We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ventanas al Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
214
58
11
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
58
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsget away from it allwaves crashing on the rocksheart shaped poolhatching seasonorder ahead of timehuevos rancherosno electricityruebenfacing the seabreakfasts were wonderfulcross breezewild riceamazing locationhighly recommend renting a carair conditioningwi ficold shower
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 295 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We came because we liked the solitary location. The price realy doesn't worth it (they askec for 100$, after we said that we saw it online for 65$ they agreed to 65$ without breakfast and said that brkfst will be 5$ each...)
The room was realy dirty, especially the bethroom and tge sink.
no A/C so we haven't slept much.

Maybe if there was an A/C we would have deal with the dirty room issue, but it was realy hot..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanas A, Gerente at Ventanas al Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest

We thankful for the opinion in your stay, this help us to improve all service, we´re sorry that your stay was not all satisfactory.

We apologize for any inconvenient in the hotel, we will work to improve all you mentioned.

We look forward the opportunities to serve you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a tough one to write as our stay was perhaps not as enjoyable as it could have been due to the tropical storm that hit right on cue for our 2 night stay.

The hotel is definitely nothing fancy but that is reflected in the price which is incredibly reasonable ($110 USD per night including breakfast). It is located on a lonely stretch of road with a wild coastline and that is somewhat the charm of this place. Coconuts is right next door, however, which is only open until 7pm so not a dinner option (if you check out their 'family album' you can get a taste for what a typical crazy day at Coconuts is... but thankfully it was pretty quiet when we were there and not a topless drunken girl in sight - but whatever floats your boat). Only options availabe for dinner are back in town so a car is definitely required.

The rooms are really big and sparsely decorated but nice enough. The bathroom is tiny and the water temperature erratic so took a bit of patience to get the shower going without being scalded or frozen. Pressure was lacking but didn't expect it to be otherwise to be honest.

Breakfast was good - the omelettes are delicious and there was plenty of refilling of juice, coffee etc.

So onto the bad stuff; as we had the misfortune of a couple of days of stormy weather we discovered that the rooms are not waterproofed for such conditions. Our room was flooded. The balcony doors are of a poor design that mean water poured in. Above the doors are grates for ventilation but these are fixed open so that the rain was coming straight through and onto us in bed. They did move us to another room which wasn't quite as flooded but we had to keep on requesting towels to try and prevent it becoming a swimming pool.

As I said, this is a tough one to write as the manager Joel is lovely as are his staff, and the hotel, whilst very basic, has the makings of a really nice place to stay if one is wanting to get away from it all. It was just unfortunate that we couldn't get to enjoy it as much as we wanted to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We returned to Ventanas al Mar after more than a year because we were so taken with the wild beauty and solitude of the place, and this visit was even better than last time. The hotel has tweaked some details without altering the essence of the place. The electricity is 24 hours now, which is a big help for charging phones and for use of fans (no AC - open air cooling), and WIFI is available as needed in the lobby, which is quite useful in light of the isolation of the place. Joel and Rosalbo were delightful and made us feel like family. In fact, one evening the staff was celebrating a birthday dinner and shared their delicious meal with us gratis.It was among the best meals we had during our vacation. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 21 has great cross ventilation and overlooks the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebsterBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I must say I was a little leery when I booked this hotel. After arriving in Cozumel and driving across the island to Ventanas I was pleasantly surprised. I had booked the hotel after seeing it on trip advisor. I wanted something a bit out of the ordinary, not the textbook All inclusive. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The bed was hard but very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and we did have a problem with the shower not draining, but the issues were minor. You have to realize that you are in a place running on solar power and a generator. There is no air-conditioning but of the three nights we stayed only one was a bit too warm and humid for a great night's sleep. The sound of the surf is so comforting and it's quiet so we had no issues sleeping. Make sure to step outside at night as well because the view of the stars from here is amazing. Seeing as there is no power on the eastern side of the island the view is not obstructed by articial light.

Coconuts is right next door. What a great time! The food is OK, nothing to write home about and the drinks are pricey but well worth a visit.

Mezcalito's is right down the road too but I would not recommend it for food.

A rental car is the way to go if staying here(I suggest ISIS). You have the freedom to visit the San Gervasio ruins and Punta Sur or go downtown everyday if you'd like. I also suggest bringing a cooler with water/drinks/beer and snacks for your stay. I requested a fridge in our room and it was there when we checked in.

Lastly, we did take advantage of the dinner service on our last night and wished(after the fact) that we had every night. The grouper with garlic sauce was out of this world! We would stay here again. For us 3 nights was enough. I think if we were with another couple it would be a bit more fun but if you are looking to get away from it all, look no further. Note, that there is no swimming at the hotel as the surf is WAY to rough. You can swim at the beach at Punta Sur and right down the road at Chen Rio(very crowded on Sundays).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking to unwind in a stress free environment this piece of solitude is for you. The staff treated us like royalty. We stayed seven nights and sometimes we felt as though we were the only guests at this private (total getaway) hotel.
We did have WiFi access the entire time. I kind of wish we hadn't because it was a distraction we didn't need. Breakfast and dinner meals were individually prepared. Healthy choices of fresh fruit and seafood abound. Like the reviews before me I hesitate to uncover this jewel because it's so small I might not get a reservation the next time I plan to go.
Warning: If you're looking for parties and loud music this is not the place for you. If you can't live without air conditioning for a few days this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 26 for the starry night sky, the suites are two story with spiral staircases
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMONeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews