We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a daytrip”
Review of La Rumba Cozumel

La Rumba Cozumel
Ranked #76 of 456 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: We opened La Rumba to offer a place with true Latin flavor that is free of touristy gimmicks. We love Mexico and the culture of Latin America and aim to share that through food, drink and quality live music. A good day for us is to have a mix of clientele where locals and tourists come together in a comfortable and inviting space.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

Just a few streets away from the very busy touristic square, cozy, extremely friendly, relaxed place. I actually felt the owner took prude in showing us how good a service can be. It was the highlight of our trip to cozumel. Food was great too.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2018

I am not sure how this restaurant isn't number one in Cozumel!! We are vegans so it is definitely vegan friendly. We had rice and beans and guacamole and salsa and omg pretty much everything was delicious!!!!It is a little off the beaten path but so what?!!? Get away from the tourist trap and do yourself a favor. Hit up this restaurant!!! You will not regret it!!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lavida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B, Owner at La Rumba Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Thank you for such a positive review. While we don't exactly highlight vegetarian and vegan items on our menu, we do have quite a few. Plus, the beauty of Mexican food is that the flavors are so fantastic that there are many dishes that can easily be made vegan. We are always happy to accommodate special requests so even if it's not on the menu, just ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We have been invited by our girlfriend who lives on Cozumel Friday evening for a Salsa evening in La Rumba. We had a lot of fun dancing and La Rumba and the Band loved it a lot. We were the several times in the next few days. On the birthday of my girlfriend, we were again surprised in the evening at La Rumba.Only for us Ancel sang romantic songs and a Mexican birthday song. There was Tequila free and we had a wonderful evening before we left for Germany.La Rumba is a highlight of Cozumel.Many thanks to the band and the host.We will definitely go back to Cozumel.We are from Germany and greet the singer Ancel and Raúl.It was such a nice time,
Monika, Nicole, Eva und Regina

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B, Owner at La Rumba Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review. We always like to think that those who "discover" us will come back again and again so it warms our hearts to hear that you consider us a highlight of Cozumel. Angel and Raúl send warm regards and look forward to seeing all of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

On a hot day looked for a place outside the throng of tourists. Less than one block from the main square lies this little gem. While there is not AC, the front and back are open (patio seating in back) are open and there are ample ceiling fans. A bucket of beer was $15 and chips and guacamole was $6. There was free reliable internet. The people at the bar could not have been nicer (speaking English is not a problem). Highly recommend and will be back to try more food options.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank aw0rld2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

My friend and I went to La Rumba several times during our stay....it is our favorite. Oscar the bartender went above and beyond to make us feel at home and have a great time. Laura is a terrific salsa teacher. We loved our lesson which is offered at 9 on Friday nights. Angel is appropriately named for his amazing voice. He plays there regularly and should not be missed if you like Latin (I think Cuban) music. We had so much fun we bought T-shirts!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rumba Cozumel also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Rumba Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing