We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Playa Palancar

Playa Palancar
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Hour Cozumel Sightseeing with Private Driver and Tequila Tasting
Ranked #17 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The boat that takes you out to snorkel is a great deal and they take you to an amazing reef. The staff are friendly but not pushy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    247
    93
    30
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“virginia - NCL Star I found your 8 gig photo card on Cozumel palancar beach”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Virginia - you were on playa palancar in Cozumel on saturday december 22nd and lost your 8 gig photo card from your camera - you were on the Norwegian Star cruise ship. - please pm me so I can get it back to you :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not Worth it...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Do not waste your time. The beach is crowded with a lot of noisy tourists and no shade at all. The shops are cheesy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great snorkelling from dive shop at beach”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were on a cruise in early December and we took a taxi to the beach. It is a beautiful, quiet location as it is about 20 minute taxi ride south of the cruise dock. At the beach there is a diving hut there and we arranged a snorkelling excursion for $35/person. We had to wait a bit while they arranged the boats, but eventually there were 4 other snorkellers. They took us to two great snorkelling spots including the infamous Palancar Reef. We saw sea turtles, stingrays and great schools of fish. We have snorkelled extensively and this was one of the best we have done. At the beach, the loungers are free but ordering food is greatly appreciated. We had drinks and food including ceviche and they were very good. Prices were reasonable. Beware the margaritas are strong...muy delicioso! A great place to go if you are on a cruise and want an alternative to the snorkelling excursions offered on the ship...you will be in a much smaller group and you will get personalized attention.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lauracharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentonville, ar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude server”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Bo was snorkeling and I wasn't ready to order food, yet...he was so rude and told me to leave the table....no biggie...but snorkeling wasn't good...so we moved on...kindness would have kept us there for lunch...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boNthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Palancar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Palancar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing