We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hideaway”
Review of Ventanas al Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ventanas al Mar
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hideaway”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have recently returned from a week long stay at Ventanas al Mar in Cozumel and there are almost no words to describe how enjoyable of a trip it was. From the quiet, serene beach to the amazing and friendly staff, this trip was one that I will remember for the rest of my life. We stayed in the Tortuga Suite which is two stories. There were only two of us so it was so nice to have the extra room. I could go on & on about all the things we loved about this place.

I do have some recommendations when staying there if it helps anyone. Rent a car, that was the best move we made. We had so much fun going back and forth into town and experiencing the town for what it had to offer on our own time and on our own dime!!

It is warm, this place is not for the type of person that requires the AC to be turned down to 60 every night. We, personally, did not have a problem with it. After a few days you get used to it. There's something about the natural air that you can't beat.

Don't over pack unless you have plans to go out to eat a lot and even so I would still bring the minimum. I, as a girl, brought tons of cute clothes and shoes and did not wear half of them. You will be in your swimsuit and cover up literally almost the whole time. A few fun summer dresses and you will be good to go.

Eat the breakfast they offer, it was amazing. I had so much fun trying something new every morning.

Go with Coco to see the turtles. A memorable event that you will always remember.

I could continue on with this but I don't want to get to wordy, although I think I have passed that point. This place is wonderful. Things you think you "need" while on vacation are put to the test here and you realize you really don't need very much. A little sun, some waves, peace & quiet, and a soft bed, and you're good to go. I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    47
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
155
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williston Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have never stayed in a hotel such as the Ventanas al Mar. With no telephone and power only supplied for a portion of the night with the emergency generator, you would might overlook this hidden treasure, but it would be a grave mistake.

We rented the Tortuga Suite for 10 days on this trip to Cozumel, and our room overlooked the beach on the north while the open ocean was crashing over the rocks to the east of us. At night, we were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the water and the moonlight shining through our windows. The gentle sea breeze swept through our room, leaving a cool, comfortable climate in its wake, even though there was no air conditioning. The morning sun and gentle breeze woke us in the morning. With no outside distractions such as tv, telephones, or noisy tourists, my wife and I had every oppurtonity to connect again as a couple.

The help gave us personal attention, and made us feel like family. One of the best parts of our stay was being treated to a Mexican cooking leason (homemade chicken tacos).

We used the hotel as a base for our numerous nature walks on the east side of the island, including the Turtle Egg-Laying tour (check out Cozumelinsider.com), the kayak trip in Punta Sur, and for our quest to find beach glass.

Based on our numerous prior visits to the Island (15 all inclusive hotel experiences with and without the kids, we were very familar with the the stores and roadways on the Island. After check-in, we shot over to the Megamart and purchased a cooler, and light snacks for romantic evening snacks (also candles to add to those already in the room). Check with the help upon arrival to see if coolers are available. You can purchase ice on the road leading back to town, but the cheapest ice was obtained at the stores in town.

For this trip, we timed it for the full moon during June to get the best chance of seeing a turtle laying eggs (my wife is a marine biologist). We were not disappointed. For those with older kids, they kept 2 boogie boards that can be used on the beach to the north of the hotel. For those with younger kids, or those looking for a calm body of water, there is a cove with protected shallow water that the younger kids will enjoy. The kids will also enjoy the trip to Punta Sur ecological park (you can see the tropical rain forest, snorkel, kayak on the lagoon and see the crockodiles. I would recommend checking out the Cozumel Insider web site to see other events occuring.

If there are any negative issues, is that they only provide breakfast and you are on your own for the rest of the day. While the hotel is just north of Coconuts, and its a simple stroll up a few steps to the restaurant, some may wish for more variety for stays longer then a week.

Room Tip: they all appear great, but i would highly recommend the Tortuga Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is not a place i would recommend to my friends and family back home! No service whatsoever and the rooms weren't nice at all. It was my first time in Cozumel and I'm not going there again, especially not in that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

what a great little hotel! the staff made us feel like family. coco, the waiter, groundskeeper, bellhop etc, was a great guy. the room was a second floor ocean view with a nice balcony, a huge bed, and plenty of storage. no electric during the day, but we hardly noticed. after all, there was no tv, mini fridge or other stuff to power. but we didn't go there for appliances, we went for the great view, the roaring surf, and the tranquility. we got those things in spades.
don't forget though, that there are little inconveniences to deal with. i forgot that i owed half of the bill when i was checking out, and didn't have enough cash to cover it. they cant do credit cards there. i am still working on getting the graceful owner, ricardo, the rest of his money through his reservation web site! i am adding my review to all the other very positive reviews; if you get the chance, do stay at this unique place....... it doesn't hurt that a path goes directly from the hotel parking lot to the beach club Coconuts on the Hill!!!! what a cool place to have a meal and a drink!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgiz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wife & I rode past this place on a scooter in 2011 and decided we HAD to come back and stay here asap. This Feb 2012 we returned with our two daughters (12 & 4) for a family vacation.
As soon as we pulled up the resident housekeeper/chef Coco & manager Lupita welcomed us with warm smiles. In fact the entire staff is very kind here. We will never forget the maid Mercheda(sp?) who liked to chase our little 4yr old pajarita around for kisses each morning. Very cute. Coco is a special soul too. He will do whatever he can to help you. Lupita drove into town by herself one night to get us a bag of ice too. Unexpected and greatly appreciated!
The included breakfasts are a perfect start to your island day. Fresh fruit, juice, coffee eggs, toast and real nuts & yogurt. No eating and running here though. Your fresh food is served at a relaxed pace. For lunch, dinner or killer margaritas you can go next door to Coconuts bar & grill. Just make sure you're stocked up for the evenings with an OXXO or 7-11 cooler full of drinks and snacks since everything nearby closes around sunset.
Staying here we found it very easy to strike out on day trips to Chankanaab, Punta Sur, San Gervasio and downtown San Miguel with our little VW bug rental. But leave some time for local exploring around here too. There are some insanely beautiful deserted stretches all along the East side.
We rented the Tortuga Suite for 4 nights. Very spacious with 2 floors and a spiral staircase. The sound of the crashing waves at night is intense. No need for AC since there is always a cool breeze blowing. The rooms are not 5 star top notch but lets be honest you are not paying for top notch here either. Nothing concerning at all, just a minor crack or two in walls and a doorjamb or two. No big deal for us but high end guests looking for white gloved perfection should look for pricier options. It's all about the value here.
Overall we had a perfect time here and would definitely return again. We MUST come back during tortuga hatching season and do the night patrol trip Lupita described to us. That's going to be incredible. Maybe a hot tub for the quiet evenings would be our only suggestion. Otherwise, this place was absolutely perfect for this family.
Thanks Ventanas, we will definitely see you again someday!

Room Tip: Reserve early for the Tortuga suite. More than a few guests expressed their regret to us that we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Ventanas is not everyone's cup of tea. It's located on the far side of Cozumel right on the ocean and the breeze is strong and the waves roar in the night. There's only electricity for 3 hours a night, the restaurants on that side of the island close around 6. We spent one night there since we thought we'd want to be in town most evenings but next year we'll stay at least 3 nights. The beach is gorgeous and deserted, the waves are fun to play in, the stars at night when the electricity is off are breath-takingly beautiful. We lay in bed in the morning and watched the sun rise over the ocean. The rooms are large and comfortable with beautiful hand carved furniture. There was plenty of hot water for all our showers. Breakfast was filling and delicious. The staff is great - friendly and helpful. We had amazing massages on the beach. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have ocean views. I always like to saty upstairs but I think that's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bookwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is for those who really want to relax. Its charm is its breathtaking views and quietness. Lupita and Coco make you feel like family. The breakfasts are served on a beautiful patio overlooking fabulous ocean views. The breakfasts are healthy and proceed in a leisurely fashion that allow guests and staff the opportunity to become firm friends. Leave your cares behind and totally relax at Ventanas al Mar. Leave your electronics at home and let the ocean and the hotel revitalize you.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, clean, large and have fantastic views. The only noise you will here is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#18 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
9.9 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventanas al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventanas al Mar

Property: Ventanas al Mar
Address: Carretera Costera Oriente Km. 43.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventanas al Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecofriendly Ventanas al Mar Hotel creates a relaxed atmosphere for guests who want a unique Caribbean experience. The oceanfront hotel is located on the east, windward side of Cozumel Island where there is always a breeze. The delicious homemade produce breakfasts is included in our rates. The great sandy beaches of the East coast, the sound of the ocean waves crashing on the rocks and the silence of the nature far away from the city offer a wealth of opportunities for visitors wanting to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ventanas al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventanas Al Mar Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing