We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing Cozumel”
Review of Cantamar Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantamar Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is the second year we have come to Cantamar and we are hooked. The condo's are perfect with terrific ocean views, there is great snorkeling right off the dock and the mix of guests is very compatible. Unlike most of the hotels, where you get a heterogenous group of people looking for night life, families looking for value and older folks wanting to enjoy the quiet here you have the same mix of ages but with everyone enjoying the qualities that Cantamar offers. It's quiet, clean and nice. Oscar is a godsend and the neighbors could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: Ground floor is quiet and walkout to the pool. Second floor has great ocean views and is right off...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beentheregotthetshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Cantamar Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this condo. The owners were very helpful in ensuring the success of our holiday -- many thanks Jill and Truett! The condo is exactly as photographed - very clean, very quiet, and well maintained.There is a amazing view of the ocean and cruise ships from the balcony. The full kitchen is fully equipped. The king sized bed in the MBR is very comfortable. The condo is air conditioned but we preferred the natural cooling of the ocean breeze. We walked for kilometres north and south, day and night, and felt totally safe. Grocery shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The snorkeling was excellent right in front of the condo -- we didn't feel the need to take a tour. Cozumel is a beautiful island--we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed in the condo for one week. By far, it was one of my very best vacations. Just visualize this; crystal clear ocean water, blue skies with no clouds, 80 degree plus temperatures, colorful sunsets every night, all of this right outside your own private patio plus a large fresh water pool and even a sandy beach area! The condo is incredible and the location is perfect. It is very clean and well equiped with towels, sheets, dishes, cutlery, bottled water and having a full-size washer and dryer was fabulous. The rooms are spacious and so comfortable. You can easily walk into town and there is even a small grocery store less than a 1/2 mile away. Taxis are plentiful, cheap and clean. Did I already tell you that the location is perfect? You do not need to rent a car although we did for one day to explore the east coast of Cozumel. The locals are extremely friendly and family orientated. We felt safe and secure at all times at the condo and in Cozumel. We had, absolutely no issues. We had such a great time snorkeling right off the "backyard" that we are going back in three weeks! I cannot wait to eat at Guidos and drink the margaritas at The Mission! I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Cantamar 101 is on ground level.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaandButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Cantamar is ideally located...right on the ocean, 101 and 102 are walk-out to the pool, and quiet. It is 36 steps (I counted) from the back door to the ocean. There is no natural beach, but rather a lovely, "created" sandy beach area with two palapas, a large pergola, and a dock. Some days we had the whole "beach" area to ourselves. And once you drop into the warm ocean, you will find a reef with incredible fish, coral and sea life...literally around the dock. (Bring your own snorkel gear!)
If you like the big hotel or loud party scene, this place isn't for you. The rules at the pool require no audible music, which makes me happy, since I'm here for the quiet.
If you don't like to see the sunset or hear the waves lapping the shore, there are plenty of other places to stay.
I did encounter thimble jellyfish while snorkeling, so keep an eye out. (They leave a sting like a mosquito bite.)
Walking into town is no problem...15 minutes tops, and we found the Mega grocery store that met our food and drink needs. (Note: Retail liquor, beer, and wine are sold until 9:00 p.m. Mon-Sat and only until 3:00 p.m. on Sunday) A $5 taxi ride home from the grocery made for an easy trip.
Our unit (101) has a galley kitchen, new washer and dryer, great Sony TV and DVD player, Sony iPod dock, and free WiFi and internet telephone to the U.S. But honestly, we really focused on the ocean, the sand, and the incredible views.
We had housekeeping service every other day and Oscar, the building manager, kept everything in great shape.
I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: 101 is wonderful. This unit and 102 are walk-outs onto the pool deck. The entire facility is locked...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank halchorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Short trip from airport, drop your bags in one of two bedrooms, throw on a suit and go jump in the ocean! My kind of place, ocean is just a few feet away and 101 is a well appointed condominium with anything you might need and more. The owner is very accomodating and will help you if there is anything you need. And, oh, the sunsets....I can't wait to go back and stay at my favorite place in Cozumel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Cantamar's gated grounds are maintained in tip top shape which gives you the feel that you are at a high end pool side cabana without the crowds or hotel feel. Instead, you can leisurely stroll to the pool for some sun soaking, pool sitting and ocean swimming/snorkeling during the day. "Home away from home" is just a few short steps so grabbing another cocktail or cerveza to keep you company with your book in hand. Town is just a 1.5-2 mile stroll away along the ocean front and felt safe to walk daytime or night. Take a taxi to Casa de Mission for a romantic dinner on the hacienda patio with scrumptious food or make a simple meal of fajitas at the condo. After, the sunsets will keep you sitting poolside and enjoying the night time breeze. This was an inexpensive route to take compared to the all inclusive packages just down the road and perfect for families or couples getting away!

Room Tip: VRBO is a great route to find a condo to rent here! All condos in this complex are ocean view!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanTOmountainBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed for almost 2 weeks in May. The room is decorated so pretty! The owners of this condo are the BEST! They have thought of everything you could possibly need to make your vacation awesome. The bedroom has a large comfy king size bed...a very large jacuzzi tub...and a patio overlooking the ocean. They have two separate phones so you can keep in touch with family back home. The kitchen has everything to make breakfast, snacks and frozen beverages. Washer and Dryer in the condo which was a plus. And did I say the interior was nicely decorated? It's beautiful! Painted murals on the walls. There were so many nice little touches that it's hard to list them all. The bed linens were nice...the towels are fluffy...the dishes in the kitchen were mexican pottery and heavy glassware...just everything. They even have an umbrella you can use on the patio for shade while having your lunch "ocean side". It's within walking distance to the Villa Aldora where my husband dove each day and you could walk to town without much effort. The pool area is very clean and nice. The snorkeling is some of the best on the island. Starfish...sea horses and squid right out front of the condo...We will definately be back....I would stay in a condo that this couple owns again and again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iluvgeckos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.6 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantamar Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantamar Condos

Address: Carretera Costera Norte Kilometre Uno, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantamar Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous two bedroom/two bathroom luxury unit on the water. Unit sleeps up to six comfortably. Best snorkeling on the island of cozumel (we even provide snorkeling equipment). Double jacuzzi, rafts, snorkel equipment for our guests, huge dvd library, sky tv with hd channels, free telephone to u.s. Or canada, high speed internet, rafts, beach towels, hair dryers, anything you might need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cantamar Condominiums Cozumel
Cantamar Condominiums Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing