We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Ventanas al Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventanas al Mar
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Tranquil, romantic, and perfect for a couple wanting to get away to enjoy each other! The beaches are phenomenal, the room simple and elegant, the staff professional and service oriented. I cannot wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robi810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    47
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
156
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is wonderfully isolated from the touristy San Miguel in Cozumel. It is the only hotel that I'm aware of on the entire side of the island. The view is unlike anything I have ever seen before. The ultra-low light pollution gives views of the sky I have never seen before, and I live in rural Ohio. The view of the ocean and sky alone are worth the price. The bar next door had decent food and typical prices for Cozumel. Very quiet and peaceful. Nothing to see on either side of the bar (Coconuts) and hotel but white sand, good sized waves, and beautiful shoreline.

They are building what looks to be a beautiful pool that should be done by late Fall of 2014.
It's important to keep in mind this is more comparable to an eco-resort than a typical hotel. Keep in mind, there is no air-conditioning. There are fans and heaters. They're still using good old fashioned keys for the doors, and the water from the faucet was a bit slow. It wasn't a problem at all. The bars and eateries along this coast close early, so get your food and drink because all will be gone. You can make a reservation for a later dinner with the hotel ahead of time if needed. It's missing all the big resort amenities and the bed was a bit hard for our taste, but it was also missing all the commercialism, and hordes of people and noise.

It was an INCREDIBLE experience.

Room Tip: Be prepared for downtime. Have extra water and a few snacks if you need them for past the early eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I needed to get away by myself for a short trip and Ventanas al Mar provided the solitude and peace I needed in my life at the time. This is a jewel on the East side of Cozumel. The staff were so welcoming and accommodating. The facility itself has one of the best views of the ocean I've ever seen - and the howling winds to go with it. The building definitely gets pummeled by winds and waves and it is salt water so there are some features of the building that could be updated a bit or repaired but nothing major, just little things here and there but you have to accept that when you're in a salty environment.

I was able to stay in one of the suites which is a 2 floor experience. It had a lot of character and openness. I slept with my balcony doors open every night and fell asleep to the sound of wind and waves. The beach is pleasant to walk along though swimming isn't advised unless it's a rare calm day. But if you're into surfing there's a cute surf shack to check out gear.

The breakfast was good and they give you a lot of options. Great way to start the day.

I personally recommend the food at the bar next door - Coconuts. It's a bit of a wacky bar but don't let that scare you away. The food and drinks are good and they too are very welcoming. I went there each night and had a margarita, guacamole and ceviche.

I rented a car so I drove down to Punta Sur each day and paid the entry fee to be isolated and immersed in nature and great beaches to swim and snorkel on. The drive from Ventanas is only like 10 minutes.

All in all, Ventanas was a great escape for me. Peace and quiet, just what I needed. I did notice they were building a pool which looked near completion and it's partially protected by the building so it'll be great for cooling off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been coming to the island for several years and always have wanted to stay here. So this trip I booked it for one night just to "try" it out. Well after being there for about a hour we let them know that we would be staying a extra day !
The hotel and staff are amazing. I had emailed them about borrowing a cooler and upon check-in they let us have a mini fridge for our room at no extra cost. We were also welcomed in our room with beautiful flowers and a bottle of chilled wine..nice touch !
You do not need air conditioning here or a phone or TV, just sit out on the balcony and enjoy the view !
They also have free wifi and it works really well.
They are putting in a pool and it looks really nice, can't wait until my next visit to try that!
We were treated to a great breakfast each day but my favorite was dinner some of the best grilled fish.
They have a resident dog that is so darn cute, we got to watch her hunting for sand crabs while on our morning walks on the beach.
We met the director of the hotel Julio Padilla he was so nice, this hotel is stunning and the entire staff will do anything for you to make your stay the best.
Next trip to cozumel I plan on spending some nights here, to relax, walk on the beach and star gaze at night.
Wonderful place give it a try .

Room Tip: we were in room 22 it had 2 double beds and a awesome balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wickedwitch2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just returned from 4 days at this resort that was sooo relaxing! The hotel is built on a small cliff so there was constant soothing crashing waves and a wonderful ocean breeze at all time made for perfect sleeping conditions, if you enjoy sound hike you sleep. Don't be concerned about the lack of a/c. You won't need it. Miguel and the staff were incredible! They took such good care of us and made sure our stay was perfect. From getting us ice for our beverages we purchased in town to bringing my wife morning coffee to start the day, they were just awesome! Breakfast each morning was wonderful and the dinners were excellent. At $12 per meal, probably the best deal we got on the trip. This is the only hotel on the east side of the island. The isolation is well worth it! It's exactly what we wanted. Only about a 30 minute drive to get downtown. Anything you could want to do or go, Miguel was the man! The hotel has a pool under construction, which will be great upon completion. The ocean at the hotel was very rough with strong currents. The beach was okay but did have some ocean debris on it. It just doesn't have the budget or manpower to groom it like the big resorts. We would definitely recommend visiting this hotel if you like a very relaxing atmosphere with excellent personal attention! The views from the rooms are incredible and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: All are excellent as they are oceanfront. We liked the 2nd floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We came here to get away from real world and enjoyed exactly what we were looking for.

The beach is rough but nice, the views are spectacular and having breakfast on the balcony listening to the waves is priceless!

This hotel really delivers the "island feeling" that Cozumel is known for.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bothfeld1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We really wanted to like this place but its just not for us. So here are our pros and cons and you decide.

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. View is amazing!!!! Wonderful soothing sound from the waves crashing against the rocks. Plumbing worked great, plenty of hot water. Nice big room plenty of space. Breakfast was very good. Its away from the normal crazy hustle and bustle of town with the day time cruises.

Cons: Our room was clean however because of no air conditioner and many past sweaty guest, our bed and pillow smelled of old sweat. (Linens were clean but pillows had absorbed past sweat). We had to cover them with our towels to endure the smell.

We may have just hit a bad time but we could not swim at all, the waves were to rough and dangerous. When pool is finished this will help on the bad days to cool off. There was also lots of trash on the beach (for the price you are paying maybe pay a guy to clean up every morning).

Dinner was just okay, really not worth the price.

Not really a private room!! We stayed on the lower floor and you share a patio with your neighbor and because you have to leave your windows open the other guest can look right in at your bed while you sleep. There are no screens on the sliding glass doors so any little creature can walk right in. (one scorpion and one spider).

With a $40 car rental a day (which is a must!) plus the price of hotel it was not worth it!!!

We took our losses and left a night early.

C Burgess

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4,566 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventanas al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventanas al Mar

Property: Ventanas al Mar
Address: Carretera Costera Oriente Km. 43.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventanas al Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecofriendly Ventanas al Mar Hotel creates a relaxed atmosphere for guests who want a unique Caribbean experience. The oceanfront hotel is located on the east, windward side of Cozumel Island where there is always a breeze. The delicious homemade produce breakfasts is included in our rates. The great sandy beaches of the East coast, the sound of the ocean waves crashing on the rocks and the silence of the nature far away from the city offer a wealth of opportunities for visitors wanting to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ventanas al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventanas Al Mar Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing