We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest at La Rumba”
Review of La Rumba Cozumel

La Rumba Cozumel
Ranked #77 of 458 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: We opened La Rumba to offer a place with true Latin flavor that is free of touristy gimmicks. We love Mexico and the culture of Latin America and aim to share that through food, drink and quality live music. A good day for us is to have a mix of clientele where locals and tourists come together in a comfortable and inviting space.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

On a hot day looked for a place outside the throng of tourists. Less than one block from the main square lies this little gem. While there is not AC, the front and back are open (patio seating in back) are open and there are ample ceiling fans. A bucket of beer was $15 and chips and guacamole was $6. There was free reliable internet. The people at the bar could not have been nicer (speaking English is not a problem). Highly recommend and will be back to try more food options.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank aw0rld2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2017

My friend and I went to La Rumba several times during our stay....it is our favorite. Oscar the bartender went above and beyond to make us feel at home and have a great time. Laura is a terrific salsa teacher. We loved our lesson which is offered at 9 on Friday nights. Angel is appropriately named for his amazing voice. He plays there regularly and should not be missed if you like Latin (I think Cuban) music. We had so much fun we bought T-shirts!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

We stopped for lunch on a Friday. It was slow....no one else in the place. Too bad for them! We had great service and wonderful food. Ordered the daily ceviche and fried avocado; chicken & pork tacos, quesadillas for the kids, big pitcher of margaritas. Everything was hot, fresh and tasty. They used real juice in the margaritas, not the fake mix that is too sweet. They were so yummy we had another pitcher! Got to chat with one of the owners, then we got a little music from he and his partner. Can't beat this stop...off the main square and so worth it!!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wineguy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017

If you want to experience real Cuban music, this is the bar for you! We’ve been there twice and will be back several more times this trip. Marco is a world-class bartender and makes the best mojito anywhere. He takes serious pride in his creations. Jesus is the owner and his 3 piece band plays Cuban salsa most nights. He also does original pieces he wrote that are excellent. For a small place the acoustics are good and we could carry on conversations while the music played. Easy to find just off the east end of the square. We love this place to meet up with friends and for the general ambiance. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Enjoy a little bit of Havana in this wonderful small lounge/restaurant of the main plaza in San Miguel. We have been several times over the past two years and have been treated to great music and good appetizers and great cubanas. Jesus has been most accommodating and when given advance notice of a party of eight or ten will put together his full band. It is my understanding that most evenings the music is hit or miss. We have been there twice when Jesus has managed to perform with a full band as well as an intermission that includes a most professional salsa lesson. Good fun, good food and great vibes.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flyeroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rumba Cozumel also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Rumba Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing