We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Organization”

Dolphinaris Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Cozumel has a privileged location within the pristine waters of the Mexican Caribbean's heart; you will be able to enjoy a magical dolphin swimming with a tailor made ALL-INCLUSIVE service. The architecture of this dolphinarium is inspired in a fishermen village and has a design that, aside of being one of the most beautiful around the world, provides an ample home for dolphins where they can spaciously unwind during their dolphin encounter with our visitors. Visit us and experience the thrill of being propelled by a dolphin on top of the water surface and observe how they communicate; have magical moments in one of the most beautiful natural locations that only the Mexican Caribbean can offer! Swim with dolphins and enjoy in Dolphinaris Cozumel this lifetime experience that you can share with family and friends!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lack of Organization”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My Mom and I visited Dolphinaris on 4/18/14. First you meet them when you get off the cruise ship and there is a sign and they put you in taxis. It's a lot of standing around and waiting. Then when when you get there you have to stand around and wait for the next direction because no one is there telling you what to do. Next, after about 15 minutes of waiting they tell you, you need to get a locker, so everyone rushes over to get a locker, the lockers are small and really don't fit very much. You have to take off all jewelry and sunscreen to go into the water with the dolphin and no cameras are allowed down there while you are in there. So we got our lockers. Then more waiting. We waited another 15 minutes (just sitting around) before the director came back over to tell us what to do. Then he assigned us group numbers. After assigning us group numbers there was more waiting to get our life jackets. Then more waiting before we went to the actual dolphin swim. Once we were called the actual dolphin experience was good. We touched, kissed, and swam on their bellies. Then when you're finished you can just go back the way you came you have to go with them to the photographs area where they say like 3 pictures are 115$.... Ridiculously expensive. Then my mom and I were hungry so we went to eat. We were excited because we had read really great reviews on trip advisor about this. Well the food was really inedible. They served hot dogs, hamburgers, rice, fries, and pork and peppers. The only thing edible was the fries. My mom enjoyed the pork and pepper dish but couldn't eat anything else. The hamburgers did not taste like hamburgers. The hot dogs didn't either. I don't know what they were but they were not the kind I was used to from the U.S. The soda also doesn't taste like the soda you are used to so just be aware of that. Overall, we were disappointed that we paid so much and spent our day off the ship waiting around so much. If the people were organized things would have been much more efficient and fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear visitor,

We apologize for the way you felt during your visit at our facilities. Our customers experience is very important to us in order to improve our services. Dolphinaris is investigating this situation to have a better understanding about what you experienced while here. We will take all measures necessary in order to not have this problem in the future.

In regards to the food; this is the first time we have heard of our guests not liking our food. We will give this review to the OP manager at Dolphinaris Cozumel in order to look further into this.

Dolphinaris asks you to give us a second chance in order to prove to you that this is not the way we do business and our customer’s experience is very important to us.

Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    340
    103
    53
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burkesville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL experience with dolphins!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Being able to touch, pet, feed, kiss, and hug dolphins was one of the highlights of our trip. They are so gentle, soft, and amazing creatures. No, it isn't cheap and rather on the expensive side (especially once you add in the cost of pictures, BUT it is a memory that will last a lifetime. When will you have another chance to swim with dolphins? So, forget the cost and lay your fears aside and enjoy one of the most amazing experiences of your life!

The food is also great and the staff very funny and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseTraveler1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear visitor,

The interaction you receive with the Dolphinaris at our facilities is like no other. Our team strives to give our guests the upmost education, time, interaction and activities with these amazing mammals. Dolphinaris has the cheapest programs in the area with the most activities. Our goal is for our guests to leave with unforgettable memories and smiles on their faces. We are delighted to hear you enjoy your time here.

Dolphinaris invites you to visit our live chat thru our website in order to receive the latest promotions and recommend the best program to suit you and your family.

Thank you for your preference in Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We visited Dolphinaris 4/01/14 and the kids (19 and 16) really enjoyed it. The time goes by quickly but the memories will last a lifetime. The photos are pricey but I informed them up front I wasn't interested in the packages, but a photo or two of each kid (about $40 each). I would suggest going if you're in the area :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fleetfoot1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear visitor,

Our team is happy to hear you and your family had such a wonderful time with our amazing dolphins. Swimming with the dolphins is a wonderful way for families to make unforgettable memories together. It is also a wonderful way for kids of all ages to interact and learn about these beautiful mammals.

Dolphinaris suggest you visit our live chat thru our website in order to receive the latest promotions and also to recommend the program to best suit you and your family.

Thank you and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited Dolphinaris the first week of April for a dolphin swim. There was a special on the web site that made it a good deal. My son and I had a great time. The buffet and bar (inclusive with your purchase!) were a nice addition. The food was good. My son drank his weight in (virgin) mango daquiris.

The pool where you interact with the dolphins was smaller than I expected, and I think we were in the biggest pool. There were three groups in at the same time, but (I think) five dolphins. Our dolphin, Marina, had her 1.5 year old baby with her. He was in training, so we actually got to pet them both. Staff was friendly. Barkeepers were funny.

There has been many comments here about the cost of the pictures. Since I knew about this ahead of time, I just said, "No thank you" and never even when into the photo building. There was no pressure from staff at all.

Would do again, for sure!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your comments about your experience during your visit at our facilities. Our team is delighted with joy that you and your son had an amazing time with the dolphins and that we could be a part of such unforgettable memories.

The photos are optional for purchase; they are not obligated to buy. However they do make wonderful souvenirs.

Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun day swimming with dolphins”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a great day at this resort swimming with dolphins. It was a bit pricey but it included unlimited food and alcohol. You aren't allowed to take pictures with your own camera during the swim and the only photos you can buy are very very expensive (very high quality though).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MJB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear visitor,

Dolphinaris appreciates your feedback about your experience at our facilities. Your comments help us to improve our services! We suggest you visit our live chat thru our website in order to receive the latest promotions and also to recommend the program to best suit you and your family.

In regards to the photos, our photo prices are at the current industry marketing prices. They are optional for purchase not obligated; however they do make great souvenirs.

Thank you for your preference in Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Cozumel also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing