We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mexican Seafood, Authentic Cozumel hangout for the locals.”
Review of El Coctelito

El Coctelito
Ranked #97 of 369 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Coctelito the favorite place from locals. Our menu is based in seafood and some variety for those who don't eat them. We have a complete bar wuth the best beverages, free WiFi, kids zone, and an amazing ocean view, where we can look the most beautiful sunsets. A place with different promotions thinking in our locals and visitors. Please, come and prove why we are the favorite place!
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Seafood, Authentic Cozumel hangout for the locals.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Asked a waiter at Paradise Beach in Cozumel a good place to have good seafood away from the tourist traps. Thank you Amigo, as good as advertised this place is great! Six of us went and all ordered different dishes, everyone left with a smile on their face! The staff is very friendly and the service was very good! And once again the food outstanding, we will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank couplehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    67
    28
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I visited Cozumel in March 2014. We stayed at an Inn around the corner from El Coctelito and frequented this restaurant on several occasions throughout our stay.
The atmosphere is very airy, casual and inviting - to both locals and tourists. The menu items are fresh, appetizing and very filling. Drinks are also delicious and prepared-to-order.
The staff took the time to get to know us and greeted us as if we were family even on our second visit.
We stopped in for dinner, drinks and sometimes as a refreshing end to a wonderful day in Cozumel. We were never disappointed.
Don't be a stranger to El Coctelito but get there early, as they close around 7:30 p.m. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good restaurant in Corpus Christy. The food is fresh and the service is outstanding. You will most likely find locals enjoying the food here. The seafood soup is outstanding and if you have a large group, do not hesitate to order the large family platter. I know the food is fresh because I saw a friend's cousin come in with the catch of the day..... I keep returning to this great place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MHBSoDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Good!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I concur with the other comments... tucked away gem, the Real Mexico.

This was a challenge to find. Locals were there too, which is a good sign.

They had this seafood soup which is their specialty. I think I talked about that soup for hours, no days. It was so delicious! It had seafood "parts" in it, a crab leg, an octopus part and shrimp. The menu said it also had jam but figured out they meant ham.

I had ceviche which was also good but not as fabulous as this soup.

They have this cute little play area for the little ones that the local ninos seemed to love and it was fun to be part of the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelleann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Locals recommend but not so good”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We don't like fried food and I think this is what they specialize in. Our grilled fresh fish had a weird taste. Maybe it was the oil they used, but it definitely detracted from the fish. For $42 we had two fish entrees, guac, and a few drinks. You can get the same food at the best places here for 10 more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scrapman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coctelito also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Coctelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing