We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and Clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IslaMar Vacation Villas
Ranked #15 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Functional and Clean”
Reviewed February 7, 2008

We booked a package with Dive Paradise to scuba for 6 days with them while we stayed at Islamar. We had the two bedroom downstairs. It's really conveniently setup for everything you could want, but not overly luxurious or ornate. Beds are fine. Kitchen is useful though a little light on the utensils/pots and pans. They have bottled water for you to use. Cable tv works. Maid service is good. Furniture is just comfy enough. AC worked....thank the lord....as it was very hot while we were there. There's a lovely little pool to cool off in as well. Hammocks hang right out front. The courtyard is nice and private. Rinse tank for your gear is handy. The owner, Sherry, is a wonderful and pretty lady. She had a wealth of great advice for us.

The location is safe enough if you don't mind being back in town a ways. It's not close to the water, maybe 10 blocks or so, thus the price is good. We had a car to cruise around in so we could drag our gear to the dock and explore the island. If you don't mind walking a bit, it's really only about 15 minutes to walk to downtown so it's not bad. I'll recommend the hot dog stands in the area as those guys can really make a hot dog yummy! If you're the adventurous type, you might try a few local restaurants as they are delicious, authentic Mexican, and MUCH CHEAPER than the ones in town. The main drag is really getting bogged down with cruise ship tourists and the prices down there go way up when the ships are in port. Coz isn't a sleepy little fishing village at all anymore. But authentic Mexico can still be found in neighborhoods like the one where Islamar is found.

Speaking of adventure, we tried the whale shark experience up near Holbox. That was one of the more intense experiences of my adult life. You can snorkel right next to these huge but harmless animals. It's a long day as it consists of a ferry ride to Playa Del Carmen, a very long drive up to the northern tip of the Yucatan, and then a couple of boat rides out to where the animals feed. But wow!!!! What a marvelous adventure.

Anyways, to sum it all up, Islamar is a nice choice for the price, the functional accommodations and amenities, interesting (authentic) location, the lovely little courtyard, and the good people involved. My thanks to Sherry and staff.

  • Liked — Everything just works fine
  • Disliked — well, we did find a scorpion in our room one day ;-(
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

My husband and I just returned from Cozumel...we were very happy with IslaMar Villas, we felt very secure and safe. Sherri and Liza were very helpful when we arrived in giving us lots of information. Sherri always gave us time, if we had any questions about anything!!! We were impressed with her great business sense in being involved with tourists everyday, all day, all the time asking the same questions....answering them very patiently. The apartment was just the right size, and the separate bedroom makes it feels more like a home instead of an hotel. Very clean...Zuri is a fabulous housekeeper and was so willing to be very helpful in having our needs met. We were though not impressed with the rental car Less Pay, we know that we went on the cheap side...but really the car felt like it wasn't going to make it down the street. We complained and really we basically told to put up or shut up, I think my husband would of like to take the owner out for a ride haha. They had us, as we felt we needed a car for the time on Cozumel, to give us a sense of freedom of coming and going. We loved Butterfly estates, to spend the day there snorkelling FABULOUS and the pool.
We were in Cozumel 8 years ago, and don't like it now at all...so we will try somewhere else on our next trip.

  • Liked — The overall security and cleanliness of the rooms and grounds
  • Disliked — The bed was way too hard, need some upgrades on mattress
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed at the Islamar Villas from July 26, 2006 to August 9, 2006. This place was wonderful. The best feature is the small pool that is perfect for cooling off in after returning from a hot day shopping, at the beach, or diving. We truly felt at home here. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Zuri did an excellent job of keeping the place tidy for us and Jackie was very helpful with any questions we had. I would highly recommend staying here. The only thing to consider is that it is a good 20 minute walk to the waterfront, but in some ways that is what makes this place unique. It is in the middle of a local neighborhood. The only down side was the barking dogs in the neighborhood at night. In the two weeks that we stayed here, there were a couple of nights that I had trouble sleeping because of the barking. However I would highly recommend staying here. It was an excellent experience and a great value for your money. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

IslaMar is a great place to stay and we could not have made a better choice in accomodation. Clean, tidy and all the amenities you’ll ever need. Away from the hustle and bustle and surrounded by great local restaurants. The pricing makes these condos even more attractive then what they already are. Would we go back there? Let’s put it this way, Sherrie and Jacqueline had a hard time getting us OUT of the place when it was time to leave. Would we recommend IslaMar? That’s a silly question, of course!

Sherrie and Jacqueline are the true stars when it comes to being hostesses. They were always friendly, helpful and there to answers our questions. Ask either of them where to enjoy local cuisine, you'll get the best value for money and great food.

We used Dive Paradise as dive operators and could not have made a better choice. Once again, friendly people with great diving skills. We would dive with them again. Gear was in good shape and the tanks always full. Loved the idea of divers choice dive spots.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T_deWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2004

Best kept secret in Cozumel ~ Wife and I finally agree on something!
Just returned from Coz where we stayed with Sherri at her IslaMar Villas for 2 weeks. Villas are spacious, immaculately clean and the staff friendly. Sherri helped us plan our activities and pointed us toward things to do and places to go that regular tourist wouldn't necessarily find. The extra touches and personal service made us feel right at home ~ can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2003

My daughter and I stayed at the IslaMar Villas in July 2003. We had a one bedroom/one bath and we loved it. It was extremely clean and roomy. There was a TV with local cable which has some English channels, a VCR, a double burner stove top, microwave, fridge plus everything you need for cooking and eating. There was an AC as well. The "compound" is surrounded by a wall and a secured front gate. There are 5 total units so you don't have to worry about big crowds. There was a nice pool and whirlpool, dive gear storage, rinse tank and a beautiful garden. It was like a home away from home. Around the corner was a convenice store and it's close enough to walk to town. I never felt in danger. All in all it was a great experience. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something different from the standard "tourist trap".

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2003

I recently returned from the best vacation of my life. I stayed at the IslaMar Vacation Villas. They are centrally located to Town and the beach... very spacious... clean and all the ammenities one needs to spend a week or a month.... I dove with Dive Paradise.. Wow..what an operation. They picked us up, not far from the IslaMar Vacation Villas, at the Baracuda hotel..and left from their dock... Had the best diving. Say 3 turtles on one dive. Also saw a nurse shark swimming... WOW. I saw so many species.. on this week of diving... that I have already reserved another trip this coming winter.... Thanks to the Villas and Dive Paradise for making this a trip that will never be forgotten... Jim Piere

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,040 reviews
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,657 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
10.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IslaMar Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IslaMar Vacation Villas

Property: IslaMar Vacation Villas
Address: Avenida 55 Avenida sur # 316-332 | Between Calle 3 Sur & Morelos, Cozumel 77640, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1998, owner Sherri Davis & staff personally take care of all guests on a daily basis. Six spacious, comfortable villas are situated around a relaxing tropical garden, pool, waterfall & jacuzzi area with hammocks. Villas are nonsmoking and have king beds, A/C, TV/Cable/DVD, free Wi-Fi, kitchens with dishes and porches. Located in a regular neighborhood behind the downtown tourist zone, many “locals” eateries, a park & neighborhood grocery are just around the corner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing