We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE PLACE to have your DOLPHIN EXPERIENCE!”

Dolphinaris Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Cozumel has a privileged location within the pristine waters of the Mexican Caribbean's heart; you will be able to enjoy a magical dolphin swimming with a tailor made ALL-INCLUSIVE service. The architecture of this dolphinarium is inspired in a fishermen village and has a design that, aside of being one of the most beautiful around the world, provides an ample home for dolphins where they can spaciously unwind during their dolphin encounter with our visitors. Visit us and experience the thrill of being propelled by a dolphin on top of the water surface and observe how they communicate; have magical moments in one of the most beautiful natural locations that only the Mexican Caribbean can offer! Swim with dolphins and enjoy in Dolphinaris Cozumel this lifetime experience that you can share with family and friends!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE PLACE to have your DOLPHIN EXPERIENCE!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

For months, we researched numerous options for our "Once-in-a-Lifetime/Much-Anticipated" Dolphin Experiences before taking our cruise, and I must admit, I was still nervous up until we arrived to our last port and Dolphinaris Cozumel as to whether or not I had chosen the right place. However, without a doubt, our Dolphin Swim and Ride with Unlimited Food and Drink Excursion not only met, but surpassed our very high expectations!!! Dolphin Trainer Fabiola was kind, attentive, patient, clear and informative every step of the way. She was truly an inspiration for my eleven-year-old daughter who is even more convinced today that she will someday be a dolphin trainer. Our group of eight was the perfect size and we enjoyed, no only our own, personal dolphin interactions but those of all the participants in our group. We were already aware (thanks to Trip Advisor reviews) of the high cost of photos, not only at Dolphinaris, but at ALL Dolphin-Experience sites, and, to be honest, we had promised ourselves NOT to purchase any of the photos. However, after such an amazing life experience, and the interesting package of incredible photos they offered us including the DVD, we couldn't resist a small package and decided to consider it part of the cost of the whole, unforgettable experience. We were, however, disappointed not to find the dolphin kisses on the DVD, although the dolphin hugs and belly rides were included for all 8 participants as well as some extra on-site footage of the beautiful location and the playful dolphins. In addition to the dolphins, we enjoyed the included buffet and, as the only vegetarian in the family, I was also able to find a variety of options. We were surprised by the unlimited, open bar, and although we are not big drinkers, I can recommend the lemon margaritas!!! Our children also enjoyed the Virgin Strawberry Margaritas. We were able to snorkel with giant stingrays and other amazing sea life without an additional cost. Other boating (kayaks and paddle boards) options were available, and those who participated seemed to enjoy. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, and accessible. The environment is clean and Caribbean beautiful, with the open sea just beyond the very natural-looking dolphin pools. We even had time to get back and do a little shopping in the great port of Cozumel before re-boarding our ship. A very special thank you to Fabiola, Atlas, Golden Boy and all of the staff and wildlife at Dolphinaris Cozumel for helping to make our dream come true! We will never forget you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your feedback about your experiences during your visit. Our team is delighted to hear you and your family had such an amazing time while at our facilities and that we could be a part of such an unforgettable experience. Dolphinaris goal is for our guest to have to best time and a lifetime of memories they share with their family. We want our visitors to enjoy one in a lifetime experiences with these intelligent mammals and as well as educate you about them.

We invite you to visit one of our other locations in the future and to check out our website for all the latest promotions and programs.

Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    334
    100
    53
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

First off book this adventure directly and save a lot by not booking with the cruise ship. Taxi ride from the port was $8 for up to 4 people. My cousin and I did the dolphin trainer and it was the best experience. We got a tour behind the scenes and learned first hand about the dolphins. Next we trained the dolphins with our own personal dolphin trainer Ivonne. We had our own dolphin to work with, do tricks with and to feed. After we swam with the dolphins, touched, kiss, hugged etc. dolphins are beautiful and intelligent creatures who love attention. After the day with the dolphins we had a buffet of appetizers and fruit, then lunch from a menu which included all drinks and alcohol. Everything was included in the price and we also got a dolphin trainer shirt to keep and 2 free 8x10 pictures. Couldn't have asked for more!!! Fun for all ages

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your comments about your experiences during your visit at Dolphinaris. Our team is happy to hear you and your family had such an amazing time with the dolphins and that we could be a part of these unforgettable memories.

The Trainer for a Day Program is the best program for true dolphin lovers. It really gives you a hands on experience of what is like to be a dolphin trainer. It is the best job you will ever have!

Dolphinaris invites you to visit us again in the future. Don’t forget to book thru our website online in order to receive the latest promotions.

Thank you and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Highlight of the trip for my daughter”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really enjoyed Dolphinaris Cozumel, booked from our Carnival cruise. My daughter did the dolphin swim and ride. I watched and took pictures. We both loved it. The included lunch is mediocre, but we didn't go for the food. Margaritas were nice (and included in the price). Don't see what all the fuss is about from people complaining about the cost of pictures. Yes, they're expensive but they're high quality professional portraits, not cheap snapshots. They're gorgeous. Don't know where you'd find the same quality for less. Staff was great about showing me the best place to get for the pictures I was taking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear visitor,

We are delighted with joy that your daughter had such an amazing experience swimming with the dolphins and that we could be a part of these unforgettable lifetime memories. Our team strives for our guest to have the best experience with the dolphins ever and for you to leave with a smile on your face.

We invite you to visit us again in the future and to check out our website for the latest promotions.

Thank you and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had the best time at Dolphinaris in Cozumel! We booked this excursion through our cruise and it was amazing! The dolphins were so cute I fell in love. We spent a lot of time in the water swimming and interacting with the dolphins. The trainer was great as well! There was also included food and drinks which was excellent! The facilities were very well taken care of. It was definitely the experience of a lifetime! One downside: you couldn't take your own photos by the pool and the photos they took were very expensive. I bought 3 for $85... However the pictures turned out amazing!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your feedback about your experiences during your visit at our facilities. Dolphinaris is delighted you and your family had such a great time with these amazing mammals. Our trainers are very organized in order to give our guest the upmost experiences and activities with our beautiful dolphins. We want our visitors to leave with a lifetime of unforgettable memories and a smile on their faces.

Our professional photographers are here to capture all these unique moments you share with the dolphins. We are working on improving the packages in order to have more selection.

We invite you to visit one of our other locations in the future.

Thank you for your preference in Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice tour”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We came here in a shore excursion from our Cruise and really enjoyed it. There were 5 ships that morning in Cozumel so the beginning of the tour was a bit of a mess, but it got much better when we got there. The premises look well taken care of and you're sent to the water with the dolphins shortly after arriving.

We took the Dolphin Encounter tour which lasts about 40-45mins and includes several interactions with one of the dolphins. Of course, a good part of the interaction is about taking pictures of you with the dolphin that are later offered to you at very high prices, but the experience of swimming with dolphins pays off that part...

After the interaction, lunch is included in the tour which was quite good, as well as drinks and cocktails.

We did another dolphin encounter a few years ago in Isla Mujeres, and found this one to be superior. Overall, very recommended...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luiskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cozumel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear visitor,

We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your experience during your visit at our facilities. The dolphins are amazing mammals that love to interact with humans. Our trainers are very organized in order to give our guests the upmost experience, education and activities with these beautiful dolphins. Swimming with dolphins is a great way for families to make lifetime memories together.

We invite you to check out of website for future booking to get the latest promotions and information on the programs.

Thank you for your comments and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Cozumel also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing