We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true home away from home”
Review of Coral Reef Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Reef Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This little place is fantastic and the hosts, Jerry and Leona, are like family. The rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable beds and come with a mini fridge and both a ceiling fan and air conditioning. The bathrooms are also large and the shower can fit several people! The water pressure and availability of hot water was excellent. There is a little library of books to take to the beach or just read whilst sunning oneself on one of the several loungers or a hammock. The rooftop has a palapa that covers an open-air sitting area with a lovely view and a fully-equipped shared kitchen. It was a perfect spot to get to know your fellow travelers over a few drinks. I was traveling alone but made fast friends under that palapa. They have onsite laundry facilities and a place to rinse and dry dive gear. You can even rent a bicycle there for a great rate. For my money, the Coral Reef Inn is the best place to stay on Cozumel.

Room Tip: Wifi signal is strongest on second and third levels. Ground-level rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I found Coral Reef Inn on Tripadvisor, and after reading the rave reviews, decided we had to stay there too, even though it is a 20 minute walk to town.

Jerry and Leona are amazing hosts. They gave us spot on recommendations on where to eat, and were most generous in offering us rides to the ferry terminal and airport.

Our rooms were clean and airy, and I liked that we had places to wash and dry our scuba gear. Our favorite spot in the inn was definitely the roof top kitchen and patio, where we made breakfasts in the early morning breeze.

Thanks for a great stay! We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agrainofsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed four 5 nights and we loved it. It is a 10-15-min walk to Dive Paradise, the dive shop which works with Coral Reef Inn.
The place was clean, very nice and the kitchen blew us away. It was on the rooftop and it had every tool you could possibly think of. Since we like to cook, we had no incentive to go out to eat, because we had a gas grill, oven, all types of knives, toasters, wine glasses available - literally- everything you can think of. The last, but not least come the most wonderful owners, Jerry and Leona, were most wonderful, offering helpful advice that was really useful. I cannot say enough kind words about this place. Thank you, Jerry and Leona for making Coral Reef Inn one of the reasons to return to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Coral Reef Inn. I have stayed at five different hotels over the past several years and this is definitely my favorite.

The main reason is the friendly, English-speaking owners, Jerry and Leona who make you feel like they invited you to stay at their home. Not only are they extremely helpful about where to shop and dine, they hang out with you and the other guests in the shared roof top kitchen/dining area every day. It’s like having local friends in Cozumel. Unlike many businesses in Mexico, they are very also very honest. We lost a day of diving because the port was closed due to bad weather. Dive Paradise repeatedly dodged giving us a refund and would only offer us a rain check which we couldn’t use because we had to fly home. So Leona gave us a full refund and told us that she would deal with them later.

They keep the place really clean and are very attentive to making sure everything is perfect. For instance, when our in-room refrigerator began overheating, they replaced it immediately after we mentioned it, even though it was still working. At the end of our stay, when I asked about getting a cab, Jerry offered to drive us to the airport and refused to accept any money for it. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveY305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Coral Reef Inn for a week which included five days of diving as a package. The owners Jerry & Leona were extremely helpful and friendly making for a great week (even offered me a ride to the airport). The rooms are spacious, clean with a common kitchen area on the rooftop to cook meals and watch the sunset. This place is great value particularly for divers who want a place to relax after diving all day. The other travelers were all friendly with the Inn located 2 blocks from a Supermarket and Movies, and under 10 minute walk from the dive pickup point. I thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Inn is run by a very nice Canadian couple -Jerry and Leona- which, at least in my own experience with people from that country, is a guarantee of kind and honest treatment. And this was definitely not an exception to the rule. The place has everything you may need to assure a very comfortable stay. No luxuries -you are not paying for that- but a very clean and quiet place with everything functioning perfectly. No pool, but a very nice and well-stuffed kitchen and common dining area. Air conditioning, hot water with good pressure, clean sheets and towels, cable TV. Not a bad location at all, if what you are looking for is just a tranquil place but not too far from downtown’s bars and restaurants. A huge supermarket (Chedraui) located just three blocks from the Inn. I had a problem with the dive package I had booked through the Hotel (please see my Trip Advisor review of “Dive Paradise”) but I honestly believe there is nothing to blame the Coral Reef Inn for on that. In short, I think this is an ideal place for divers who just want to chill out and take a good rest after a perfect day at the amazing Cozumel underwater world. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diogenes39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd stay at the Coral Reef Inn. I have to say that, all of the places that we have stayed this is by far the best. Our room is spacious and clean, having a fridge in the room is an added bonus. Very close to both of the major grocery stores and local restaurants. The owners Jerry and Leona have made us feel like this is our home away from home, they are very knowledgeable about locations for various travelers needs. The roof top dining and cooking is a great time . We have made some life long friends up on the roof and look forward to seeing them all again next year. Thank you Jerry and Leona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 53 in Cozumel
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 53 in Cozumel
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 53 in Cozumel
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#4 of 26 in Cozumel
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribo Cozumel
Caribo Cozumel
#3 of 26 in Cozumel
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Inn

Address: Calle 15 Sur #363 Entre 20 y 15c, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Coral Reef Inn you will find everything you need to be as laid back or as adventurous as you want to be! The rooms are cozy wth big bathrooms. The kitchen and dining area are rooftop - under an authentic Mexican thatched roof - where there is always a breeze and an ocean view. Coffee, tea or tequila... You decide! Conveniently located, American owned & operated, newly constructed, adults only! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Reef Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing