We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have never stayed in a Secrets but are huge fans of Sandals... there was no comparison. Although we did not expect the Sandals level, we did expect more from what we got. The resort itself is actually very nice, I would say. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and we had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. The beach is lovely and we had great weather. At first, they seem to give great service, however, we were shocked at how poor it became. The service was HORRIBLE after the first day.

All the reviews you have read about the food are exactly right: it is tasty but takes forever!!! Room service is the worst. We ordered it twice and both times waited over an hour. One morning, my husband needed to get down to the water sports by 8:30 to go on a dive trip. We woke up at 7am to order the food and he STILL barely made it in time and the food was not even correct. Both times, the food was not all that we had ordered. At the restaurants, same story. Breakfast is ridiculous. Should it take an hour to make eggs? Not quite. Plan your day around at least an hour or more for meals. Dinner appetizers come out quickly but the entree will take a very long time. The portions are so small, it is laughable. Make sure to order all courses, and even two of the entree- you will not regret it.

We were also frustrated with the attitudes of the staff. They are nice... if you pay them to be. They make it painfully clear that if you do not tip them "enough" they will not provide you with service. On the beach, there was a group of people in front of us when we arrived one morning who were tipping the waiter $1 per drink, every drink. He never asked us once if he could help us. We had to waive him down and when we told him we had forgotten the cash in the room and would get him later as we would be there a while, he never asked us again. All the staff are like this. It is really unforgivable. Part of the draw of an all-inclusive is that you should not have to worry so much about these things and we felt pressured all day every day.

Some of the staff are not very accessible. We were trying to rent a jeep and were unable to find the car rental person for a long time and ended up in a big mess. Be careful- they will also still try to sell you the time shares the whole time- employees of the resort, that is. That really should not happen.

The resort is very quiet at night, which a great, however, if you do want to enjoy the beach after dark, you really can't. Other resorts have benches, gazebos, chairs, firepits... Not here. There is nothing on beach at all except chaise lounge chairs (which are wet from the day) and it is completely dark. I would strongly recommend placing some seating areas throughout the property and on the pier. Also, I would recommend placing a walk way through the sand onto the pier so you can get to it without getting wet and sandy in dinner clothes. These would be such easy improvements. It is clear that some back areas are still undergoing construction. There is a lot they can still add to the place to make it prettier.

One restaurant on the Sabor side had truly great service and was a fabulous experience. Portofino's was great! All the wait staff were so warm and welcoming. The head waiter there is truly impressive. The food was great, as well.

Overall, we had a really fun trip with our friends but I can't say that we would go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RookieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,646)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Aura Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,227 - 3,233 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This review is for all of you travelers out there who are booked at this resort and are worried about the same reviews I read on TA and on Facebook before we arrived here on the 13th.......but, also for all you travelers who are realistic about travelling at "5*" resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico and don't have unrealistic expectations about the food etc. in developing countries!!!
We are at the resort right now..third day in...and well, all of you worry warts (like me!), have NOTHING to worry about...especially if you got a fairly good deal on the resort because it is in transition - consider yourselves very fortunate!!
My husband and I always travel 5* when we travel down south...Dreams in PC, Sandals in St. Lucia, Bahia Ambar in PC, Bahia Cayo Levantado in Samana etc. etc. This resort is very similar to any of those. The food and drinks are very good, the pools are great - very clean...they are NOT cold! Hot tub is very warm..almost too warm!...very quiet resort (even though it is apparently to full capacity, you would never know!), lots of beach and pool chairs (which I was worried about because that happened to us at SANDALS in Saint Lucia - not an unused lounger to be found for 7 days there!..and we paid MUCH more for that resort, than this one!) - I think perhaps people staying here now who were watching earlier reviews about "lounger saving" are trying to being considerate to fellow guests, which is nice to see!...also, Secrets has put up a sign that asks guests not to save loungers. Service at the restaurants has been great too...food arrives pretty quickly..within reason anyway! Having said that, I am not one that likes being "rushed" through a meal by wait staff who are eager to get you in and out, as is the case at many restaurants in NA.
We are staying in the top room category...the Solarium Suite and it is very beautiful. The plunge pool is definitely warm and very clean! Our room has also been cleaned each day and turn down service each night, no problems there at all. The Coco cafe is AWESOME...the lattes are really good!...the gym is meh..it's over on the Sabor side and hopefully they will eventually build one over on the Secrets side or improve the existing one - having said that, we are use to small gyms at resorts when travelling outside of North America. Three treadmills, newer Life Fitness brand, one recumbent bike and two treadmills, all Life Fitness brand. Life Fitness cable machine as well which is great and lots of free weights. In terms of equipment, on the better side of the resorts we have stayed at in the past.
We don't see any construction happening at Secrets or on Sabor. Just lots of landscapers about working so hard and cleaners scrubbing floors walls, etc.
ALSO, we we found out today that for FREE we can go to either Secrets Capri in the Mayan for 3 nights (free transportation to and from) or Secrets The Vine in Cancun for two nights starting tomorrow - same room category. We are looking into trying the Capri...a little adventure of sorts for us.....this is our first Secrets experience, so we want to see what a more established Secrets resort is like.
What I find important and refreshing as a consumer who works hard for my money, loves to travel and knows that time away from my career is truly precious and hard to come by at times, is that AMResorts seem to be reading the reviews all of us are posting on TA and their Facebook page, taking the reviews seriously, and making improvements at every turn...that's the sign of an excellent resort chain. I have no doubt that Secrets Aura will be top notch in the days and months to come...Have a great trip!!

Room Tip: The Solarium Suite is something else with a fabulous view of the grounds and ocean!! If you can splu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first all-inclusive vacation (Jan 27-31) and we're not sure we like it. Aura is well located, quiet, clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was just ok. However, we loved Bordeaux -- the food was AWESOME and the service was excellent (Alejandro and the hostess too-sorry, I can't remember her name). We'd order all of the desserts -- they were amazing! But overall, it's not what I expected or prefer. Beach--it's right at the reef (nice if you want to walk in and start snorkeling) but we like to walk along the shoreline in our bare feet. Can't do that here because of the small rocks/shells (bring water shoes). Great view of sunsets. Drinks--only 1 choice for 'house' wine and beer (thought we'd at least have 3). Not enough beach chairs; people kept bringing them down from the pool (then there weren't enough at the pool). Nice pools. Since Secrets also owns neighboring Sabor, there are more choices for restaurants (Italian was delicious, but serving time is long and the portions are very small (we'd order something from each part of the menu). We probably won't revisit here because we don't go to the same place twice. Pricey for just an ok experience.

Room Tip: We had a top floor solarium w/pool -- nice to sunbath without having to go down to the beach, but th...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple, our reservations were made in 5/12. Our traveling companions checked in first. They were told that the room that they had booked was not available they were also informed, Secrets was overbooked. They were very upset. Kinga came over and informed them that she would show them another room and we would be moved with our friends to an upgraded room. Our friends were assigned room 1435 and we were moved to 1433. (we orginally reserved swim up suites) Room 1435 is the nicest room in the resort. It's an oceanfront suite with large private pool located on the 3rd floor. We were assigned room 1433, oceanview with a lap pool. In addtion, we were given VIP status which enabled us to use the VIP lounge The rooms were top notch.
I thought the food was good and servers curtious, friendly and very hard workeing. The food quality was not consistant.
Through out our stay, we over heard guests complaining about being moved to inferior rooms and some were moved next door to Sabor. One couple we met were moved to an oceanfront room at Sabor but were compensated with a free week if they returned before July.
There is a strong sewer odor in the main lobby and bar area off of the lobby. We simply avoided the area.
All in all, our stay was wonderful.
They definately need to do some work to get the resort to a "Secrets" level. They are trying.
We would definately come back in a year and feel that Secrets Aura will be to the "Secrets" quality by that time.
Thanks you Kinga for making our stay just about perfect.

Room Tip: Room 1435 is an oceanfront suite with panaramic views of the ocean and private pool. We were very l...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank telizabeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Expecting a regular Secrets Resort---this one fell far short. In the process of remodeling this resort which was purchased by Secrets. Advertising indicated it just opened December 2012. Pictures show modern looking décor in the rooms but don’t be fooled. Half of the resort has not been remodeled at all; the remodeled rooms look like the pictures but are NOT newly remodeled at all. Upholstery so dirty I did not want to sit on it, wood casing never updated, painted surfaces dirty; all indicative of the rooms not being new. Open perhaps but not ready to be a resort. Entrance was being worked on; check in area located in a small open ended lobby which had a terrible odor due to problems they had with their sewer system. Public restrooms located under the dining area entrance were flooded from sewer issues. Coffee shop, shopping area not open as of January 2013. General hallways were old, dirty, some cement areas. Only the main building had an elevator to the rooms; the others were 3 floors with stairways. Poor walkway from lobby area to pool area. Walls throughout the buildings were dirty and marred. Very poor maintenance and upkeep in the building areas as well as the rooms. We were at first placed in the area not remodeled; room décor old and a foul smell like mold or mildew. We figured out why after having to stay in the room for 2 nights until another room became available; the water did not drain in the shower due again to sewer issues. Actually had to sleep with the doors open to allow the fresh air in. Bathroom floor not clean and tiled areas had finish worn off. No in room coffee provided. Cheap furniture, okay bedding with old hard mattress. Neither room had adequate electrical outlets. Our 2nd room had nice drapes, coffee pot, new patio doors and balcony with bed. Room was an upgrade having a separate bedroom with a very soft comfortable bed. What must be emphasized is the courtesy of the lobby personnel. We did contact the travel agency Cheap Caribbean which handled our complaints and worked with management to change rooms. Staff was very understanding and worked hard to please us; kudos to Carlos. Pool areas were well maintained. Very small property. Entertainment is provided at their ‘Sister Hotel’ which is operated by a relatively unknown resort. Poor entertainment. Small beach with some rocky areas but nice loungers provided. Water activities handled by outside business located between the 2 resorts. Dining area seemed to run smoother than the rest of the resort giving the impression that it is managed by another company. Food was okay, limited variety and NO BUFFET. Alcoholic beverages good however only 1 bar open to serve you. Secrets missed the mark on this one. Don’t be fooled by the way they advertise this resort; all they did was take over an old outdated resort but failed to convert it to what one would expect of a Secrets Resort. There is no beauty in this resort.

Room Tip: Insist on booking a room in the newer area located in the buildings surrounding the main pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulloras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent 7 days 2/3-2/10 at Secrets with my huusband,brother and sister-in-law! The entire experience was amazing from check-in to check out. Rooms were not ready but after a welcome drink we were told to eat lunch and come back and rooms would be ready....and they were! The process to check in was ultra organized....4 different desks broken up by initial of last name. It was painless....compared to other resorts we have stayed at.
We had swim up Suites that we spent afternoon time at - slides were great to enter the pool. Room Service had a huge variety of options...nachos and chicken wings and Texas Salads were a few of our favorites.
Rooms were immaculate and were cleaned in morning and straightened up at bed time with water on your table and slippers and mats at your bedside every night.
Restaurants offered gourmet selections and also offered daily chef specials. We adorerd the service and food at Windows. We liked the smaller portions The Chili Rellenos were like nothing you have ever had anywhere! The first nite we dined at El Patio (excellente) on the Sabor side and when we went to go the night before leaving we learned they were closed for remodeling. Portofino's Italian (Sabor side) was delicious food, but very,very small portions. Thought we'd try the breakfast buffet whcih was supposed to be at the Market Cafe on the day we went, but it was at Portofino's. Small buffet with a decent selection - we preferrred the ala carte menus.Not impressed with the buffet.
Beach chairs were hard to come by, but that is because people "hogged" chairs with towels and then went away for the day.
Loved that the restaurants were no reservation and always had availability. No wristbands. Top Shelf alcohol..Captain Morgan, Malibu, SKYY vodka, Absolute of all flavors and Tequilas of all brands. Bartenders even made a mean Martiini and Manhattan. Pools were sparkling all the time and very well kept up. Cart rides with Fer and Fernando to the Sabor and back is part of the service.....really nice to get to Portofino's. Staff could not have been more courteous and professional! Sky Bar was alot of fun at night - Karaoke one night.

Would definitely come back to this spot! Once Secrets gets done with their remodel I can only imagine what it will be. As long as they don't up the price to $3,500 pp!

Room Tip: Swim Up suites in 4200 block were great. Had to take a slide down to swim up bar if ou didn't wa...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank robbill1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was at Secrets Aura Cozumel for a week in early February with my boyfriend and some friends of ours. It was all that I expected and then some.

When we got to the resort we checked in at the lobby, our rooms weren't ready yet because we were there before 3pm but they told us that we could have lunch and then our rooms would be ready. They were ready when we finished our lunch. The only down fall was that we requested rooms to be right next to each other and couldn't get that on the day we arrived. We did have swim up rooms and our rooms shared the same pool, so all in all that was fine. We spent many days sitting in the pools at each others rooms having cocktails so sharing the same pool was great.

The restaurants were good, we could also go to Sabor next door to eat as well. That gave us more options. We ate at Bordeaux one night and were not impressed with the whole meal. Everyone enjoyed the soup and some of the appetizers but the main dishes weren't what we had hoped for. Portions are small so be sure to order all courses if you are very hungry. Portofino at Sabor was good and so was the pizza place there. We ate off of the resort a lot, it was a ton of fun to go into town and eat at the local places and around the island.

Room service was awesome!! We could order drinks and food at anytime as much as we wanted. I had no idea before the trip how great this would be but it was! For the nights that the four of us just wanted to relax in the swim up pools and have cocktails the room service was great!! Everyone loved the chicken wings and the penne pasta.

The beach was also great! The beach waiters were great, we tipped heavily and they always came back to us when we needed them. You could also get food on the beach too! Its a great snorkeling beach. I jumped off the pier and snorkeled a little under the pier, tons of fish! It was a lot of fun!! One thing to keep in mind is that its not really a swimming beach, the best place to swim is when you jump off the pier.

The sunset at the roof top bar was gorgeous! I loved it!! We liked going to the roof top bar a lot too, drinks were always good!!

Our rooms were very nice we were in the section of swim out rooms in the back with the slides. The slides were fun, although one thing to keep in mind is that one slide you can fall off the side of into a giant mud puddle. This happened to me, I was going down and slipped right over the side into the mud puddle, I wasn't hurt at all but it was embarrassing because the pool was full and everyone was wondering if I was ok plus I had to walk across everyone sitting by the pool to wash off all the mud all over me. I think someone could get hurt on this slide, be careful.

The rooms were cleaned daily and we were turned down nightly. At night they left a bottle of water by each side of the bed. During the day they restocked the fridge with beer, water, and soda. On our first day we did have some money stolen from us out of my boyfriends suit case. We had gone to the bank and got $100 on singles for tipping. The $100 from the bank came in two sections of 50 singles. One of the $50 sections in singles we put into the safe and the other my boyfriend kept in his suit case. When we returned to the room at the end of the day we immediately saw the band that says $50 from the bank that was around the singles laying on the floor of the room. We called the front desk and they came up to investigate we never did hear an outcome. I feel that its my boyfriends fault for not locking that up, we locked up everything else. But it was also a little disturbing that they were actually going through his suit case. Otherwise the room was great, just be sure to use your safe.

It was a wonderful vacation, I would definitely return!

Room Tip: swim up room is great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harder1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $198 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing