We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great views and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed for five nights at the end of February. I was greeted by Mai at the reception desk and she couldn't have been sweeter. I requested breakfast for early morning which I received no problem. I didn't have to remind them, they just knocked on my door every morning right on time. I was alone so I had more than enough coffee, juice and rolls. The room was spacious with two double beds and a mini fridge. The balcony over looking the water was great for having some beers at night (or early afternoon!). Great for people watching and relaxing. Cruise ships dock close by but I wasn't too bothered by them. The crowds disperse pretty quickly after getting off the ship. You could not ask for a better location. Restaurants all around the area from local to touristy. Mega grocery store was a 5-7 minute walk. The plaza was a 5 minute walk. I took the back streets to get there so I didn't get hassled by store owners on the main avenue. I decided to take a walk south for about 45 minutes and passed at least 2 locals beaches. The first one I passed was rocky with locals snorkeling. The second was a sandy beach about a half hour walk by a green and white lighthouse, which seemed to be popular with local kids. I couldn't have asked for a better location. Great jump off point to explore by foot. I had time to kill on the last day so I decided to walk to the airport instead of taking a taxi. It was about a 45 minute leisurely pace with more than enough time to stop for lunch. Overall great hotel experience for a quick getaway from the frigid cold.

Room Tip: Go with water view rooms. Rooms at the back over looks the shops that are set up in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank upnorthliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    117
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
37
163
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This property was in a perfect location for us. Just a short walk to the plaza and to lots of restaurants. Plus, it was pretty inexpensive (we paid $228 for four nights).

If you stay here, you must get the ocean view room. This was the best thing about the room that we had.

Now for some pros and cons:

PROS
- Location
- Ocean view relatively inexpensive
- Price
- Staff is very friendly
- Free basic breakfast delivered to room
- Free wifi with good speed

CONS
- This is more of a motel than hotel
- Traffic noise could bother some (did not bother us)
- Some things in disrepair
- Curtains falling off
- Mold on bathroom ceiling
- Sheets had stains on them
- Railing on balcony starting to rot

Overall, we had a decent stay. If you know what to expect you won't be surprised. This is not a luxury property. It's for budget travelers. But there are some real simple things they could do to fix it up and make it better. I hope they will because this property has a lot of promise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LucWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were welcomed by Sergio. He is a wonderfully friendly helpful man.
The boutique hotel is older. Everything in it is NOT FOUR SEASONS, but we were not paying for Four Seasons, but just wanted a clean bed. We got a clean bed and a safe. The staff were so friendly. The hotel has been kept up with painting and linens. For an older hotel, be kind. It will offer you a great location and clean room. The only downfall, no elevator for mobility impaired and the pool was a bit slimy. Everything else was EXCELLENT!! Get an ocean view, it is worth it!

Room Tip: OCEAN VIEW is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knotguilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently stayed there for three nights and loved it. Had been there before----35 years ago!!!---and won't wait 35 more years to get back there. We had a room right on the street, but on the third floor, so we looked out at the ocean front and the docks and all. When we first arrived, a huge cruise ship dominated part of our view. We laid down for a nap and when we woke up, it was gone!!! Hooray! After four days, another came in and took its place just as we were leaving. Good timing! The hotel is in a great location a couple of blocks from the center of all the activity, but far away enough to be pretty quiet, even though it's on a really main street. Comes with a continental breakfast that they bring to your room----enough to get you going in the morning. There's a little balcony out the front window and it's a lovely place to just sit and watch the people go by, two stories down. Early morning there are locals fishing right across the street and that is fun to see. This is definitely a budget hotel, not exclusive or fancy, but it is clean and cute and really much more fun than the fancy places. Already planning our return.

Room Tip: I would definitely get an ocean-view room. Well worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great little hotel on the malecon. We stayed there for 2 nights during Carnival this year. We had a second floor balcony for watching the 2 1/2 hour parade. How can you beat that. Clean large rooms. Very helpful staff. Light breakfast included in the morning. Coffee could be hotter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sask_Bluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is located in the city center (good location for restaurants, shops and the boat terminal). 2 blocks away from senor frogs. The rooms are ok, but there's no elevator (my room was on the 4th floor and I had to take my luggage upstairs by myself). The breakfast is ok >> it's delivered to the room by the time you schedule it. If you are on a reduced budget, I would recommend the hotel. But if you want a hotel in front of the beach, this is not the one to be chosen. Very good price!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The wife and I just got back last night and spent Sat and Sunday here, we knew that Carnaval is a blast but this made the entire trip worth it!!! we spent the first 6 days at a resort and wanted to get in on the action for the Parade route, after the first night of the Parade we went to the store and bought a bunch of candy to give to the kids, every single balcony room was decorated to the hilt.........What a AWESOME time!

The place is great if you want to shop and hang out for the downtown nightlife, divers love it as well because the pier is right across the street. We plan on bringing the kids back next year for a couple days and then hit the resort to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda
Barracuda
#37 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing