We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
$324
$207
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$302
$245
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel(Cozumel)
$168
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$200
$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$161
$117
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Suites Bahia(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$573
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
189
103
26
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
103
26
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe royal club restaurantla carretaprivate restaurantresident barracudaquiet poolspecialty restaurantsworth the upgradelate night pizzadive shopbeach restaurantfishtime sharesonora grillmain buffetoccidental cozumelregular roomdive sites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 352 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After an air conditioner issue in the standard room, we bumped up to the Royal Club. This was absolutely the best decision! Margarita and Monica at the concierge desk were incredible. They always greeted you with a smile and seemed eager accommodate our every need. Tomas and Adrian at La Carreta made each meal a spectacular event with the presentation of incredible food. I am allergic to dairy and they made every attempt to accommodate that. When you stay at the Royal Club you gain the concierge service, wi fi, an additional restaurant, and an additional pool.

The spa was a delight. It was small but very efficient and clean. Erika was an absolute sweetheart as well an incredible massage therapist. The aromatherapy massage I received was one of the best experiences that I have had. It was relaxing and therapeutic.

We also dined at the Mediterranean restaurant, Mexican restaurant, the pizzeria, and the beach buffet. The staff work very hard to make your vacation enjoyable.

The beach and pools were clean and well maintained. However, I think their pool bar is understaffed. The mixologist works very hard and is very gifted but frequently had a 10 minute wait in line for a cocktail. It was also a real treat to snorkel from the beach and see a wide variety of fish as well as Lola, the resident barracuda. I had read about her online but seeing her in person was a fantastic experience.

One night we walked down the beach to enjoy a seafood dinner at Alberto's. They had a live band the night we were there. Our group had a great time, a phenomenal dinner, and no one left thirsty. The Mango Margarita was a dessert in a cup!

This was our 3rd visit to Cozumel, the first to Occidental Grand Royal Club. I hope to return to the Royal Club. I love Cozumel and I love the people of Cozumel! Everyone was very eager to make our vacation a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

So this is now our 4th stay at the Royal Club. As usual, we had a wonderful vacation. As mentioned in some of the previous reviews, there are some areas that the hotel could improve on. I will list these at the end of this review. However, the reason I give this resort 5 stars is because of the incredible staff, especially at the Royal Club, but also the rest of the resort. Monica at the concierge desk was wonderful as was the entire staff at the Royal Club restaurant. Always greeted with a smile and hola. It was my wife's birthday and they made a special dinner for us. It was very much appreciated.

This year I found the food to be better than in the previous years. The Royal Club meals were excellent. Impeccable service. The other restaurants were not quite as good (which is one of the reasons we stay at the Royal Club), but still an enjoyable meal. We even had a couple good meals at the buffet. And as always, we really enjoyed the lunches (and margaritas) at the beach restaurant after a morning of diving. Usually a choice of beef, chicken, and fish, along with salad and fresh fruit.

Some improvements I would like to see:
1. Update or repair air conditioning - a bit loud in the rooms
2. Turn up air conditioning in dining rooms for evening meals.
3. Don't subject us to time share people as soon as we arrive.

We will be back for number 5!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from one week at the Royal Club at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We loved every minute of it. Upon arrival, we were immediately taken by cart to the Royal Club where our check in was processed quickly and efficiently. We thoroughly enjoyed the proximity to the pool and the beach as well as the exclusive restaurant.

Special thanks to Monica at the concierge desk and to Tomas and Adrian at La Carreta and to the cleaning lady in building 21 (unfortunately, I don't know her name). They all provided outstanding service, always pleasant and professional.

This was our second visit to the Occidental Grand and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonyandserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I can't believe that there are 18 better hotels on Cozumel. I think many reviewers place their reviews on the Occidental Grand site rather than the Royal Club and this might be dragging down the average score for the Royal Club.

I have three gripes about the place, and they apply to the whole hotel, rather than just to the Royal Club.

1. The air conditioning in the rooms is much too loud, although we did get used to it.
2. The lobby bar is a bit tatty and has a stale smell that seems to linger.
3. Dinner in the buffet restaurant is poor. The food was only warm and the choice was not great. The room is also lacking air conditioning. In our opinion this restaurant is way below the standard at other similar hotels we have visited. Fortunately we only ate there once.

Otherwise, this is a lovely place to go to relax. If you want lots of activities and late night activity, however, this is probably not the place for you.

The Royal Club has a very private feel about it.

Dinner in the a la Carte restaurants was always very nice. The Royal Club restaurant was by far the best, but the other two were pretty good too. The Pizza restaurant has shut.

The staff at this hotel are great, very friendly and always helpful. The stand out service was in the Royal Club Restaurant.

The beach is nice but snorkeling in the sea was a bit disappointing, although we saw a couple of barracuda and some rays. We went on two snorkeling trips, once with the onsite Palancar Diving, and once with Alberto's, which is just along the beach to the South.

Wildlife around the hotel was a real joy too. The turkey buzzards that soar around and occasionally sit on the domes of the buildings; the very chirpy and loud small black birds, and some humming birds too. We also nearly trod on a couple of scorpions, and a couple of snakes, on the path to dinner in the evenings - not threatening, you just need to look where you are going. There was an armadillo that didn't seem to mind a line of us taking flash photos whilst it was digging for food. The best creatures, however, were the many iguanas that laze around the hotel, particularly around the quiet pool, where sometimes they even basked on the sun beds!

Room Tip: Its worth the cost of upgrading to the Royal Club
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mont1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The trip started out on a sour note when we checked in. When we made the reservation, we were "assured" that we would have a room with a king size bed.

It didn't.

When we complained to the Royal Club staff, they told us that they have a limited number of king size bedrooms and they can not assure it. The salesman on the phone, on the other hand, had no problem promising it to us. We just moved the nightstand and pushed the beds together to ease the situation.

That was the first, and last, problem.

A short time later, a waiter knocked at the door and brought in 4 full bottles of booze - rum, tequila, scotch and vodka. ( all reasonably good brands). Since my wife likes wine, we asked for a bottle of red wine, which was soon delivered, along with a corkscrew and glasses.

The staff could not have friendlier or more pleasant. The Royal Club restaurant was excellent. We had a group of 8 people and had no problem with reservations, eating there 3 times during the week.

Since it was mid-April, the resort was not overly booked and we never felt crowded in any of the other restaurants. We felt the Mediterranean and Mexican restaurants were just OK, not great. The breakfast buffet was good, with a good selection that changed every day. The lunch at the beach was also buffet style, with hamburgers and hot dogs included.

The rooms are large and comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is constantly caring for the grounds and it looks it. There are many beautiful iguana in the resort and they allow us to share the place with them.

There are scuba and snorkeling trips that leave from the property.

When they say "all-inclusive", they mean it. When we checked out, after a week of over-eating and over-drinking, we owed nothing.

One note about Cozumel, there is a pirate ship dinner cruise out of the ferry dock in town. Although it's not included ,if you don't take it, your missing a highlite of your trip. It is 3 hours of laughing, drinking and a good dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira4527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews