We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views great price great service”
Review of Playa Palancar

Playa Palancar
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Hour Cozumel Sightseeing with Private Driver and Tequila Tasting
Ranked #18 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glens Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views great price great service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for about 5 hours on Feb 1. Service was pretty quick compared to usual Mexican time lol. Great drinks and cold buckets of beer. Four of us drank 20 beers and 3 mixed drinks and had some light appetizers for about $100 us. Beautiful beach and some light snorkeling off shore. We did not take the boat trip. Great place and not crowded !!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank hammond6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    255
    98
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Free public beach with amenities”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This beach is a free public beach with free sunbeds.

There is a beach bar with excellent drinks and food.

The beach itself is nice, however be aware there are stones in the water making it difficult in the sea without water shoes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's worth the drive out to Palancar, it's the furthest and most authentic Mexican of all of the beach clubs in Cozumel. It's smaller and less contemporary than Paradise Beach, it's my husband's favorite beach. Many of the tour maps say there is an entrance fee, but we went several times and were never charged a cent. The beach itself is super nice white sand, just beautiful, almost as nice as Punta Sur so the second nicest beach on the Island. Go for the loungers that sit in the sand, way more comfortable than the wood ones. We really like that the waiters don't constantly hassle you to buy stuff, but if you are hungry, the food is good and more reasonably priced than some of the other clubs.There's souvenier shopping, snorkeling, kayak rentals, para-sailing and sea doos available. Bring your beach shoes or flippers as there are shells and rocks as you walk out into the ocean. I suggest using the change rooms near the snorkel rental stand, you might even catch the racoons who come over for some snacks, as opposed to changing in their restrooms which seem a little insufficient on busy days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great free beach!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Offers just about everything playa mia and paradise beach have without the entrance fee. Plus more space and less crowds! Walk 10 minutes to the south and take a few pics on the pier with all the conch shells. Good spot to spend some relaxing time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BryceDeMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great snorkel tour”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was unfortunate that we had a cloudy, rainy day. Despite that, our tour was great and our snorkel leader showed us lots of turtles and fish in the 2 reefs we toured. The beach is great and the waiters are not too pushy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank funnysox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Palancar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Palancar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing