We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

If your looking to have an different experience than the usual all inclusive resort this is the place. The staff Dan, Daniel, and Jolie are excellent and are willing to help you out in any way. Anything from where to eat, renting a car or what beaches to go to. The rooms are clean, comfortable, stylish and the showers are big with lots of water pressure. You can even walk there from the airport in minutes and you rarely hear a plane. Everything you need is within a few minute walk from the front door of the place. Try a hot dog around the corner but be sure to get a whole rotisserie chicken (they're the best I've ever had). Overall our recent stay here was outstanding and we're already planning our return trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bmillz2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
186
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown Township
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel and would love to try to keep it a secret from the rest of the world! The owner Dan, chef Daniel, and housekeeper Jolie were exceptional people who went out of their way to make our stay a great experience. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. We could order breakfast or dinner with Daniel for whatever time worked for us, and the food was great! From a wonderful fruit plate to our two-lobster tail dinner, it was all fantastic. It was personally served to us by Daniel who was always smiling and exchanging pleasantries. Dan not only was a wealth of local information, helped us get around, and even worked with customs to help try and solve a problem we had. Thanks Dan!

We cannot wait to return and truly relax, see our new friends again, and discover the parts of Cozumel we missed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

From the time we arrived everything was wonderful. This is a beautiful boutique hotel that had four rooms, but a fifth room was being finished while we were there and is now available. Dan and Daniel were both very helpful with anything we needed.

It was very convenient to walk there from the airport. We really enjoyed the meals that Daniel made for us. What a treat to open your room door and have breakfast served.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the king room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is my second visit to Casita de Maya and this was even better than the first! My husband (his first trip) and I spent 9 days at this boutique hotel and enjoyed every moment – from the comfortable room, to the gracious and hospitable staff, and of course the delightful dining, our stay was splendid!
Dan is certainly more than accommodating, we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the hotel’s ambiance as well as the excitement and adventure of experiencing what Cozumel has to offer. Dan directed us to amazing cuisine, snorkeling, touring the island, Tequila tasting, and even a forest of fire flies (not even a block from the hotel!), just to name a few. With a vast knowledge of the area, history, services and people – he helped us rent a car, organize snorkel tours, and direct us to an amazing array of food – with must visit restaurants – Casita de Maya’s own Daniel, La Perlita, Parrilla Mission, Diego’s Tacos, The Sunset Bar and Grill (on the beach) and El Morrow (a shout out for El Morrow’s Mango Ice Cream – simply divine) – all of which are within walking distance.
We took advantage of the convenience of the delicious meals Daniel provided and the gentle way he tried (very patiently) to teach Spanish! Not only are the rooms spacious and beautiful, they are kept amazingly clean and thoroughly stocked by Jolie. Trixie, the resident watch dog and her able assistant Chuck the cat, were there and willing to accept all affection offered, just to make us not miss our 4 legged children quite as much.
Included in the highlights of our stay - getting to know Dan and his staff as well as the other guests that were there during our stay, sitting on the sidewalk, watching the island life go by was simply magnificent and oh so breezy. The people of this island are warm, inviting and so inspiring.
My husband is already making plans for our next trip to this paradise! Until next time…….

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WandooIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My friend and I stayed here on our last night of vacation before our flight out the next morning so we could have a full day at the resort. We emailed Dan late in the evening from our resort letting him know we would be checking in late and he emailed right back. We arrived around 9:30pm where we were met by Dan and he showed us around. We stayed in the 2nd room on the right with the twin beds and they were very comfortable. I loved the feel of this hotel! We walked around the corner to a store and had the best pulled pork tacos with Habanero peppers before we walked to the airport for our flight.
Next time we will fly down a day early to stay here. It is across the street from the airport and easy to pull your luggage on the sidewalks. We'll see you next time Dan! Thanks for your hospitality!
I'll be sure to let my flight crew buddies know about your place.

Room Tip: All are quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeepinmudgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Dan has done a marvelous job of creating a comfortable atmosphere conveniently located to the airport. We walked next door for a rental car. We parked right outside on the street for free. We hopped in and drove completely around the island twice in two days, stopping for the beaches, the swimming and the views along the way. After our busy days, we walked five blocks to "La Perlita" for a very reasonably priced dinner. The best fresh fish we've had in a very long time! The proximity to the airport was NOT an issue and on our last day, we walked across the street, checked our bags early, came back to relax by the pool until it was time to leave. Thanks Dan and staff! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

After coming to Casita de Maya from a few days at an all-inclusive, my girlfriend and I felt like we were stepping into our relative’s house. With only a handful of rooms all leading out to the beautiful pool and courtyard, Casita de Maya is a hidden gem tucked away on a quiet residential street by the Cozumel airport. Dan was extremely helpful pointing us in the direction of all sorts of adventure, and the room was tastefully decorated with many unique features that gave us lots of ideas on what our dream Master bedroom could look like one day. I won’t go on for too long, as many others have posted on Trip Advisor discussing Casita de Maya, but in short, the high rating given to Casita de Maya is justified, staying at there is a absolute treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorquinn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
498 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Property: Casita de Maya
Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing