We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stop!!”

Coconuts Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 22 Nightlife in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A must stop!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stoped everytime we are on the island. It is a nice relaxing atmosphere with great food and wonderful margareta's. THe dinning area is nesteled in palm tree's sitting up on top of a cliff with the ocean directly below. Enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetdreamsMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“View was worth the drive!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We decided to venture to this talked about little restaurant on the advice of travelers who had visited before. The entrance to the restaurant was very quaint and interesting. Once you got to the top, the view was out of this world. We spotted our first Iguana here. The restaurant is mostly outdoors but they have a covered in area as well. The tables outside are on the white sand and that was quite lovely. They had a few dogs wandering about which made it feel homey. The food itself was way overpriced for what you received, I think we only got 8 french fries with our burger. The burger was pretty good though. It is definitely worth the drive and very isolated!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank moe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
476 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 642 helpful votes
“Wicked margaritas and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

No trip to Cozumel would be complete without a trip to the laid-back east side on the island, where the throngs of cruise ship passengers seldom venture. And my favourite place to unwind and take in the spectacular view of the pounding surf is Coconuts. Their inexpensive margaritas (50 pesos, $4) are quite strong and, I suspect, contain only tequila and ice, with maybe a splash of lime. Their guacamole (35 pesos) is decent, but not an especially large portion. No food option is over 200 pesos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place! Great view, great food and drinks, tons of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited Coconuts on the Bar Hop Tour and now that I'm going back to Cozumel on my own, I can't wait to spend more time there. The view is spetacular-- little bit of a climb to get there but well worth it. I loved the animals, from the dogs to Garfield to even a gator-- and the food was absolutely incredible. So were the drinks. I can't find anything bad to say about this place and I can't wait to spend more time there in April!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy margarita, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stopped here while exploring the island away from our cruise ship. Nice location overlooking the ocean. The drinks were strong, and the fish taco (grouper) was delicious. One of the staff made us this little woven grasshopper out of palm leaves in 30 seconds. Cute! Lots to see here, t-shirts and license plates from around the world, several resident parrots, and other curiosities. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 72Airstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconuts Bar and Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Coconuts Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing