We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casita de maya live”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casita de maya live”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hola all, arrived here to paradise yesterday after flying all night from Seattle.Breezed right through customs and was off to my home away from home Casita de Maya. Greeted with a beer and a water and immediately jumped into the pool.Oh that felt so good.Threw our stuff into the room and off to Playa Azul Beach. Couple of margaritas,some guacamole and man I really felt like I am on vacation now.Back to the Casita de Maya to relax after the all night trip as we were pretty tired by now.Something new at the Casita now is the incredible food they now have to offer.Daniel cooked us some of the best food I have had and eating it outdoors in the courtyard is as romantic as it gets.Like I said the food was spectacular.Off to my Casita for a great night of sleep. I will try to update daily so if you have any questions I will try to answer.Adios Amigos

Room Tip: The king room is awesome because you have your own outdoor palapa. All the rooms are comfortable ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rksimmseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
186
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at Casita always feels cozy, mainly because the staff are very attentive. It is super clean and the staff are there for anything we need. Daniel is there to prepare some awesome food just like the best panuchos made by his wife! And even learned some Mayan words! We left a leather jacket behind and Dan (the owner) was so awesome he was willing to inquire about the best way to ship it to us =) We had a scooter so the location is not a bother - This is our spot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ana6517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago land area
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great way to put the outside world out of your mind Tranquility! Dan(Hefe) and Daniel(First Mate) are the perfect host. Cant wait to try the roof top bar .Not your typical tourist destination, but first class. Ask Daniel to cook a romatic meal tableside!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LilMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Casita de Maya is very close to the airport which makes it close to everything in town. The airport is very small and there are few daily flights so airport noise isn't an issue. Dan the owner and the property manager Daniel were great, they took a lot of care to make sure we had a nice stay.

There were a couple of unexpected but nice touches: They buy 5 gallon bottles of purified water and make it available in the lobby so you can just refill you own bottle. That was a nice change after throwing away dozens of empty plastic bottles during the previous week staying in Merida. They have a Voice Over IP phone in the lobby so you can call the U.S. for free. They also use rechargeable batteries in the remotes which helps cut down on waste.

The location as found on Google Maps wasn't right, so here are the coordinates: N20 30.578 W86 55.891

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank PO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I hate to just repeat all the glowing remarks of everyone else, so I thought I'd write a few tips for staying at Casita de Maya.

I didn't know there was a fridge and microwave. (I'm sure someone mentioned it, but I didn't take note.) So you can make simple meals yourself. They have two plates and we bought a couple of plastic tumblers (I feared dropping the glass ones on the tile floor.) Bring silverware and a roll of paper towels and you'll be set. (A small tupperware and miniature ice cube tray might be handy, too.)

I wished I'd brought my slippers. The tile floor (spotless, by the way) is cool even in the heat.

We recommend having Daniel (the manager? don't know his title) make you a few meals during your stay (which won't be long enough.) It is so fun to see him zip off on his motorbike to go whip up your food. The food is good and his company can't be beat. He really is a wonderful, gracious guy. And he makes rock-solid coffee in the morning. We could smell it from our room. Great way to wake up.
(...and makes sure to have one of Daniel's margaritas. Top notch.)

Dan the owner provides drinking water in the courtyard. This is so nice and saved us wasting a zillion plastic water bottles. So simple and so appreciated.

There is a VOiP phone in the courtyard you can use anytime to call the states. The cost is included in your stay. (See why this place is so cool?)

In the morning and evening there can be mosquitoes in the courtyard. Daniel keeps a spray can of OFF at the bar. You're free to use it.

If you don't own any, rent your snorkel gear from Dan. It's only $5 a day. We loved having it handy when we were driving around. If you see something interesting, just pull of the road and you're ready to go. He also had coolers you could use for picnics, but we brought our own soft-sided one.

Dan was in the process of building a roof top bar. It's coming along. I hope to get to see it when it's finished.

The place is the most social guest house we've ever encountered. Everyone was friendly and chatty (but not too chatty :) and we ended up going out with folks a couple of times. Jump right in and introduce yourself.

I'm jealous of anyone reading this preparing for their next trip. Have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at Casita de Maya was the most wonderful hotel experience we have ever had…period. Over the years, we have stayed at dozens of luxury resorts, but none even come close to comparing to the intimate, personalized service we experienced during our stay. Initially we were a little hesitant booking a hotel so close to the airport and that was not directly on the beach, but what we found from our week long stay was that being away from the tourist filled all-inclusive resorts and hotels allowed us to truly experience Cozumel. Dan, the owner, attended personally to our every need. Whether it was walking with us to show us where the closest ATM was located, recommending and arranging excursions for our family, or educating us on the local language and customs, Dan was always available and eager to help us in any way we needed. Daniel, the Chef and property manager, was equally attentive to our every need. Daniel met with us each day to determine what, if anything, we wanted him to prepare for us that day. Of course we took advantage of his expertise and cooking talents and as a result enjoyed the most amazing, authentic Yucatan dishes. Fresh fruits in morning, pork taco’s at lunch, and freshly caught snapper and garlic shrimp at dinner… it was all amazing.

Dan and Daniel went out of their way to make us feel like a part of the family. For example, Daniel generously had our family and the other hotel guest over to his home to celebrate a traditional Christmas Eve with his family and friends! We will never forget the kindness Daniel and his wife and children showed us as we danced the night away, celebrating with food and drinks, while watching my daughter and the other children break open the Christmas piñata that hung in the street.

If you just want to see the sites in Cozumel, you can stay anywhere. If you want to actually experience Cozumel, you MUST stay at Casita de Maya. We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IssaquahSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is very close to the airport. Close enough to walk. When we arrived Dan took us to the rental car place which is right next door. After we got our rental car Dan took us around town, helped us at the gas station, and showed us the great restaurants.

In the mornings an excellent breakfast was made for us by a retired chef. A very friendly guy.

In all, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
498 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Property: Casita de Maya
Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing