We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recession Buster! Fantastic Hotel at an Excellent Rate”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2008

As you can see the brand hotels in Cozumel are pretty expensive. In my opinion they're a rip off. I stayed at Casita de Maya and got a great room for a reasonable rate. Free coffee, water, internet, cable etc. All included.

This hotel has friendly management and represents excellent value. When the economy up north is struggling this hotel is a recession buster! Stay a week here instead of 2-3 nights at a brand name hotel.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank RTWTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Casita de Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 335 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2008

We only had 3 days in Cozumel, but managed to do a lot in that short time without becoming exhausted ! Dan, the owner, helped us rent a car for a day (highly recommended and cheap!) and we drove all the way around the island. We stopped for an hour alongside a ranch for horseback riding through the jungle. (we didn't need a reservation). Do not do the Horse carriage rides they give outside the ferry, they mistreat the horses. This hotel is not right on a beach, but there are so many within a short taxi ride away. If you want to stay away from the all inclusive hotels and stay at a more intimate place with many tips from Dan, this is the place to go. He helped us book scuba diving, restaurant recommendations, renting a car, and any other info we needed. Because we didn't have enough time we didn't do parasailing, but that can also be booked at the hotel. We ate at some great authentic mexican restaurants and had a wonderful time !! Thanks Dan!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harvestmoon6002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

If you want to see the real Cozumel, all you have to do is walk across the street from the airport to Casita de Maya. "Island Dan" knows the island better than anyone. I consider myself a very lucky man to have become his friend during our stay at Casita de Maya. Our month long stay there exceeded any expectations that we had. Lastly, the most important thing is we have secured a bonding friendship that will last a lifetime. My wife and I miss everyone at the hotel and hope to return soon.

Mike and Shari

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I stayed at the Casita de Maya during a ten-day "working vacation" in Cozumel.

I'm a writer-photographer, and I specialize in SCUBA travel. This is what I looked for -- and got -- when I booked at the Casita de Maya: I wanted to stay in a quiet Cozumel hotel where I could retreat after each days' work to write and process my digital photos on my laptop. I wanted a broadband internet connection in my room so I could keep in continuous touch with my family, my business contacts on Cozumel and my business back home via VOIP phone, voicemail, email, and instant and text messaging. I wanted a location that was away from the hustle and bustle of the noisy cruise ship crowds. I needed instant access to my rental car with no parking hassles. I had to be able to jump in the car and go. I needed a host who was sensitive to my need to get business done, but also sensitive to the vacation part of my "working vacation." I needed a host who knew when to pay attention to me, and when to leave me alone.

Casita de Maya exceeded all my expectations. The owner, Dan, was a gracious and helpful host. He put a desk, chair and lamp in my room so I could work comfortably. He pointed out a cafe around the corner where I could get great and inexpensive meals in a hurry at odd hours -- even at six in the morning. Dan was friendly yet discreet. He knew when to be there, and when to disappear. When I had a problem or challenge with my work, Dan was Johnny-on-the-spot with appropriate suggestions. So was co-owner Mike. They make a great team.

The small pool in the courtyard was a nice touch. After a day's work broiling in the sun, grab an ice-cold one from the mini fridge in your room, take ten steps to the pool, hop in, cool off and REE-lax.

Life was good at the Casita de Maya. Whether you're in Cozumel for work or play -- or a little of both -- Casita de Maya is a great little place to call home.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank robcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at Casita de Maya two years ago for our honeymoon and we still dream of returning! The location is convenient, being just down the road from the airport. Before arriving, we were concerned about possible airport noise, but it was never an issue. The hotel was absolutely serene. Dan, the owner, was wonderful! His hospitality is incomparable. The dogs are a very charming touch. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank egmar1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casita de Maya for 10 days. It was nice and quiet, the pool was great and even though you could walk from the airport you couldn't really hear the planes.

Dan was really great and helped a lot with renting a car, telling us good places to go around the island and he even ordered me take-out and went to the pharmacy when I wasn't feeling well.

There are four rooms that you can book, and I think it would be the perfect place to go in a group where you can have the whole place to yourself. For the first week, there wasn't anyone else there, but for the last couple of days the 2 other rooms were booked and I could hear them in the mornings as they woke up early.

I would definitely stay again, but I would try to book the whole place and then it would be like my very own resort.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vay_Cay_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My sister and I and our two daughters stayed at Casita de Maya from March 22nd to March 30th. We walked from the airport to the hotel and were greeted by Dan when we arrived. Dan is the greatest. He knows the island inside and out and gives great advise on everything. He organized parasailing for us plus a jeep excursion. Once we turned in our rental car he would call a cab for us anytime we needed one. He definately goes above and beyond to make your Cozumel experience a good one. Our mantra was "Ask Dan" the whole week we were there. Everything he suggested worked out great. I read all of the reviews before booking and now that I've stayed there I can easily say all of the reviews are dead-on. The hotel is clean, thanks Jolie, and very comfortable beds, bedding and towels. Great air conditioning plus a fan and nice hot showers. We rented the Queen room and the adjoining twin room. We basically used the rooms to sleep and shower and the rest of the time we were exploring the island. Mid week we were very tired and Dan suggested we order in pizza. It was a great idea. We didn't even think they would have pizza delivery in Cozumel. We walked around the surrounding neighborhood and had fun going to the little store to buy soda and snacks. We hope to visit Cozumel again. If we do, we will definately stay at Casita de Maya.
Thanks Dan!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lookinforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
504 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $52 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing