We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming Home to Secrets Aura” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Presho, South Dakota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Coming Home to Secrets Aura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the moment we exited the airport van on April 13th and were greeted with a hug and a “Welcome Back” by Fernando and many other employees, our 4th visit to Aura truly feel like coming home. Every time we saw Fernando during our two week stay, he had a smile for us and inquired about our day’s activities. What an asset to the resort.

We had the privilege of meeting and speaking several times with Econcierge Justine and Daniel, head of housing. They are warm and welcoming and truly seemed eager for our feedback. If you want to be sure to meet them, attend the Managers Cocktail party on Monday night. Justine has started Facebook parties too. What fun to meet the people we had been connecting with on Facebook!

Previously we stayed in buildings 14 and 12. This year we were in building 10 – Room 1024. Our room was right above the lobby and under the Sky Bar overlooking the reflection & quiet pools. The rooms are actually a little closer to the ocean and the view through the palm trees is picturesque. Concierge Sandy, a ray of sunshine, always took a moment to connect with us as we walked by her desk on the way to our room.

Our room had a separate bedroom with its own TV - a real plus if one person sleeps later. The tradeoff was no bathtub which I missed at times. Our building was the noisiest we have stayed in. The problem is inconsiderate people leaving the Sky Bar late at night laughing and shouting with no thought to those who might be trying to sleep.

Our room had not been refurbished, but was very clean and we were very happy with it. WiFi worked fine in the living room and on the balcony. Since I am short, the safe being on the top shelf of the closet was a problem. To access it, I had to drag over the bench from the end of the bed to stand on. I would highly recommend a step stool in the room! I appreciated the bed on our balcony. We used our balcony more than on any other visit because those wooden chairs are just not comfy.

One of the best things about Aura is the no reservation a la carte restaurants. The menu had changed from our previous visits and while we missed some of our favorites such as shrimp cocktail, ribs, and prime rib we found some new favorites such as the crab and shrimp cakes, ribeye tacos, and fajitas. I am a picky eater and still had no problem eating at the three restaurants for two weeks. Usually there was an excellent special each evening. We enjoyed the addition of the little breakfast area at Windows with mimosa fixings, fruit, cereal, and pan dulce.

Even more important to us than the food, is the outstanding and personal service in the restaurants. We were so happy to see many of our favorites employees were still there. Jorge M. in Oceana has been our special waiter for four years and always provides impeccable service while assisting us with our Spanish language skills. Manuel at Bordeaux Restaurant made our meals there very special. We prefer to dine early and often went when they first opened. Private dining at its best! Waldo, MVP, does an outstanding job supervising the restaurants always with a smile on his face. Capitan Roger as well as Margarito, Angel, Francisco, and Antonio are gems.

Hostesses Marianna and Geise were so welcoming. Thanks to hardworking – Arelly who brought us drinks to the pool/beach – a real treat. She trudged through the sand all day carrying heavy trays with a smile on her face. We missed Toni (Jose Antonio now) as a waiter but ran into him numerous times doing room service. We found one of our favorite bartenders – Mario over at Sunscape (they rotate).

We encountered none of the long waits described in other reviews except when we went to El Patio at Sunscape. The restaurant was packed from the time it opened and even though everyone worked at top speed, there simply was not enough help. Except for the molcajete, the food was not very good. One day during lunch at Windows, there was an exceptional number of people in the restaurant. It was interesting to watch them spring into action to take care of the guests. Even the hostesses were taking orders.

We enjoyed evenings at the Sky Bar where Franklin took good care of us although it has more of a party atmosphere than in the past. Loud music and many more guests prevented the quiet visiting we have enjoyed there in the past. We did enjoy dancing with a DJ one night. They have set up tables and chairs which is nice, but we miss the bar stools. One evening, the rude and drunken guests that chose to play their loud rap music trying to overpower the music already playing drove us out to the quieter Rendezvous Bar downstairs.

New this year was an excellent Elvis Presley impersonator on Thursday evenings at Sunscape. Reggie Randolph has performed previously in Branson. He has a beautiful voice and in between songs, told jokes and provided interesting information. I wish you all had heard him sing “How Great Thou Art.”

Monday night was a real “toes in the sand” beach party with live music and dancing. Tables were set up on the beach (of course with real table cloths and napkins!) and different nationality food stations. Try the yummy mango margaritas! All day, I watched them carry tables and chairs to create this special event for us. Remarkably, all trace had vanished by morning. While the food may not have been as good as in the restaurants, I appreciated the extra work this meant for the already hard working employees.

Although the resort was at capacity, we did not encounter the chair saving often mentioned in the reviews. I would often comment at 10:00 am about the number of remaining beach chairs. Some confusion may occur because the resort places rolled up towels on all the pool chairs in the morning and some people leave the used towel on the chair when they leave. It would help to have towels and a receptacle at the quiet pool. Generally, if there was nothing but a bunched up towel, people assumed it was an unused chair.

There were some floaties left by previous guests in addition to about 5 blue resort ones. Guests would go around and collect the blue ones off the swim up balconies and bring to the front of the pool for everyone so finding one was not a problem. By the way, the hot tubs are fixed and were hot except for one at the Sky Bar for people who preferred it cooler.

Besides scuba diving, shopping, and the Bar Hop tour, we relaxed and enjoyed the wonderful quiet atmosphere Secrets Aura provides. The small perfectly designed resort with such personalized, caring service makes Aura unlike any other resort we have stayed at. We truly can’t imagine what else they could do to make our stay any better. We can’t wait to return “home” to Secrets Aura next April.
Pam & Roger

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear DIVESD,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were very pleased to read your comments as 4th time repeat customers about the hotel, the facilities, food and beverage and service in general. Thank you also for your positive comments regarding the employees, we are happy to know that the time that you have spent with us was worth of value. We have shared this beautiful review with the staff at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. These reviews are always a high motivation to improve our service.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again next year!

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    962
    496
    245
    123
See reviews for
202
2,338
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived on direct flight from Denver, luckily it was an easy travel day. Seated up front so got off the plane and through customs quickly. We took prior advice and after clearing customs walked past the blue shirt folks to the right to get to the transportation desk. Tickets for the shuttle to secrets were $11.40 each. Within 5 minutes of getting in the white van out front, we were on our way to Secrets Aura.

Room: We were in room 1226, ocean view in the back corner, but did still have a nice view over the grounds and a little bit of the ocean. The deck had two wooden chairs and a table and was a good size with glass see through railings, we were on a corner so it felt very open. Because it was an end room we were right next to a bunch of trees though were very loud mockingbirds would hang out, so bring ear plugs or they'll be waking you up at dawn and possibly keeping you up at night. Room was large with a couch and dining table with two comfy table-side chairs. It was clean, furniture in relatively good shape, white cushions on one of the table-side chairs had a couple stains on it but not surprised since they are white. Nice rain shower in the ceiling. For us there seemed o be plenty of storage space, but it's just located in various places rather than just one wardrobe or dresser. The bar was stocked with beer, soda, juice and water. There was a coffee maker, ice bucket and glasses.

Food: Generally pretty good with some issues with consistency at times. Menu did get a little old, particularly at lunch after being there a whole week. Grouper was fantastic and my favorite dish of the week, my husband's was the French Toast. Favorite restaurant was Windows for experience with both food and service. Coco cafe, no gluten free options, but my hubby liked his sandwich and it looked like they had plenty of tasty sweet treats. Coffee is a good Costa Rica brand called Café Britt, but the barista still has some skills to learn about coffee making, the frappachino was far from starbucks quality, but had super thick whipped cream filling the top half of the very small 6oz cups.

Drinks: Beer on tap is Dos Equis. Their house wine wasn't so great and only two options, a Mexican white table wine and a red by the same brand that was a blend of Tempranillo and Grenache. These were barely passable and only when drank with food. The wine list looked ok, but very over priced as an American Chardonnay (Hess) that usually ran about $10 in the US was $55 here. They actually didn't have a lot of the bottles on the list in stock as we had 3 of our choices rejected. The staff in Bordeax didn't have a clue about the wines either as when we asked for a recommendation to go with the Chateaubriand and the duck he recommended an Argentinean Chardonnay. I don't personally know anyone who would pay a lot of money for wine and want to pair their beef with a chardonnay. Best bet is to go with cocktails. Several creative options there even for me who doesn't know what to have and they list a drink of the day in the Sundial too. Try a tamarind daiquiri.

Entertainment: During Saturday dinner a guitarist played on the beach with both an electric and acoustic guitar for various songs, lots of Santana, Eagles, Beatles, Metallica and other well known songs. It was very entertaining and romantic. Sky bar was supposed to have Karaoke tonight, but when we showed up it was energetic club music. Most of the folks who looked like they were there for Karaoke eventually left as no one wanted to change the current vibe by being the first one to sing. Staff could have again done a better job of encouraging guests to participate in the theme of the night as posted rather than derailing it, I bet you can guess who was running it... The bartender was working hard taking care of the numerous rounds of shots ordered by a couple of the groups up there, and I didn't really see him get tips from them much either. He's clearly a hard worker, and his drinks were good too. We also attended Country night up there and it was fun and people danced too. Didn't attend any of the entertainment at Sabor. Movie night occurred outside in Coco Plaza by the coffee shop twice a week.

Pools: Front pool generally peaceful with a lazy river. The back pool was quieter the morning, which lasted until 11:30 when the 80's heavy metal music would start playing. This was where the party crowd mostly hung out. Pretty easy to get a lounger either by the pool or on the beach throughout the trip. There are many "Pool float hogs" who don't seem to understand the concept that if everyone freely shares the floats there wouldn't be a scarcity of them and that when they put them aside either at their chairs or on their swim-out decks it creates a scarcity mentality around the resort, please don't be one of these people.

Activities: I had previously heard that activities are not well attended, but now I understand that that might be in large part due to the fact that Luis, one of the activities guys who runs many of them is very good at trying to avoid working. Several times throughout the week when there was no one where one of the activities were scheduled to be at the time on the schedule in the Sundial, we went to the front desk and they were usually surprised to hear that, made some calls and then Luis would finally show up. It was very apparent that he doesn't take his job seriously, luckily that isn't true for most of the staff at Aura. On our last day we managed to find people to play beach volleyball on our own and luckily we had brought our own ball as the resort ball was no where to be seen that day on the court. One of our favorite was an activity to go bicycling. No one else showed so we had our own free guided bike tour to El Cedral, the town in the middle of the southern part of the island, with Ivan. The bikes were in good condition, but were only single speed mountain bikes without shocks and didn't have any water bottle holders, so bring a pack you can take water in. They provided helmets and orange safety vests. Biking felt very safe, but I am used to riding on the road. The trip took about 25-30 minutes one way and we spent some time taking photos around El Cedral. Ivan was friendly and we enjoyed riding with him. We also enjoyed the yoga classes, they had an experienced instructor from California there for the week we were there, Yoga Elaine, and she was fantastic.

Snorkeling or diving is a must, while out front of the resort is convenient, it had less to see than one of the boat trips and the waves often churned up the sand so visibility was poor. Do it on a calm day.

Touring the island by car rental was a good alternative to booking a tour for us that wouldn't cover all we wanted to see. The onsite rental company is Fiesta and they were helpful, friendly, and trustworthy. We got the comprehensive insurance so that we wouldn't have to deal with any hassles though.

A note about the resort coupons and the "Time Share/Vacation Club" sales people. First of all we didn't realize that our package booked through Cheap Caribbean even came with them although when booking this trip I did see those offers at certain websites for $400 in resort coupons. They are broken up into small usable amounts (max $40 off a massage at one time, but three of those, max $10 off wine at a time, and 4 of those). It's clear they help sell services that you might not buy anyway since the prices are nearing ridiculous. Turns out the lady who provides them to you is with VIP services, if you miss her on check in she leaves you a note in your hotel door telling you to come down and pick them up, so we did. The VIP services is their Vacation Club Promoter. She tries to get you to agree to sit down with one of their representatives in order to get other free stuff while she's giving you the coupons. She's a pretty good sales person too, knows how to find angles around any barriers or reasons you say your not interested. For some people this could be a good deal to sit through this in exchange for car rental, snorkel trips, or other tour discounts, but we despise sales calls and would rather pay cash value.

Sunsets were generally fabulous, and you can't go wrong watching the from the beach or one of the beach-side restaurants. The view of the pier and water with the sunset makes for even better photographs. Weather can be cloudy, windy and rainy at times, so bring a light jacket/sweater/shawl and an umbrella.

Overall, despite some of the fine tuning the resort needs, we had a great time at Secrets Aura! If you would like to read an even longer more detailed report about my trip including more info about restaurants/food, island tour and snorkeling, you can read that here in a day by day format: http://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-central-america/secrets-aura-cozumel.cfm

Room Tip: Ocean View Swim up for me next trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koalatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Koalatastic,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

At Secrets Aura Cozumel we always try to offer the best accommodation and quality service, it is good to know that you found our property great and beautiful. We appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our food and amenities offered at the resort.

Regarding the issues that you encountered during your stay we have passed the information to the relevant Department Heads as they have found it very helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking. We will continue working to give our guests the service they would like and deserve. Your comments are taken very serious and we can assure you that we will be making changes at the end of this year.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this resort from April 26 through May 4. We had seen some of the negative reviews before leaving but had stayed at two other Secrets resorts in the last year and were thrilled with them so figured we would try this one. We were not disappointed! We booked the ocean view beachfront suite and we were very happy with our room which ended up being both ocean view and pool view which included a large outdoor bed! We tried to upgrade to the rooftop pool rooms a few nights in but they were booked. You could tell this was an older resort that was in the process of being renovated but beautiful nonetheless. With this said, I believe that the regular staff (waiters, bartenders, maids, etc.) was probably the same that worked for the prior resort as they were friendly but not quite up to the standards in personality or helpfulness that you normally see at other Secrets. The exception to this was Carlos and Freddie at the VIP Services desk and the bartender at the Skybar, they went out of their way to make us feel like we were the only people at the resort!! I cannot say enough about them!

The food was very good and the room service was also very good and usually arrived in a timely manner.

The only disappointment with this resort was that they did not offer champagne throughout the day or at night. The only time you could get it was in the morning IF you sat down to eat breakfast! Overall, we were very happy with this resort and will return to try the rooftop room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaimeDero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear JaimeDero,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We appreciate your sharing your opinion with other travelers about your stay with us at Secrets Aura. This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as this will motivate our staff to continue to work in a more diligent manner.

Regarding your comment about the mimosas, your observation has been noted and will be passed along to the Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa Ok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our trip started April 25 and ended May 2,2013 and eleven people were in our group and only my wife and I had been to Mexico before (week every year for the last 18 years).
I was concern about this resort since it had been taken over by Secrets (upscale resorts) and the reviews were all over the place but we wanted to try a Secrets Resort.

Everything was great the first day "BUT" the AC wasn`t working and had to change rooms on the second day which became upgrade solarium with private pool. On the third day we changed again because the pool had a leek and was getting the bed wet and my wife had the fear of the pool falling through the ceiling. The last room was a solarium as well but AC and the pool worked well.

On the third day our group one by one started coming down sick (food or water) and we had to summon the Doctor on duty which gave the first person a shot and "Ciprofloxacino" and as the others started coming down sick we took the ciprofloxacino and 24 hours later we were fine, I do believe this was in part to us eating at the sister resort (Sabor). The room water (showers and sink) had a funny smell but not too bad.
The staff was great and Justine Pyne / Concierge and Daniel / General Manager was great people to visit and deal with and they are aware of the problems that need to be fixed.
I don`t believe we will go back to this resort but our entire group had a great time and we worked through the minor issues and looking forward to next year`s trip to Mexico.

Room Tip: Because you spend your time in the main pool or on the beach any way don`t worry about the rooms loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotinTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear HotinTulsa,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and your group, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads. We are sorry to hear that you and your group felt sick during your stay but as stated it could be a number of factors such a change of water or food.

On another note It was very rewarding to read from your review you were happy with our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

First time out of the Country, first time to Mexico and the choice to stay here was FANTASTIC! My wife read review after review and after coming back a lot makes sense. For those who think the food portions were small, I would say they must have stayed at buffet resorts because I had enough to eat at every meal, either breakfast (they cooked an over medium egg better then I get them here in the States), lunch or Dinner! Those who said the swim up bar (Manatee) closed too early, it was just right for us because it cut down on some of the excess drinking around the pool which we liked! The drinks and liquor was top shelf and well made! The surprise for me in the room fridge was 5 cans of Dos Equis (XX) beer refilled daily. Other than the oval frosted window in our swim up room (could not turn on the bathroom light at night or morning cause it would wake up my wife sleeping) the rooms were cleaned and turned down daily by a very good housekeeping staff! I could see the transformation to Secrets Standards which were still being ironed out like trying to distinguish the different restaurants which had outside sitting right near each other. Check-in was smooth and easy in an open air front desk type area. Not many shops unless you walked next door to their sister resort, however a $15 taxi ride took you to town if that is what you needed to do. The pool was cleaned daily the beach sand raked and I must add I took a picture with two beach chairs in front of me and I felt like I was in a beer commercial!
The resort is on the south west side of the Island and if you fly into Cancun you have a 45 minute taxi to port then 45 minute ferry ride then another 15 minute ride to the resort or fly into Cozumel and just be left with one 15 minute taxi ride. Very nice and quiet away from the city and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don042053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Don042053,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had such an enjoyable vacation. We appreciate your kind words as it pertained to the cleanliness of our rooms, food, beverages and service. Most importantly that you found the service from our team to be helpful and friendly and we are sure they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,Mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our third stay at this resort, the first since the rebranding to Secrets. We've always loved the intimate feeling of Aura and were not sure what to expect when Secrets doubled in size by taking over the exclusive section of Sabor. Within minutes of arrival any worries we had were quickly put to rest.

Check in: We were greeted with smiles, hot towels, cookies and champagne. We were offered a golf cart ride to the preferred check-in area, but opted to walk and soak in the scenery. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and her 40th birthday. Yared (the preferred club concierge) explained that we had been upgraded to a solarium suite from our swim-up suite, but that we could switch back if we liked. This was a huge surprise, and a month later we are still giddy about this. Our original reservation was for a preferred section swim-up suite, room 1411 which we have stayed in twice, but the solarium suite room 1430 is a VERY large 2 level suite with 2 full baths, 3 balconies and a large rooftop pool. (Maybe twice the width of the other rooftop lap pools.)

The resort: All-inclusive, adults only resort on the beach, with 3 restaurants, (Windows, Oceana, and Bordeaux) a coffee shop and the Sky Bar on the roof. It has two jacuzzis and is the perfect place to watch the sun set. (Seriously, don't forget your camera.)

As a Secrets guest, you have access to the Sunscape Sabor side of the resort. Keep in mind that the Sunscape side allows children , and tends to have a little rowdier crowd than the more relaxed Secrets side. Secrets has three pools—one in back with water slides in the Junior suite section and two in the front section where we stayed. The front pool has a lazy river, which is especially awesome if you are staying in a swim-up suite.

Here is a link to the pictures from our most recent stay. We've put the room pictures first in this album:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151621572674903.1073741827.570354902&type=3

The food: Never a wait at any of the restaurants. Simply walk up to the hostess, provide your room number, show your key and you'll be seated promptly. We love the pace of the restaurants. We would often order a few different courses and some wine, and enjoy each others company with the waves lapping in the background and sometimes live music too.

We quickly fell into a routine of Windows for breakfast, Oceana for lunch and Windows or Bordeaux for dinner. We highly recommend taking advantage of room service a few for breakfasts on your balcony or patio, and their late nights snacks are delightful as well. Room service always arrived within twenty minutes and on one of our late night snack adventures, they surprised us with a slice of birthday cake and champagne!

The service: It's the staff that make this resort so enjoyable. We found the service to be over the top. The front desk crews, bellmen, housekeeping, servers on the beach and in the restaurants were all incredible. In fact, you can't get within 30 feet of a staff member without them turning around to smile and say hello.

Some other nice touches were the anniversary and birthday banners on our door and the balloons that filled the room when we came back on her birthday night.

Overall: This resort is everything we love about Cozumel. Charming, friendly, laid back and relaxing. If you are looking for a party destination, this may not be your place. Cozumel is a divers' island, and most of the resorts quiet down around 10PM. We love that. Do yourself a favor and go into town or tour the island, it is completely safe. Get to know some of the locals and immerse yourself in the culture. It is one of the many reasons we have fallen in love with Cozumel.

Tips: If you plan on renting a vehicle, rent a car instead of a jeep or scooter. You'll probably get A/C and can lock your gear or shopping bags in the trunk.

Even though it is an all-inclusive resort, we are tippers. If you are also tippers and are tipping in US Dollars, we recommend getting crisp new bills from your bank as they are easier for the locals to exchange at their banks.

Don't stuff your money and ID into one of those waterproof containers. It will get a leak, the contents will swell, and you'll need a repairman to break it open with a hammer. Lesson learned.

A very special thanks to Justine and Daniel, Juan and Ferman at the bars, George at Bordeaux, the wonderful servers, Margarito, Angel and Arelly (who convinced us to allow her to deliver drinks to our room) and all of the other members of the staff whose names we have forgotten. Thank you for an incredible vacation. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivingDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DivingDJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a third time repeat customer, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well of your constructive comments. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff you have mentioned it is fantastic to see how happy they get to be so well recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We took this vacation last year while it was still the Aura Grand, I did a review then but it's gone, maybe because of the name change...but felt it was worthy of another one. I'll keep it short...the only bad was we got one of the rooms that had a bad smell...from then on things were wonderful...we had to move twice but ended up with the rooftop private pool suite, sigghhhh so nice...the 3 beds we slept in were so comfortable! The food was fantastic, always hot fresh cooked, no buffet, which I thought I might miss, but no, no food poisoning or upset tummy.....the best steak I ever ate and I don't eat it that much. Everything was clean, weather was good, pools fine, beach a little to rocky, but whatever, so quiet, and if u want to party all u had to do was walk next door and see a show or buffet or nightlife. Not sure if it's still that way but worth looking into. Adult only, quiet, such a nice vacation. The most amazing sunsets every night from the roof top HOT tubs. Walking out of the airport was a bit of a pain, but that's Mexico. Driver took us to the wrong hotel because we couldn't say the name right...if you're thinking about it, now it's a Secrets so it should be the same or better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begonia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear begonia77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities such as our restaurants, comforts of your rooms and cleanliness it would be wonderful to know that you are considering to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again so that you can experience our new Management company Secrets Resorts. We always try to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal in addition to this we have shared your kind words with the team here at the hotel.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
3.9 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
10.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing