We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach for Cozumel”
Review of Playa Palancar

Playa Palancar
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Hour Cozumel Sightseeing with Private Driver and Tequila Tasting
Ranked #17 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice beach for Cozumel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cozumel is not known for great beaches, lots of rocky beaches and coral reef. Unless you go to the East Side of the island, where they have nicer beaches, but you can't really swim as the sea is always crazy.
Playa Palancar was a nice place to spend a few hours, swim in the ocean and just sit around. We met interesting people there, and wish we could've gone a second time during our stay. Rent a scooter or Jeep and go, it's worth it. The roads are safe to drive on:)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachbommm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    247
    93
    30
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Nice Beach"”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We always spend at least one day at Playa Palancar when we visit Cozumel. It's very relaxing and laid back. They have good food and drinks at a reasonable price and the service is always good. Free parking. One of our favorite places and makes for a great day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maxruby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We rented a jeep for the day to tour the island. The rental dude told us to stop at this beach. It's got a great beach for swimming, shell picking, snorkeling and kayaking! parking is FREE! and its got some cute shopping and a full bar/restaurant right by the water!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

when the wind blows from the north this place is calm. reef is too far off shore to access without a boat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little beach club!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lot's of nice amenities! Nice beach! Could use some cushions on the beach lounge chairs. Nice massage facility. Good margaritas and fish tacos!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Palancar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Palancar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing