We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and Clean, excellent staff”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Cozumel and the stay at Casita de Maya was perfect. The Hotel was very clean and well taken care of as well the staff very attentive to our needs. They are all locals including "Dan" who was most helpful.

We would highly recommend this place for any of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-Love-to-travel063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 336 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2010

We experienced attentive and impecable service while we stayed at Casita de Maya. It is truly a gem in Cozumel. We were greeted at the hotel by Dan, who immediately gave us a tour of the cozy place and then let us have some time to get settled in and cleaned up. Our room was spacious and very clean. The room and guest space was thoroughly cleaned daily.
After we got settled in, Dan brought us around the corner to Diego's taco stand. We were treated like royalty at Diego's. The experience itself would bring us back to eat there, and the food matched the hospitality. Incredible. Diego, and his wife Nidia prepare fresh, and delicious food. We ate there every single day, sometimes more than once. They welcomed us into the culture and helped us feel right at home. We even got invited to celebrate their daughter's birthday.
When we wanted to see the island, Dan was very helpful in setting us up with the right people to have an amazing experience. We rented a car for a few days and got to visit many gorgeous beaches. With the help of Erik, Diego's son, who also works for Dan, we went snorkeling and got to experience the "local's" Cozumel. We also wanted to go on a trip to see Ruins and Dan made sure we were connected with the right group for a memorable excursion.
We were able to really forget about home being at Casita de Maya. We are already looking forward to when we can return. Dan was the perfect balance of being there when we needed him and giving us space to enjoy our vacation.
If you are going to Cozumel, your only consideration should be Casita de Maya, and you must eat at Diego's for unmatched local cuisine.
If you are looking for a relaxed, getaway with one of a kind service, Casita de Maya is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This little four room hotel is more like a home, the lobby like a living room and the staff like friends. It is not too close for comfort it just feels really welcoming. The rooms are nice, really clean and the center outdoor courtyard/pool is perfect. The value is all there too.

My favorite thing about Casita De Maya is Diego's Taco Shop. Dan, the owner of Casita will most likely walk you to Diego's, it is a half block away. Diego is great! He and his family run the outdoor, plane Jane taco shop, but the food has a simple elegance I was looking for everywhere in Mexico. Good ingredients used to make great food.

Diego is also a great tour guide, he asked me what I had planned for the following day and I told him 'I want to see Cozumel and snorkel a bit. ' I had no idea how well this was going to work out for me. The next day I met Diego at the Taco shop and I jumped into his little car, he only asked for gas money. We had beers, I snorkeled, we went to some local bar and had lunch the whole time just kicking it with Diego. I ended up giving him 200 pesos for gas, bought a few beers and gave him $20 US for his time. After a four hour tour from an 11 year resident of Cozumel in his car, speaking broken english and having a lot of fun I couldn't recommend a better way to do Cozumel. If you are laid back and willing to step out the the tourist mind frame, introduce yourself to this family man, business owner, cook, smooth talker, local official and unofficial tour guide you won't be sorry.

If you take a taxi from the ferry don't pay more than 70 peso's and ask them to take you to the airport. This will get you to Airport Way and 65th the fastest. I tried to save some cash and walk but the side walk ends about a half mile before you get there, so buck up and take the cab.

If you're coming in from the airport, just walk across the street and you're there.

Can't wait to come back!
SPOSeattle

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Dan has a great little place to relax and just get away from every day life. He's got a great staff in Jolie and Wilbur that attend to every need. It's really convienent, you don't have to put up with the hussle at the airport with everyone trying to sell their crap. You just walk accross the street to his casa. No, the aircraft noise doesn't bother you being close to the airport. We rarely heard any planes and never at night. The car rental is right next door if you don't care to use cab service. We've stayed ther many times and have never experienced a disappointment. Many thanks Dan for great times....Al Dooley

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tadools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Casita de Maya met and exceeded my expectations. As soon as we arrived, Jolie gave us cold bottled water and Dan shared a couple of beers with us! Talk about a great welcome!

One thing a lady always looks at is the bathroom. It is spacious, clean, and has enough ventilation (has a ceiling fan too! which I now completely understand why it is needed! it is hot!) The water pressure is good. I loved to plunge in the pool after a day at the beach.

Dan made us feel very welcome and introduced us around. Everyone was great including Trixie and his cat (oh i forgot her name)!! Love her! Trixie has a new bff Chikis. They walk with us when we go over to Diego's to eat.

Dan also helped us get pesos at the atm machine. Oh, make sure you call your bank to let them know that you are in MX. We didn't, so we ended up getting less pesos out! Next time we know!

Casita de Maya is a great boutique hotel. Call it local immersion. If you are the all-inclusive type wanting a buffet, look away. This place is for people who want to be around the locals. We rented a car with Thrifty Rental for 2 days and drove around the island and went grocery shopping. The 5 days we stayed isn't enough (our Itinerary - Temazcal Steam bath, Beach, Snorkeling, Fishing and Island Hopping). We weren't able to go see the Mayan Ruins... which means RETURN TRIP!!!

After the fishing trip (which was on the day before we leave), we were so honored to be able to have a sit down meal with Dan and Diego. We weren't just visitors. We were considered family.

Thank you Casita de Maya and see you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying in this charming little inn. Usually when we arrive in Cozumel our first hour is spent sitting in the hot van that most people are forced to ride in as they are shuttled around to the various hotels on the island. This is a most unpleasant way to start your trip. Casita De Maya is a 5 minute walk from the airport and Dan the owner had us checked in to a beautiful room within moments. Just walking in to this lovely hotel you feel your stress melt away. With its muted colors, plants and décor one just feels a sense of well being. From then on the owner took care of our every need. There are wonderful restaurants just a short walk away. I have stayed in the large resort hotels in the past but with a stay at Casita De Maya you get much more of the true flavor of the island. I highly recommend staying here and will stay here again whenever I return to the island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A very relaxing place to be! You don´t hear the airplanes, great! The swimmingpool is very good at the end of the day, with a Sol beer in the hand looking at the stars! We have a kingsize bed, and it sleep very well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHKooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
508 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 52 in Cozumel
390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $57 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing