We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive getaway spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Alcatraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Alcatraces
Ranked #4 of 30 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Dive getaway spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This makes about 15 returns to Cozumel for me, but the first time at Los Alcatraces. If you are looking for a "full service" resort with restaurants on site and ability to book spa visits, don't book here. It is a simple getaway bed and breakfast, but that isn't a bad thing. If you are a traveller who enjoys the adventure of "figuring out" where to go eat, interacting with the entire downtown area, exploring a little on foot, all while enjoying a stellar room rate, take a hard look at Los Alcatraces. I stayed for a 10 day dive trip (traveling alone) and it was a perfect getaway. Quiet, relaxed, with a small comfortable pool, a big rinse tank for dive gear (and I had a lot of it). This place is perfect for divers or couples. Greg and Silvia are great hosts, and offer good advice on some places to eat. The rooms are above par for similar B&B setups in Cozumel, and it is evident that the owners take pride in their property and providing quality rooms/service.

PROS: morning coffee and pastry, cleanliness of room, cozy feel, and value for dedicated dive trips.

CONS: for light sleepers like me, it will take a couple nights to adjust to downtown noises, parrots, geckos chirping at night, etc. (but this is no fault of facility, just me being a light sleeper in new environment). Wireless has a weak signal which is perfect for getaways but may hamper business travelers needing strong connections. Silvia was ready to "hard line" a laptop if needed.

I will be returning on future dive trips. Perfect for hardcore "dive every day" divers that don't need the amenities of a resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
83
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We've stayed in every imaginable type of resort on Cozumel and this was by up there with the best! Our new 'favorite'. It was quiet and relaxing, but still offered close proximity to all the things we were interested in - naming Diving, eating, and entertainment. Greg and Silva are wonderful host, and rosita and blanco (dog and cat) were great 'stand in's when we missed our own pets! Breakfast was fresh, healhty and always on time so we could make the morning dives. The room is spacious and immaculately clean, bright and airy. the neighborhood is very safe and walking distance to stores, movie theater, and downtown. We rented scooters for the 3 weeks we stayed and were able to park them inside the locked gates which was very nice. The garden patio was quiet,.. a nice change over the resorts and all inclusive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easy2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This trip was our first winter vacation, and I can't imagine a better place to stay. Silvia and Greg were perfect hosts: they gave us their undivided attention, answered our questions and gave good advice, and also gave us introverts the space and privacy we needed for a much-needed, soul-restoring vacation. We felt very safe walking the streets at night; everyone we met had a kind smile for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallgrassss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Greg and Silvia are wonderful hosts. We were in Cozumel for 9 days. We spent our first 3 nights at Bahia Suites. Then, 3 nights with another couple at the Cozumel Hotel and Resort (all inclusive). We spent our final 3 nights at Los Alcatraces.

The bed was very comfortable and our room was very nicely decorated. Greg and Silvia had great recommendations and advice for enjoying Cozumel. They were very accommodating; letting us drop off our bags early when we arrived and preparing our breakfast extra early due to our morning flight.

For our next visit, we will stay the entire trip at Los Alcatraces. My other lesson learned is that we would have taken the airport shuttle straight to Isis Car Rentals to rent a cheap island rental car. Email Isis ahead of time to get the lower internet rate. A rental is great because the taxis can be a little expensive if you go from town to the beaches. We could park on the street right in front of Los Alcatraces.

Finally, Los Alcatraces is very close to everything in town. It is a short walk to the city center and many great restaurants. We were not sure what to expect since it was our first time in Mexico, but we felt very safe the entire trip. Everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Cozumel at Greg and Silvia's B&B. Greg, Silvia, Rosita and Blanco (dog and cat) were there to greet us under the rain at our arrival, with a big smile. The room is very cozy, spacious, nicely decorated, immaculately clean. You can also enjoy a nice little garden and pool. It really feels like home.
Breakfast was tasty with fresh fruit and fresh bakery everyday. Greg will make sure you have the best choice from the local bakery every single morning.
We were able to hang up our diving equipment, which we very much appreciated.
Greg and Silvia were very helpful with directions around the island, advising on places to see or restaurants to go.
They are great hosts that enjoy taking care of their guests, being also very respectful of their privacy.

I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who would like to have a wonderful time in Cozumel.

Again and again, thank you for everything!!!
Pilar and Philipp

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pilargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a wonderful B&B! Greg and Silvia were warm, friendly, and helpful. The room was immaculately clean and the breakfast was tasty and fresh. They gave us good tips for seeing the island and in general were very nice. The location is central and it is an easy walk anywhere in town. We were there over NYE and they were there to meet us when we arrived. They also gave us detailed instructions from the airport in Cancun and Cozumel. The room is spacious, nicely decorated, and comfortable. We could have not been more pleased. A great value and our favorite hotel on our 10 day trip to the Yucatan. Highly Recommended!!

Thanks!
Sean and Rebecca

P.S. the local restaurant, literally a block away, that Silvia suggested "Nopales" was one of the top 2 meals we had on the entire trip! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pian0player1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a 6 night stay for New Years, when our cab pulled up to the house Greg and Rosa ( their dog ) were there to greet us....we met Silvia a little later and they are both very nice and accommodating . The place is very cozy and the location is within walking distance of most places in town. We had a great stay, breakfast every morning was very good. Rosa ( Rosita ) and Blanca the cat make it seem like home, Rosa even slept over a couple of times. Greg and Silvia were very informative about the island and offered suggestions on places to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#1 of 30 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Alcatraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Alcatraces

Property: Los Alcatraces
Address: 799 25 Avenida | Between Streets 7 & 11, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beaches, stunning sunsets, and beautiful blue waters. All are on vibrant display at our tropical guest house at Los Alcatraces on Cozumel, Mexico’s largest Caribbean island. Perfect for a romantic getaway, our accommodations give you the privacy and safety of your own place, plus the convenience of having knowledgeable hosts on-site. Structured like a small boutique Hotel, each of our two en-suite bedrooms have their own private entrance. Guests share the pool, garden, and covered patio. HOTEL QUALITY WITH THE COMFORTS OF HOME The bedroom features a queen-sized bed with butter soft, 1000-thread count Egyptian cotton linens you can sink into after a long day. There is plenty of closet space for you to store your belongings as well as a locked safe for your more precious items. For an extra jolt in the morning, brew a fresh cup of organic coffee from Chiapas in the comfort of your own room. The en-suite bathroom is stocked with toiletries and towels so you don’t need to worry about taking up space in your suitcase! THE GREAT OUTDOORS...AND WE MEAN GREAT! Our relaxing garden is the perfect backdrop to start your day, watching hummingbirds whilst you sip your morning coffee. Since the average daily temperature in Cozumel is 75°F (24°C) or higher year-round, you’ll want to take a dip in our refreshing pool to cool down. We also have lounge chairs for you to work on your tan, too. If you would rather explore the Technicolor coral reefs in the Caribbean, we also have a rinse tank and clothesline to wash and dry your scuba gear after a busy day of diving. THE REAL COZUMEL Our guest house is located within walking distance of the town center. We’re just far enough away from all of the tourists to give you a taste of the real Cozumel. You can mingle with the locals at nearby markets and enjoy authentic cuisine. Cozumel is a scuba diver’s paradise! The island offers an array of beaches (many of the “iron-shore” variety), each teeming with intricate coral reefs and endless sightings of beautiful marine life. If you’re looking for a more relaxing experience on the beach, head over to a Beach Club. For a small fee, you can rent a lounge chair and unwind under the shade of a thatched roof. Whether you’re coming to get away from the hustle and bustle of your everyday life, or to explore the beauty Cozumel has to offer, we are here to assist you every step of the way. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing