We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for glorified fast food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Money Bar Beach Club

The Money Bar Beach Club
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs
Ranked #12 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an extensive and family-friendly American and Mexican menu at The Money Bar, where our tables and bar contain currency from all over the world. Located at the famous Dzul-Ha Reef, you'll enjoy breathtaking views as you dine! Cozumel's newest beach club featuring a dining area & premium bar, kids menu, wheelchair access to the entire facility, scuba & snorkel gear rental, English speaking guided snorkeling tour, on site scuba instruction, no experience required, certified scuba guided tour, glass bottom kayaks, sunfish sailboats, parasailing , massage & spa treatments, lounging deck area for sunbathing, shaded areas, sandy beaches, comfortable lounge chairs, fresh water showers/bathrooms/changing rooms, lockers, gift shops, free parking lot.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Expensive for glorified fast food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was much more expensive than the chain design your own burrito places in Canada but not any better. Maybe the seafood is better but I didn't try it so I can't comment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lpedro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    436
    123
    44
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome drinks, snorkeling - need more?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Headed out here after reading the reviews. The cruise ships bring excursions here but we'd rather take a $9 taxi and sit in a covered bar eating good food and crisp margaritas than riding a cattle car in the elements to snorkel the same water.
It was raining for the most of our day but the bar is very large and well covered from the elements while keeping you right on the beach. The service is friendly, fast and efficient. They sorta hover just outside your table, staking a claim on you from the other staff.
We had beef and chicken burritos that were great tasting and HUGE - more than enough to keep you going after time out in the water. The Cadillac margaritas are delicious and they definitely don't skimp on the tequila! Whew!
The snorkeling was great. Easy access to the water tho you might consider some water shoes or dive boots cuz the shore is rocky. Even tho it was raining some of the time, the waves and current were gentle. The water was crystal clear and quite a number of fish. The sergeant-majors would swarm around you like a cloud whenever you stopped and floated - made for great pics.
Onshore, the lockers are pretty much a joke - large but rotted out wood making a lock nothing more than a marker for which one is yours as opposed to actual security. I think we paid like $15 (?) dollars for the locker but you get $10 back when you return the key. They also have showers and the waitstaff come out to that area. We had our own gear but everything is available for rent.
Great place, good snorkeling, good food, and great margaritas!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop for cruisers - food and snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We've been to Cozumel multiple times, and we try to make it to the Money Bar each time. We know the food will be great and reasonably priced. It has complimentary WiFi to help catch up on things back home, and free access to the beach. The shoreline is pretty rocky, but with stairs leading to the ocean are easy on the feet. It made for a perfect spot to snorkel, which you can rent there as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Afternoon at Money Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I were staying in Cancun, and decided to take a day trip to Cozumel to do some snorkeling. I had a few places in mind to try, where you could just pop in the water from shore, which we found out about from my Cozumel Mapchick map, so we took a bus to Playa del Carmen and then the ferry to Cozumel. From there we grabbed a cab and within about 10 minutes we were in front of the Money Bar restaurant & beach club.

Restaurant and Bar: food is quite good, drinks are cold, service is friendly and quick (they will not pester you, so if you want something just politely motion for server). Prices are average, but the atmosphere is a big more upscale than other "open to the public" beach clubs I have been to. Bathrooms are decently clean. Great place for families, couples, and groups of friends. Seems like it would be a really fun place at night, too. Bar service is offered in a portion of the beach area as well. As long as you order something you may use all the facilities with no additional costs.

Access to the ocean: you can either lounge on the beach area to the right side of MB, or you can use their dock to pop into the water. We have our own snorkel gear, but there is a shack by the beach where you can rent gear. There isn't much coral close to shore, but there are still a lot of fish to see - further out and to the left there is more coral and sea grass, but currents get stronger in this area too. Water near the beach is shallow enough for wading, but
WEAR WATER SHOES! There are lots of sea urchins in the nooks and crannies of the coral as you enter the water from the beach.

When you are finished snorkeling, or just need to refresh, there are outdoor showers. Water to the showers is likely not purified, so to be safe, make sure no one ingests the water while showering. Bring towels! When we were done snorkeling, we rinsed off under the showers, and then changed clothes in the restrooms.

As this is further down the island, and not very close to any other businesses (other than the condos across the street) we wondered if we would have to wait a while for a taxi back, but there were a couple parked across the street.

Overall, it was a great day and we look forward to coming back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best ceviche on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stopped here for a snack and had the best ceviche on the island! Gorgeous view and the snorkelers seemed to be seeing lots of fish! The chips were also very good--fresh and very crispy! Definitely worth making a stop!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Money Bar Beach Club also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Money Bar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing