We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a room facing the sea face. Wonderful view. The staff was very nice and helpful and any problems they were quite helpful. As for the continental breakfast, I thought it was really good. Assorted Mexican pastries, orange juice and coffee. I'm not saying this is 5 star but for the money it's a steal:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunovictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    118
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
37
164
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel, close to everything. The staff was amazing. Also the ocean view rooms were great - one of the best values we've had. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. We also found beaches nearby (e.g., Playa Azul is a short taxi ride away) plus we rented a jeep for two days and went to some of the beach resorts/clubs on the island. What we enjoyed most was being able to walk everywhere and just soak in a laid back lifestyle - pretty much eating and drinking, especially checking out some of the local loncherias and good dinner places.

Room Tip: Definitely book the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't like writing negative reviews but people need to know for sure what they will be getting for their money.
We thought the hotel room was just to sleep but we couldn't even get that.
First of all we were supposed to get a king bed, they are very sneaky thinking we couldn't tell it was a Queen bed sideways, my husband's feet hanged at the bottom.
They ask you on the first day when you would like your coffee and "continental Breakfast" brought to your room. We told them 8.30 a.m. We got it the first day and it was a combination of very old looking and stale pastries. Jokingly I told my hubby that they probably got them the night before from the discount bin at the end of the day at Mega. Sure enough a few days later we saw one of the employees at the Mega getting the pastries.
Anyway, the coffee and breakfast never arrived again until we asked what had happened three days later. I very distracted desk clerk told us we never told them the time. so we told him 8:30 again but to send just coffee because we were not going to eat the stale breads. Coffee made it once more in the whole 10 days we were there.
Every morning you are woken up at 7:00 a.m with the honk of whatever cruise line happens to dock 2 blocks away. Right in front of the hotel is a smaller dock used for diving boats. Every day at 7:30 you are woken up with the banging of the metal oxygen tanks that are thrown into the cement. Same happens if you decide to take a nap, divers are back and tanks are thrown into the truck. The roads are noisy so if you are looking for some peace and quiet this is not the place to be.
The hotel is close to everything so that was a plus, you are in the heart of down town.
The room is nice and roomy I give them that much. Cleaning happens every other day and they change their old and sometimes with holes towels every other day.
The pool is clean however there is only 2 places to sit with a metal chair and a two other very uncomfortable plastic lounge chairs that you can only lay down, you can't turn and tan your back as they are very odd shape. It’s only sunny for a few hours in the morning as it’s in the back and there are buildings all around.
On the third night there was a banging on our wall, it kept going on and off so we asked someone to take a look, it came from upstairs and it sounded like someone was pounding on a door every 20 minutes or so.
We had a sleepless night as the guy could not go check (he was security only) They checked next day in the afternoon. It was a mini fridge that was rattling against the wall all night. Oddly enough the people in the room didn't hear it. Walls are thing because we could hear others talking and the tv's next door.
I went looking for extra towels and found their storage so I just helped my self as nobody was around in the front desk, in this room they had a bathroom for the employees as well. I saw the coffee mugs guests get were washed and left to dry in the toilet sink, I was kind of happy I only drank the coffee twice!
All in all I will never stay here and I will not recommend the place. I was very disappointed, people always tried to look busy when you went by and nobody ever said hello unless you did first.
There are much better places for less or the same money that will actually take care of their guest and show that they cared.

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms if you want some peace and quiet however the hotel has a market and it gets n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miuset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and i just returned from Cozumel, where we once again stayed at Vista Del Mar.
Mia, the young lady at the desk always takes good care of us and has lots of good local information. This was our fifth stay and we'll be back again!
Basic, Clean, Safe and comfortable...just the way we like it.

Room Tip: water front, $68.00 per night included tax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Central and very adequate place to stay in Cozumel town. Sea-view rooms have balconies with chairs offering open sea views and the comings and goings of the cruise boats and ferries. Recently refurbished rooms, large beds, AC, TV, fridge, sheets and towels were in good condition. Limited breakfast. We choose to stay here to experience the life of the town, the cruise-boat crowds, the divers heading out etc. but found it quite quiet at night. Helpful staff. Would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VamosViajamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

By reading the reviews on this property, I can only guess that those who stayed at this hotel expected next to nothing from such an establishment simply because they were staying in Mexico but we frequent Cozumel often and our decision to try the Vista Del Mar was a HUGE mistake, especially when considering that another hotel we typically stay in is the next door (literally), the Casa Mexicana, and we only saved less than $10/night switching. Yes, the rooms seemed clean other than the excessive black mold on the bathroom ceilings but if you expect ANY enmities that typically come with a hotel anywhere, this is not the place for you!

You can not get ice! You have to walk down the street to buy it but there is no place to store it in the room. The continental breakfast was a disappointment, 1 cup of coffee each (which has to be delivered, there is no coffee in the room), 1 small glass of OJ each, and four small dry Mexican pastries. That’s it! No fruit, nothing else! The Casa Mexicana provided a full hot and cold breakfast buffet every morning!

Room cleaning is every other day here. The sheets had concerning stains on them every change. Every towel in the room was so torn, frayed, shredded and full of holes, you had to actually take care when using them so you didn’t get caught up in them yet they were reluctant to allow us to have any more than one per person.

This place is NOT ADA accessible! If you’re at all physically challenged by stairs, you can not stay here. If you’re there to dive, there are stairs only and NO help whatsoever with luggage or gear. Not even a luggage cart! The mattress was as hard as they get (which I prefer) but if you’re opposed to such, this is not the place for you! Furniture is minimal, a bed with nightstands and a folding TV table. No chairs in the room. We had to bring the wood patio chairs from the deck inside the room on stormy days.

Worst of all was the noise; yes, it is on the main drag in the center of all but because all the rooms overlook the main street and the pier, we did not get one full night sleep in our five nights there due to construction noise and tank noise. The hotel is located directly across from a main dock where ALL scuba tanks are picked up and delivered in the middle of the night and those delivering them take NO concern for the hotel guests at 2-3am when tossing them on and off the trucks! The Casa Mexicana rooms were set in from the street, sheltering you from such noise.

I have no doubt that many of the favorable reviews for this establishment were posted by property management themselves for they are simply untrue and they give visitors a poor idea of what Cozumel truly has to offer or what the minimum standard is for most hotels.

Room Tip: We can only assume that the closer to the street you are, the worse the noise is but frankly, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FromOurManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located right on the main street (Malecon) in the downtown area, with a beautiful view of the Caribbean, minutes away from Plaza San Miguel, restaurants, markets and grocery store. Close to Diving Pier for pickups, if you are there on a dive vacation. Perfect spot.

Simple, accommodating, clean, comfortable, nicely decorated Mexican style hotel with a helpful staff. Spacious room, comfortable king size bed, with mosquito netting and "turn down" service. The bathroom has a nice shower, abundant towels, bath robes, and toiletries. Our large balcony, equipped with a hanging hammock chair, had a wonderful view of the boulevard ideal to relax and enjoy sunsets. Hotel could do some updates in order to maintain the building. Daily continental breakfast is served to your room every morning any time you want. Hotel needs some updates but is still great value for money.
I advice guests to pay attention to hotel safety and hotel staff since a couple of guest have had an awful experience and wrote it down on Trip Advisor on April 20th, 2012. That´s not good to read, specially when the staff involved is still there!!!. Hotel manager should write back a response to these guests clarifying the situation. Besides that, we had a good experience.

Room Tip: Spend the couple extra bucks and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySeamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing