We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dives on the island...Must dive sites....North end of Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manta Raya Divers

Manta Raya Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba and Snorkel Tours in Cozumel, PADI Training, Private Tours, Small Groups, Customer Care, Safety & Satisfaction is our Target. Beyond Industry Standards. Dive and Snorkel Accommodation Packages
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best dives on the island...Must dive sites....North end of Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The North end of Cozumel is the best diving in the Caribbean. Fernando and Sammy of Manta Raya diver's take you to the best dive sites to make sure you get an eye full of sharks, spotted eagle rays and sharks. Generous dive times always! Don't mess around with those other operators, go with the best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaChicTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    7
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozumel diving july 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned home from an exciting week of diving with Manta Raya Divers,9 total dives. I have been diving with Fernando for the last 12 years. It is a small opportation that allows for extended bottom time at locations where you will very seldom see another diver. If you are a beginning diver or an advanced diver you will come to realize that diving with Fernando is relaxing and educational. Although a quite man, he has been diving Cozumel for many years and knows the reefs, the currents and the abilitly of the divers on his boat. Have a question about how to extend your bottom time by using less air, just ask! Sammy will always greet your return to the boat with a smile and he is an excellent Captain. When you arrive at the marina, put your watch away, they may not always leave on time but take a look around, they are working and their knowledge and of the currents and what to do with a group in those currents for your safe return far exceeds leaving exactly on time.
To Fernando and Sammy, thank you so much it is always a pleasure and see you sooner then later. C

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No show...very dissapointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

After a few emails back and forth about a month before our excursion I felt comfortable booking with Manta Raya Divers, My son and I came in off of a cruise ship and wanted to make sure we had a booking so to not be late getting back on our ship. We spent several days looking at online sites for scuba diving in Cozumel and were excited to go and made sure we booked at least a month out to get the excursion set up before we got on the ship. We wanted 11am on their schedule but Fernando asked us if we could make it 1pm since that would be in the middle of their day. I agreed as long as we left on time because it is a 2 hr class and we needed to make sure we got on the ship on time. When we arrived at the port via taxi no one was there. The few people that were there did not know where Fernando was after 10 minutes one of the other ship people said that he is on his way back and should arrive in 20 minutes. After another 1/2 hour some one else arrived back with the boat, not introducing himself.....no apology....little understanding of English,and then had the guts to ask us to wait for the other people that they will be taking out if we still wanted to go. This would of made us a good hour to hour and a half late. Fernando was a no show and I have yet to hear anything from him.They say to judge someones behavior is to look at past behavior and we just couldnt trust that we would be back or even leave on time. We did not feel comfortable so we left without going Scuba Diving. I was so upset and dissapointed that my dream of scuba diving with my son was not going to happen that day....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainFlygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, personalized scuba snorkel tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Fernando is an experienced local dive master. He takes small groups and allows for maximum bottom time. He knew a lot of information and I have been diving with him for years and would highly recommend him

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zazazsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hour long dives at San Juan and Manta Raya Divers in Cozumel is the way to dive Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Once again Fernando and Sammy outdid themselves..The marine life in Cozumel is at it's all time 20 year best. If you've been diving Cozumel for years and haven't gotten the chance to dive the North end you are missig some reefs that look like an overgrown garden. The color of the coral at San Juan reef is incredible along with the abundance of marine life not to mention doing my safety stop with 3 squids. Manta Raya gives you the opportunity to dive some of the unique places in Cozumel that only a small operation can afford the dive time and personal attention needed to do these dives. Make sure you give these guys a chance, it will be a life long connection to Cozumel Diving.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScubaChicTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Raya Divers also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Manta Raya Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing