We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our day at uvas”
Review of Playa Uvas

Playa Uvas
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Off-Road Mayan Adventure in Cozumel with Snorkeling and Lunch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our shore snorkel, resort & certified diving and catamaran snorkel trip are some of the examples of experiences you can live while you are visiting us. Or if you feel like relaxing, enjoy a massage in our lounge area by the pool, where under palm trees you will feel the breeze of the Caribbean Ocean. If you feel like shopping you can browse in our store of typical Mexican crafts.Our specialties restaurant and our bar will complement and excellent day of sun, sea and sand. But above all, let us transmit the pride of serving you in our beach, located in a privileged area of Cozumel, by the marine park of Chankanaab.
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“our day at uvas”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came off the boat and skipped the shops, went to the taxi stand and got a taxi for $11 for 4 people to the playa uvas. It was $12 per person to get in. We got snorkeling gear, a private snorkeling tour for 30 minutes, small beach and pool, lounge chairs, bathroom, minimal hawking. We also got one beer or soda per person at no charge. We brought our lunch from the cruise ship. There was supposed to be Wifi there, but it didn't work for anyone.
This was a nice, quiet, relaxing time. There are better beaches, and much better snorkeling areas, but this excursion was inexpensive, quiet, and just what we wanted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your day at Uvas and sorry the wifi wasn´t working very well that day. Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    73
    39
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite, nice place”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We sailed on the Carnival Triumph on Sept 23-28, 2013. We took a $12 taxi to Playa Uvas, it was a small resort type area with bar, pool, gift shop, massage place ($60-$90/hour) and bathrooms. We liked that it was fairly isolated, not a lot of other guests. We paid $12/each for a snorkel tour (approx. 30 min), one drink each and to be able to hang out there. The snorkel tour was great! A lot of fun. The free drink was good as well. We ended up buying some nachos (all food was priced fairly high), our nachos were about $15 and a bottle of water was $3. Drinks were the same prices there as they were on the ship. We didn't like that there wasn't much of a beach front area to walk on, it was mainly rocks and not sand. However for the $12 we paid we were happy with our experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your review sounds like you guys had a good day at the beach club and we were glad to have you with us. Thanks and we hope to see you again sometime maybe next time we can make your experience a 5 star day. ;)
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were on a girls cruise and arrived August 17. We took a taxi from the pier four if us $11. We arrived and were greeted by hosts. We opted for $12 snorkel package. We were advised we could snorkel at different times and opted for the earliest which was about 20 minutes after we arrived. This was nice because it gave us time to get a locker and snorkel gear with no rush. We received a safety and how to class prior to enetering the water by our guide. The guide was very good and patient he took us all around the area pointing out several huge lobsters, fish and two fresh water senotes. I believe it was about 40 minutes or so which was plenty of time. If you wanted to go again on your own you could. We opted to get our drinks and sit by the pool. We were given sample massages at the pool which was wonderful. So wonderful in fact we got a 20 minute massage and it was fantastic. Very reasonable too! After that we had one more drink sat on the beach a spell and then asked the host to get a cab. To our surprise one was already there. We went downtown to eat and shop prior to heading back to pier. Taxi was $13 downtown for four. I would highly recommend this place and plan to return next time I'm in cozumel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ldeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you were able to join us for a great day of relaxing at Uvas. We hope to see you again sometime!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unforgetable Snorkel Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Carnival Triumph July 23, 2013. This is my 7th time in cozumel, but first in Playa Uvas. We have visited paraiso and Mr. Sanchos before as well snorkel from boats but Uvas by far exceed our previous experiences and it is my favorite place to visit in Cozumel. As soon as we arrived we were treated nicely and were informed of different packages. We opted for the $12 snorkel package and proceed to get our drinks. I got a mango margarita, which was sweet but enjoyble. After drinks got snorkeling gear and picked our lounges by beach. Have a seat and inspected menu. Got a beer bucket and for $13 usd, and got a mix of beers and a soda totaling 5 drinks. Told waiter to get a guacamole and chips after snorkel. Guacamole was great with a cold drink. For the snorkel we got to see lots of fish a stingray and had great unforgetable memories. We always felt safe in the water with and without guide. It is a bit rocky, but nothing too difficult to manage. I realized when walking backwards in water with the flippers is easier to walk. Great customer service. Good drinks and it was less than $20 per person , and we all had at least 3 drinks, snorkel, and great guacamole. We were there for about 4 hours. Our plan next time is to rent a bicycle and peddal. I think is less than 5 miles from carnival pier.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank aideek2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you had a great time at Uvas and that even though you have been to Cozumel many times you were able to come visit our beach club and have a great day. We look forward to having you with us again. Thanks
Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Could not think of a better way to spend a 7-hour cruise layover. Took a $10 cab ride from Puerta Maya to this secluded beach with incredible snorkeling, drinks, food and service. The very fair $12 fee per person included snorkeling gear, a 30-minute tour with Mario who has a degree in marine biology and one free drink. If you're worried about locking your stuff, they have a lockers to rent for $4 plus a $5 deposit that is returned upon departure. I highly recommend Playa Uvas if you're looking for a laid back experience with friendly locals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you had a great day at our facilities and that Mario and all the staff took great care of you during your visit. Thanks again and we hope to see you again maybe on your next visit to our island! Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Uvas also viewed

 

Been to Playa Uvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing