We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time's a Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Canton,Mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third Time's a Charm”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our third stay at this resort, the first since the rebranding to Secrets. We've always loved the intimate feeling of Aura and were not sure what to expect when Secrets doubled in size by taking over the exclusive section of Sabor. Within minutes of arrival any worries we had were quickly put to rest.

Check in: We were greeted with smiles, hot towels, cookies and champagne. We were offered a golf cart ride to the preferred check-in area, but opted to walk and soak in the scenery. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and her 40th birthday. Yared (the preferred club concierge) explained that we had been upgraded to a solarium suite from our swim-up suite, but that we could switch back if we liked. This was a huge surprise, and a month later we are still giddy about this. Our original reservation was for a preferred section swim-up suite, room 1411 which we have stayed in twice, but the solarium suite room 1430 is a VERY large 2 level suite with 2 full baths, 3 balconies and a large rooftop pool. (Maybe twice the width of the other rooftop lap pools.)

The resort: All-inclusive, adults only resort on the beach, with 3 restaurants, (Windows, Oceana, and Bordeaux) a coffee shop and the Sky Bar on the roof. It has two jacuzzis and is the perfect place to watch the sun set. (Seriously, don't forget your camera.)

As a Secrets guest, you have access to the Sunscape Sabor side of the resort. Keep in mind that the Sunscape side allows children , and tends to have a little rowdier crowd than the more relaxed Secrets side. Secrets has three pools—one in back with water slides in the Junior suite section and two in the front section where we stayed. The front pool has a lazy river, which is especially awesome if you are staying in a swim-up suite.

Here is a link to the pictures from our most recent stay. We've put the room pictures first in this album:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151621572674903.1073741827.570354902&type=3

The food: Never a wait at any of the restaurants. Simply walk up to the hostess, provide your room number, show your key and you'll be seated promptly. We love the pace of the restaurants. We would often order a few different courses and some wine, and enjoy each others company with the waves lapping in the background and sometimes live music too.

We quickly fell into a routine of Windows for breakfast, Oceana for lunch and Windows or Bordeaux for dinner. We highly recommend taking advantage of room service a few for breakfasts on your balcony or patio, and their late nights snacks are delightful as well. Room service always arrived within twenty minutes and on one of our late night snack adventures, they surprised us with a slice of birthday cake and champagne!

The service: It's the staff that make this resort so enjoyable. We found the service to be over the top. The front desk crews, bellmen, housekeeping, servers on the beach and in the restaurants were all incredible. In fact, you can't get within 30 feet of a staff member without them turning around to smile and say hello.

Some other nice touches were the anniversary and birthday banners on our door and the balloons that filled the room when we came back on her birthday night.

Overall: This resort is everything we love about Cozumel. Charming, friendly, laid back and relaxing. If you are looking for a party destination, this may not be your place. Cozumel is a divers' island, and most of the resorts quiet down around 10PM. We love that. Do yourself a favor and go into town or tour the island, it is completely safe. Get to know some of the locals and immerse yourself in the culture. It is one of the many reasons we have fallen in love with Cozumel.

Tips: If you plan on renting a vehicle, rent a car instead of a jeep or scooter. You'll probably get A/C and can lock your gear or shopping bags in the trunk.

Even though it is an all-inclusive resort, we are tippers. If you are also tippers and are tipping in US Dollars, we recommend getting crisp new bills from your bank as they are easier for the locals to exchange at their banks.

Don't stuff your money and ID into one of those waterproof containers. It will get a leak, the contents will swell, and you'll need a repairman to break it open with a hammer. Lesson learned.

A very special thanks to Justine and Daniel, Juan and Ferman at the bars, George at Bordeaux, the wonderful servers, Margarito, Angel and Arelly (who convinced us to allow her to deliver drinks to our room) and all of the other members of the staff whose names we have forgotten. Thank you for an incredible vacation. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivingDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DivingDJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a third time repeat customer, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well of your constructive comments. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff you have mentioned it is fantastic to see how happy they get to be so well recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    1,017
    524
    258
    128
See reviews for
213
2,472
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We took this vacation last year while it was still the Aura Grand, I did a review then but it's gone, maybe because of the name change...but felt it was worthy of another one. I'll keep it short...the only bad was we got one of the rooms that had a bad smell...from then on things were wonderful...we had to move twice but ended up with the rooftop private pool suite, sigghhhh so nice...the 3 beds we slept in were so comfortable! The food was fantastic, always hot fresh cooked, no buffet, which I thought I might miss, but no, no food poisoning or upset tummy.....the best steak I ever ate and I don't eat it that much. Everything was clean, weather was good, pools fine, beach a little to rocky, but whatever, so quiet, and if u want to party all u had to do was walk next door and see a show or buffet or nightlife. Not sure if it's still that way but worth looking into. Adult only, quiet, such a nice vacation. The most amazing sunsets every night from the roof top HOT tubs. Walking out of the airport was a bit of a pain, but that's Mexico. Driver took us to the wrong hotel because we couldn't say the name right...if you're thinking about it, now it's a Secrets so it should be the same or better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begonia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear begonia77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities such as our restaurants, comforts of your rooms and cleanliness it would be wonderful to know that you are considering to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again so that you can experience our new Management company Secrets Resorts. We always try to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal in addition to this we have shared your kind words with the team here at the hotel.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'll keep it simple, no F'n around with the bed changes, filling up my fridge, the portions are too small, come on I have read so many negative reviews about this place it makes me wonder about the integrity of the people who are posting. I understand if you are 6/7 figure earners and the nose is in the air and expect Sven to do everything, but us, we are just simple folk that appreciate the smiles and the dedication of all the people of Secrets. That is what I see !! It is not about me, but all of us at the resort. Please embrace the People, Sun, Sand, Ocean, Birds, Mexican Food, and of course the Premium booze. That's my rant, being Canadian we tend to appreciate everyone and that is a very good thing. Secrets Aura Cozumel is a great resort that has everything you want, 5 min to check in, drinky and a cool down towel, swim up room, food, and booze. Only thing missing was a camp fire. Maybe next time. Go World !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HortonCoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear HortonCoc,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are delighted to receive such positive comments. We have shared them with our team and we are all very proud to have exceeded your expectations.We appreciate your mention of the highlights of your trip in our hotel: scenic property, facilities, top shelf liquor, nature, Mexican food, friendly staff and beautiful ocean. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to a sunny, relaxing and peaceful stay at Secrets Aura Cozumel.

I really hope we can welcome you back again for a romantic getaway, we will do our best to make your stay was as enjoyable as this one.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Aura Cozumel April 21-28th, 2013, and as the title of the review reads, our room and locked safe were broken into by an employee of Secrets.

We have been staying with the Secrets/Dreams chain for several years, and have been to many of their locations. We enjoy their high standards in all departments, and we tend to stay at their new or newly purchased resorts, so we do allow for some growing pains. Also we are 'members' of their Unlimited Vacation Club or UVC, which , has its own set of growing pains that need worked out.

Our initial room was in the rear of the resort, 3rd floor, pool view, decent room, but not too much bathroom privacy. However, because we were UVC members, we got an outstanding upgrade on day to to an oceanfront suite, living/dining room, bedroom, huge closet and nice bathroom, wooden spiral staircase to the huge 3rd floor with a rooftop terrace, no additional charge.....WOW, great room, great view, Thank you, Pepe, makes us feel much better about being UVC members.

The alcohol flows freely everyewhere througout the resort, and the food in every restaurant is above average, with some exceptional entrees at a few places (Chicken Parm special at Windows was absolutely outstanding) and Salmon and grouper at Oceana were great as well. The manager , Roger, was always on his game, probabaly the best at his job at most any resort i've been a guest, his servers were the best by far, and he does not let your drink go empty. Breakfast is a weak point, but the coffee is strong and the servers are quick and friendly, Angel was probably the most personable, great job to the restaurant service staff throughout. The only adults only restaurants are the Oceana, Windows and Bordeaux, all located in Aura, The Patio, Portofino, and Seaside grill are on the Sabor side, which is kid friendly:(, so we tried, but were very annoyed by several obnoxious children......so, we just stayed on the Aura side.

The beaches are nice, however, there are 0 palapas, only palm trees for shade, they need to install at least a dozen palapas( Hope somebody at Secrets is listening!!) The beach servers are friendly, and there are no beach gypsies trying to sell their junk:)

Finally, the break in:(
Friday April 26, we left our room after breakfast for the pool/beach area around 9am, we did our normal procedure, locked our safe and room and off to enjoy the resort. We returned to our room about 3pm, to find we could not access our room safe. We called the front desk and they sent an employee to override our safe and reset our code. Soon thereafter, i went to get some more tip money out of our envelope, to find that approx. three hundred dollars had been stolen from both of our wallets and our 'tip' envelope. The theif had left $60 usd in my wallet, my wifes wallet and a handful of ones in our 'tip' envelope. (I guess he figured we wouldn't notice if he left us a little....wrong!!) We contacted security, and the hotel concierge(Miguel), who began an investigation. They found, an employee of the hotel had accessed our room, and used his override code to open our safe, however, he could not reprogram our code, therefore the lockout(BE AWARE, IF YOU GET LOCKED OUT OF YOUR SAFE THAT IS A RED FLAG THAT YOU'VE BEEN ROBBED TOO!!)
The security staff, confirmed the situation, and even though our Friday at the resort was ruined, by Sat morning, the employee that committed the crime had been detained by staff and was being arrested by local Police for theft, breaking and entering, as well as trespassing. He admitted to the crime but showed nor remorse.
The resort refunded our stolen cash, offered us a a Spa package , and were very, very apologetic. The manager, Daniel, was very professional, and even though the situation had occured, they were quick to have it resolved. They do need to increase the security measures, but that is for them to figure out. We may return to the Secrets/Dreams chain, but we will not return to Aura, Sorry:(

We spoke with other guests about what happened to us, and they had been locked out of their safe too, after a recount, some thought they were victimized as well, were you??

In conclusion, Don't be fooled, the safe in your room is not safe, no matter which resort you choose. Hide your money, and be careful, thieves can be anywhere, even hiding behind a fake smile and a Hola!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jon P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We sincerely apologize about the incident regarding the theft of your safe which we handled with immediate effect. We tried to improve your experience with us after this unfortunate situation but unfortunately we could not reach our main objective of guest satisfaction. However, regarding the employee in question he was detained immediately and your money was returned but as you stated no matter where you go there can always be a breach of security. We understand that you are loyal customer to the AMRESORTS hotels but I do hope we are going to be able to restore your confidence into our brand in your next stay.We appreciate your feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in Cozumel Mexico at Secrets Aura Resort from April 23 to April 29. We have had a previous vacation at a secrets in Montego Bay which we totally enjoyed, so we decided to book at another Secrets for my husband's 50th birthday.

We called a week prior to the vacation to the resort in Cozumel confirming our room and clearly stating I need an easy access room due to ankle injury and walking problem. They assured us it was not problem and all is taken care of. I also e mailed the resort just to make sure there was no misunderstandings.

Arriving at the hotel we checked in to what we thought was going to be our easy access beautiful pool view junior suite swim up room. To my dismay it was the opposite to easy access with no beautiful pool view. We was given a room on the upper level with a slide down to the pool and the view was blocked by large palm trees. I could not use the slide to get down to the pool so the only way was to leave my room and walk down a long slope and the same way back to the room. We decided not to make a fuss and make the best of the situation.

Once unpacked we started a slow walk down to find the beach and restaurants. While walking along the beach along the property line by the restaurants I felt something sharp under my left foot and stopped to see what it was to my surprise it was bleeding badly and a large piece of skin was hanging . I sat down while my husband went for help. Somebody from the dive shop kindly gave me a chair and water to place my foot in while he sent for the first aid assistant. When first aid help arrived he said I needed to go with him to the office for treatment. After hobbling with my foot bleeding NO suggestion of a wheelchair, he administered treatment, I had to have the skin hanging cut away, then the hole which I had in my foot cleaned. He told me I would need to go on Cipro, an antibiotic for six days because there was a possibility for infection. He made a call to a Doctor and a taxi was sent to pick up the medication which I paid for in cash. I left the first aid office with my foot wrapped up and no extra dressings because he said he had none to give me. My husband went to buy dressing at the resort shop but they didn't have any not even Band-Aids so once again a taxi was sent to get some from a local store.

The injury left me barely able to walk and that made our room even more of a problem. My husband went to the front desk and explained what had happened and asked for a room on lower level, ( which we had booked and paid for) we told them we wasn't worried about swim up just an easy access room, after all now with the injury and possibilities of infection I couldn't swim but the only way they would move us was if we paid more money which I think was another $100 each per night. We asked to speak to someone in management and they said they would send someone to talk to us. About an hour later someone came but it was one of the entertainment employees not management. We was informed they would not do anything because the beach belongs to the Mexican Government not Secrets. I was in total disbelief. We declined to spend the extra money and I spent the next 3 days using room service and an upset stomach from the Cipro in tears in the room.

On the Saturday April 27th my husband had had enough and he went to the front desk and said he would pay to move us and we got a beach view non swim up room for the last two days with easier access to the amenities.

After spending a week at a Secrets Resort previously and was completely satisfied with the staff and amenities I just couldn't understand this kind of treatment and non compassion from this Secrets Aura. I understand it has just been taken over by Secrets, but in my opinion it clearly is NOT up to Secrets standards and not an upscale resort. After experiencing Secrets Resort in Montego Bay and its outstanding entertainment and amenities that was why this vacation was booked for my husband's 50th. From this vacation we have just been left with such a huge disappointment and an extremely large waste of money. We don't feel like we had a vacation at all and that is disheartening after working and saving over the past two years for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear teresa5802,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

On behalf of Management we are extremely apologetic that we have not had the honor to meet you while you were on property during your recent vacation.We very much regret that we could not meet your expectations in various areas. We understand that there were exceptional lapses in communication which obviously do not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at our property. We have already taken corrective actions with the team and intensified our internal control procedures. I do hope we are going to be able to restore your confidence into our Secrets Resorts brand in your next stay as I will reach out to you via email.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'll start off by saying... between my wife and I, this is by far our favorite AI in Mexican Riviera. We stayed April 18-25 and have been to Mexico several times at other AI's. We were there last year and really loved the experience so we booked again under the Secrets brand and we were not disappointed. Although they have made some changes, they are pretty subtle and didn't affect our vacation. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the preferred club building with a ocean view room. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They always kept the fridge stocked with beer,soft drinks, juice and a complementary bottle of Champagne. They also supplied us with small booze bottles, Pringles and M&M's for being in the preferred club...nice touch. We also had our own concierge but didn't bother. We had a descent amount of American tv channels which comes in handy while waiting for the wife to get ready:) Drinks were excellent and they offered good choices for an AI (Absolute,Crown,1800,Baileys,Captain to name a few). As the other reviewer wrote, the preferred club bar was not well attended to... we were not bold enough to pour our own drinks, although we did think about it. As an added bonus at the pool bar the Dolphin Cheerleaders stopped in for a bit and did a few dance numbers which we thought was pretty cool. That's what they call- being in the right spot at the right moment..if you know what I mean. Restaurants tended to be slower in the evening but that doesn't bother us... we have no where else to be, have a cocktail and relax, you're on island time. Not making reservations at the restaurants is the best part as other frequent AI guests would agree too. The beach is fine and the water is beautiful. It is rocky getting into the water so we just jump off of the pier. The snorkeling is great with all kinds of aquatic life to be seen. We love the fact that you don't get beat up by large waves like you do on the mainland, the water is much more tranquil in Cozumel which provides for better water recreation. So don't worry, you didn't waste your money by booking here. Besides, we all know why we travel to AI's in Mexico...Bingo! To get the most for our $'s. So you travel snobs out there... get off your high horses and quit whining and pretending, we know you would rather be in the South Pacific at the Ritz but you can't afford it. So sit back, relax and enjoy the exceptional service that Secrets Aura provides.

Room Tip: Get a Ocean View room.... It's well worth the extra money. It was nice watching the sun go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beechbumz4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear beechbumz4life,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: scenic property, amenities, top shelf drinks friendly staff and beautiful beach and aquatic life. Your words with regards to our facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well of your constructive comments especially because you are a returning guest. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east vail
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Cozumel April 20 - 27th and had a fantastic time. We had read the reviews prior to traveling and did have some concerns, especially regarding rooms that were paid for and not received. We did have some of those problems, however the staff (Daniel and Sandy) fixed the problem quickly and we were on our way to a wonderful vacation. We both are divers and used a different Dive operator (Sea Robin) than the one offered at the resort (which is good if you want to have 10 - 15 divers on your boat, cattle boats at their finest) and there was no problem using the pier on site for our pickups. This is nice especially when other resorts make you pay for the use of the pier if not using the in house dive shop. The food at the restaurants was probably the best we have had at an all inclusive, (I should know food I am a GM for a 4 star in a resort area). Also the best part about the restaurants is your are not limited to 1 visit to each and stuck with a buffet the rest of the time (which is available next door if that is what you prefer and is very good). I also like the no reservation aspect, but will warn you that if you are wanting to eat at 7:30 you will have a wait, so just have a cocktail and enjoy the people or person you are with. On our last day we had a massage at the spa and it was fantastic. The service at the resort was very friendly, a little slow, but that is anywhere in Mexico. We did take the opportunity to see other rooms (swim up garden view and Ocean Front which we stayed in) at the resort and are all wonderful and have been updated.
Overall we were very happy here and as I stated in the title finally a hotel in Cozumel we want to stay at again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scubafreak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear scubafreak68,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks as a hotelier are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how satisfied you were with the service you received.Your compliments of the hotel facilities, rooms, food and staff members are very much appreciated. We have shared your kind words with the team here at the hotel.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,657 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing