We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Friendly Staff!”
Review of Hotel Agave Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Agave Azul
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed January 30, 2007

I must say, my girlfriend and I were pleasantly surprised by the Palma Dorada. Julio Padilla and his staff were great, and I think we lucked out. It just seems like the Palma is on one of the best streets in Cozumel. The rooms are spartan, but clean and comfortable. If you want to sit around your room, watch TV all day and order room service, then this may not be your hotel. But if you want to head to the dive shops, explore the square, or eat at some of the best little taquerias in town, then you've come to the right place. Want to see more? Heck, ask Julio to arrange for a scooter to be delivered to the hotel for a resonable price, (and none of the haggling to bother with!). Or just hit the farmers market a few blocks up, and bring your lunch back to the Palma veranda and munch as you watch the street life go by. But don't get the wrong idea, it was also a very quiet property, and we always felt secure at night. Bonus: It's within easy walking from the Ferry terminal. We stayed 9 nights in Cozumel/Akumal, and slept in some pretty fancy places. The Palma was not fancy, but we had the best time there!



  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nevadamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Agave Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 53 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2006

We are Budget Travelers and found Palma Dorada online at a good deal. We actually spent some of our honeymoon at Palma Dorada and have no regrets! The hotel has friendly staff who are accomodating and keep the hotel and rooms spotless. We felt safe staying downtown. Ammenities include air conditioning, travel services, hot water, cable tv (including english channels), balconies, free coffee, distiled water and breakfast pastries. It is convienently located one block from Cozumel's downtown (San Miguel) town sqaure. Palma Dorada is in the heart of shopping, across the street from the best resturant in town (The Mission), near the ferry (We walked) and shore! For a budget hotel it is high in it's class!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bmohlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, Texas
15
Reviewed May 23, 2006

My friend and I stayed at the Palma Dorada for a week. We loved it! Of course, its not a resort hotel, but if you're interested in seeing the real Mexico on your trip this is the place to stay. We didn't have a TV, but we had air conditioning, a big closet, a patio and a good sized bathroom.

The hotel is right in the middle of the city, you can walk about anywhere. We spent most of our time walking around, the better shopping deals are farther away from the turist hub. You can also find great places to eat that offer real Mexican cooking and cost about $3 a person, compared to your $15 at the more "americany" restaurants. We went to a local bakery every morning and could walk to the movie theatre, shopping, bars and the hotel is a rock's throw from the main plaza and very close to the ferry.

On the weekends you can hear some commotion from the two neighboring bars but we couldn't hear them in our room. The people are great and very helpful, and the hotel has free water which was helpful since we filled up our bottles several times a day. I loved this hotel and Cozumel is definitely a great place to relax for vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Emmett, Idaho
211
Reviewed November 23, 2004

Very simple and cheap accommodations right in the heart of San Miguel. You can't beat this place for it's location, cleanliness and friendly service. We had a large suite on the 2nd level front of the inn and found it a bit too noisy from the all night disco across the street and moved to a smaller quieter room on the first level. We don't party... Anyway, it was a very nice place to stay and with our dive activities in mind, just a short block to the dock to catch our boat every day. Very close to good food, shopping and the cruise ship docks.

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2004

Small, family type hotel. You wake up and a glance at the room, you know you are in Mexico and not an airport Marriot, a plus to me. On duty staff were always very friendly and helpful. Rooms were kept clean in spite of my dive equipment hanging from the patio and various chairs. Mexican pastries and fresh coffee in the lobby area every morning. Centerally located, half a block from the ocean and just a block south of the town square, the only long walk was the supermarket. $43 for a basic room. The main minus holds for I suppose most hotels around town, proximity to all night disco. A ground floor room to the back would probably eliminate that as a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank toadfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank León A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank 555gilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#39 of 52 in Cozumel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bello Caribe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agave Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agave Azul

Address: Calle Doctor Adolfo Rosado Salas No. 44, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: $28 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Agave Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agave Azul is an affordable lodging option for people seeking a peaceful stay on the beautiful island of Cozumel. The hotel is a perfect place for getting the most out of your time in this stunning destination, offering a strategic location in the heart of the island, surrounded by restaurants, discos, cafes and a great variety of great and good restaurants, and convenient facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Agave Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Dorada Hotel
Palma Dorada Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing