We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great host, great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great host, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Dan has done a marvelous job of creating a comfortable atmosphere conveniently located to the airport. We walked next door for a rental car. We parked right outside on the street for free. We hopped in and drove completely around the island twice in two days, stopping for the beaches, the swimming and the views along the way. After our busy days, we walked five blocks to "La Perlita" for a very reasonably priced dinner. The best fresh fish we've had in a very long time! The proximity to the airport was NOT an issue and on our last day, we walked across the street, checked our bags early, came back to relax by the pool until it was time to leave. Thanks Dan and staff! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
182
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

After coming to Casita de Maya from a few days at an all-inclusive, my girlfriend and I felt like we were stepping into our relative’s house. With only a handful of rooms all leading out to the beautiful pool and courtyard, Casita de Maya is a hidden gem tucked away on a quiet residential street by the Cozumel airport. Dan was extremely helpful pointing us in the direction of all sorts of adventure, and the room was tastefully decorated with many unique features that gave us lots of ideas on what our dream Master bedroom could look like one day. I won’t go on for too long, as many others have posted on Trip Advisor discussing Casita de Maya, but in short, the high rating given to Casita de Maya is justified, staying at there is a absolute treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorquinn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wow....what can I say that has not already been said in the previous posts. Dan is for sure the consummate host and we felt as if we were visiting a friend not staying at an impersonal hotel. Dan was so helpful with all of his information he made our whole stay on Cozumel an amazing experience.
We too loved Daniel....we felt so special having him cook for us...and does he cook! His meals were just wonderful....delivered from his home on his motorbike and still hot! His service was above and beyond. And all at a reasonable price.
This little gem of a hotel is one of the nicest places we have stayed and we travel a lot....you won't go wrong to pick this boutique hotel to stay at the next time you are in Cozumel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank map2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Neighborhood was safe and authentically Mexican, not touristy- we loved it. Great host and cook, there for our Every need. Clean, pretty rooms and small, pristine fresh water pool. A home away from home. More opportunity to really learn about the real Cozumel. Reasonable prices made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul mn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

That phrase is one of owner Dan's favorite. There are many reasons to love Casita de Maya, but Dan is number one. Dan is a caring, generous, intelligent man with a great sense of humor. He will help you with anything. He walked with is to stores in town, helped us rent a car, upgraded us to the king room at no charge for six nights because it was empty, told us the best ATM to use to get pesos (a short walk to the airport), set us up with a reputable, safe dive shop (Deep Blue), gave us sunscreen when we ran out,...... the list is endless. I consider Dan a good friend. It really is like staying at a friends place.
Daniel, who lives nearby, comes every morning, puts the coffee on and will cook breakfast for any guests who want it. He will also come back and make dinner if anyone wants it. A great cook, I enjoyed him even more for the chats in Spanish every morning. I would get up before anyone else, grab a coffee and practice my espanol with him, all the while laughing at his 'bromas' (jokes). I miss him already.
Jolie ( sorry if it's miss-spelled ) cleans the rooms and also is very helpful. She called us a taxi one day when Dan was busy with other guests.
The Casita is charming and comfortable. A new room is opening very soon up on the roof, with a cool bar area up there as well.
We actually enjoyed the location of the Casita. Airport noise is not a factor. The airport is tiny. We walked through town a lot and it's very safe. The people there are friendly and welcoming. And no matter where you stay in Cozumel, the only way to see the sights is either rent a car or take cabs. They have both covered at Casita de Maya. They call a cab for you and it's there in five minutes, and a good price on a car rental is right next door. It's all good!
Thanks again to Dan, Daniel and Jolie for a wonderful 10 days in Cozumel at Casita de Maya! No adios, solamente hasta pronto!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StPaulMnBeachbum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
227 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

It is difficult to say anything bad about Casita de Maya. We arrived on foot (it's a very short walk from the airport) and forgot to get cash from the ATM machine. The owner Dan walked back to the airport with me to assist with the ATM machine - what a great host! With every turn, Dan went out of his way and assisted us with restaurant recommendations, getting a rental car, driving us in our rental to show us the way to easily get around to the other side of the island, and suggesting places to stop along the way. He is without a doubt dedicated to his customers!

And his chef Daniel - what an incredible gentleman and accomplished cook! He tried to teach me Spanish in order make me feel more comfortable with the language. I was grateful to him for many things he did during our stay. We usually gave him notice about what we wanted for breakfast and/or dinner - and each meal he prepared was delicious. One meal however we did not give him notice at all and yet he managed to serve us a delicious meal anyway. His drinks were wonderful ... I even started making margaritas at home with the excellent tequila he purchased for us. He offered to buy Tequila for us at better prices than the duty free shop at the airport.

One recommendation I would make to is replace some of the pool side furniture (although they functioned quite well). Some of it is a little outdated in style and the chairs are worn and faded, maybe from the hot sun. Other than that small improvement, Casita De Maya is a great place to stay and very reasonable in price. Like I said - it felt like a home away from home!

Room Tip: The king size room at the end of the hotel is lovely! There are two more rooms under construction ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel33871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Casita de Maya is a sweet and characterful little place to stay - it's more like staying in someone's home than a hotel, in a good way! Dan, the owner, takes great care over all the little details that make for a comfortable stay - and couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier, giving us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and places of interest. We're very grateful to have met Dan and stayed in the Casita de Maya.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
5.3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Property: Casita de Maya
Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing