need! Even sending us a beautiful flower arrangement to our room as a than you for returning. We have made friends with all the waitress, waiters and bartenders..they know our drinks when we walk up, know where we like to sit and wait on us hand and foot. The rooms are wonderful, the ocean view is the best, swim up rooms are really nice too! The romantic lobster dinner on the pier is an absolute must for any special occasion!! The pier is also a pick up spot for many of the excursions you may want to do in the daytime in Cozumel, which makes it really accessible and you can omit many if not all the taxi fees by leaving from there. The Spa is wonderful, the pool activities are fun, and the sky bar can really be a fun night club with wonderful evening views of the resort and ocean. Our Favorite "themed" dinner is the international buffet/party on the beach! Chefs preparing fresh cuisines of various cultures at sunset with a jazz band playing in a relaxing luau type atmosphere. I cannot say enough great things about Secrets Aura, my husband and I do travel to many different resorts in many different parts of Mexico quite often, for us to return there so quickly is unusual.. But the experiences we have had make us look forward to a 3rd trip really soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsOost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MrsOost,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a repeat customer, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well as your constructive comments. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff and management as it is fantastic to see how happy they get when their departments are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cozumel
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
21.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing