We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives Up to the Reviews”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lives Up to the Reviews”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our recent visit lived up to the expectations. Very affordable with comfortable rooms at a great price. It's very clear why this place gets great reviews...Dan's customer service is some of the best I've experienced. He caters to your every need and goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome. It's a small place and while close to the airport, we really like the neighborhood feel. Anything is town is a close 5 or 10 min cab ride. Well worth it. There is no question I'll be staying at Casita de Maya on the next visit to Cozumel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
188
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days, and just like everyone else says.... the reviews are so right! Dan is super easy going, and very knowledgable about the island, Jolie keeps the rooms pristine, and Diego is right around the corner to keep your stomach full of delicious food! Everyone is very friendly, there is a common area for guests to relax and mingle if they'd like, but theres plenty of room to sit out by yourself as well if you'd like! The whole place is very well kept. And who can forget about the animals?!?!? Trixie, Chickies and Morena kept us company the whole time, and Chickies goes the extra mile, making sure you get to and from Diego's safe and sound! I can't wait to come back and stay again! If you want to see the island, and experience it outside of the tourist district than this is exactly where you should be!

Room Tip: We chose the ocean room... which was the largest there.. totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The reviews and ratings here on Tripadvisor lead us to Casita de Maya and once again the reviews were so right. We booked the Ocean room and it was large and spacious and beautifully decorated. So comfortable and kept so clean. Dan is the man! Easy going and helpful, approachable, and a real pleasure to stay with. Casita is a small bungalow setting tucked away in a residential area right across from the airport- we literally walked out and down to the round about to get checked in. Granted this not typical tourist- its for the traveler instead. We ended up needing to extend our stay and it was no problem. Dan also hooked us up with an awesome fun six-speed convertible jeep rental with his buddies at Blueway. All and all, we WILL be staying there again. See you soon Dan!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Socratic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here as a lone female traveler in Mexico almost 4 years ago now. Dan was an excellent host even taking me around the island with a friend one day as I don't drive. The hotel itself is located walking distance from the airport. It is lovely and clean and I felt completely at home there vs. being in a big enclosed resort this really gave me a great impression of Cozumel.
Thanks Dan! I will definitely be back.
Agnes

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank agneezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've been to Cozumel and the Yucatan several times, have a good idea of what to expect and available options. Casita de Mayo is something rather different. It is as others describe here, a perfect location in so many ways. My wife and I walked from the airport to the front door. You can't beat that for convenience. From there on, it was one happy surprise after another. First, the quiet. It's a relaxed little enclave. Forget about the airport. Once you're there, you will forget it ... until it's time to take that easy walk back. The rooms are clean, so well designed. Comfortable beds, quiet fans, spacious bathroom and shower. The pool is sweet. The biggest surprise came on the personal side. Dan is as helpful, interesting and engaging a man as I've ever met. He and his friends are the soul of this place. As is the local neighborhood. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Quiet, safe, and real - a real alternative to the typical tourist pace. Breakfast at Diego's just around the corner is something I'm already missing. Downtown is a not unreasonable walk, or a short taxi ride away. Two rental car agencies around the corner too. There is no downside here. Casita de Maya is truly a special place. I'd go back (I will go back) just to hang out with Dan. He is an excellent host, and his little place is truly special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

When we first arrived at Casita de Maya, we were surprised that it was further from the main part of downtown than we expected. Cozumel is much larger than we had thought and this hotel is definitely off the beaten path. What we discovered as we explored the neighborhood the first day was that it is in the heart of a native Mexican neighborhood. My kids actually spent a lot of their time playing games with the local children and practicing their Spanish which I really loved to watch. This was definitely our kind of place! While inside the hotel, we felt like we were in a tropical paradise. The decorating job is fantastic. The beds are huge and comfortable. The pool is small but clean and refreshing. The hosts are helpful and welcoming (the owner even drove us to a restaurant one night to make sure we knew where we were going!). There is wifi and free calls to the US, something not easy to find. And the island itself was a great place to visit. Too bad we weren't staying longer! A day trip to Chankanaab National Park was a highlight! The only drawback is the need to take taxis to most places(sites and downtown), but the taxis are not too expensive and there are a few restaurants and a couple of small and medium-sized markets within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean and Wind rooms and both were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cmanderson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This place was wonderful. Dan is exceptional at taking care of his guests. The rooms are very clean and have what you need. As one person said this is a place for the traveler not a tourist.
Dan saw to it that we got a rental car cheap with all the bells and whistles next door to the hotel.You are free to come and go as you please but Dan or Erik are there to give advice on where to go for exceptionable meals. It is convenient being close to the airport. The morning we left we walked our luggage over to the airport and checked in, got our boarding passes then walked back to Diego's for a wonderful breakfast. I cannot say enough about Diego's little place, the food is the best in Cozumel and we have eaten at them all,(up scale and low scale).
The only downside was the beds. Not the worst in Mexico but kinda hard, but overall well worth the experience. We have learned in Mexico things are different so you just go with the flow and enjoy all of the experience that little place has to offer.
We will definitely stay there again. Dan will take care of you or see to it that someone does.
You won't regret staying at Casita de Maya
Again thanks Dan and staff for all you did for us, we enjoyed it.

dt and Maria

Room Tip: Get the King bed, the room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Property: Casita de Maya
Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing