We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rent a car at LESS PAY & explore”
Review of Playa Mezcalitos

Playa Mezcalitos
Ranked #67 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Attraction details
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rent a car at LESS PAY & explore”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we arrived via carnival paradise at the carnival pier in december 2012. the pier is on the west side of the island. you will walk down the pier and between two bar/ restaurants, then head left thru the shopping area. catch a taxi at the terminal past the shops for $7 and proceed to Less Pay car rental. for around $36 you can rent a 4 door vehicle with ac and explore the island for the day. we reserved a car on line before the cruise. Less Pay is north of all the cruise docking locations. john or carlos will take god care of you. we traveled to the east side of the island where most of the beaches are located. it is a 20 minute drive with no traffic to speak of on a saturday morning. you will arrive at mescalitos, where you can check out the souveniers and have a drink or choose froggs, next door for food and drinks.the beaches are beautuful.. further down the road is coconuts beach bar with an equally beautiful beach and wonderfully semi private umbrella tables amid island landscaping. continuing on..you will come to the island lighthouse on the left and catedral on the right . there is a wonderful little church there and hand -made crafts are available... take a photo with "the last mayan " just a few more minutes on the main road and you are back in the city to return your rental. the entire trip can be done in 3 or 4 hrs depending on your level of thirst or hunger. this is a great way to spend a day in cozumel, especially if you want to get away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle of the city. we never felt unsafe at any time. enjoy your trip

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ibuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mezcalitos”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Complaining that a small place doesn't take credit cards and only having 500 peso bills indicates a very basic lack of travel smarts.

Been to Mezcalitos many times the staff is very attentive without bothering you every five minutes to push drinks. The food is good, the view is great. Take a nice walk on the beach enjoy a nice low key place !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cozbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We love driving over to the east side and always have a great time!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
“I love every single second....”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The food is amazing, the staff so calm and kind, the view priceless.... every vacation I go to Cozumel I look forward to visit Mezcalitos, I can tell you if you want a relaxing place to enjoy a couple of beers, a nice view, the best fish tacos, and latter take a nap on the hamaca! You will like Mezcalitos!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emililano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have been to Mezcalitos a few times and each time just seems like it has gotten worse than before. There are usually 3 guys hanging around running the place or waiting to see a topless female at the make-shift "nude beach".

We ordered drinks only to learn that they couldn't take credit cards so I had to use a 500 peso bill in which they didn't have change for. Our only option was to drink enough until they had change from our growing bar tab or leave. After we drove all the way over we decided we would make the best of it.

The drinks were mixed very weak so keep an eye on them while mixing...We had to tell them to add more liquor everytime as they would not even use a full shot.

The view is nice and the hammocks are great but you can enjoy a better view and service just a bit down the road at "Coconuts".

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeRayMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Mezcalitos also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Mezcalitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing