We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We LOVE the Melia. Not the newest or fanciest hotel but great atmosphere and beach location. Got a great deal on this all inclusive property and got much more than we expected. Aircondtioning wasnt working the first night but we told reception and they fixed it straight away for us. Pretty good variety of food (what can you expect from buffet). Breakfasts were great, Lunch from the snack bar would be my pick. Willy at the pool bar made our stay! He was fantastic, spent 70% of our stay here and met a lot of great friends. Beach was nice, the water was brown somedays due to the seaweed but the water was still beautiful and warm. Also included was free 1 hour rental of snorkelling equipment, sail boats, kayaks which was a lot of fun. Would definitely return here if I get the chance

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    915
    412
    176
    128
See reviews for
690
930
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent the last week of June at Melia. I was worried at first because of the reviews. Many said the front desk was filled with workers who were unfriendly. We encountered the opposite. We arrived in Cozumel at 11: and got to the resort by noon thinking we would have to wait to get checked in. Nope, they got us checked in right away and we were at the pool by 1:00. Our room was beautiful and the views were absolutely amazing!! My only complaint was the murky water. No worries because we could walk right next door and enjoy the water from their beach. I loved getting up in the morning and watch the sun come up. So peaceful!

The cons of this resort: T.V. was ancient and reception was pretty bad. They did say we had WI-FI in the room but didn't. We had to go to the lobby to use the internet. A little bit of an inconvenience. Food, not so good. Breakfast was great, snack bar phenominal (best fish tacos EVER), but dinner was pretty gross. Only one night when the buffet was actually something that we wanted to eat. We made reservations at the nice restaurant twice during our week long stay. Awesome food there!!!

All in all we had a fabulous time! The people of Melia were so very kind and so very hard working! I so enjoyed tipping them for everything they did. They were so happy and appreciative and that made me happy to see their smiles! Heard rumors that they are in the process of remodeling. Would love to see the new updated look. Those little tweeks will make this the best vacation spot around!

Room Tip: I would advise the tower. We were on the 7th floor in a junior suite. Beautiful, perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Resort in June 2013. Upon entering, Joshua made us feel very warm and welcome. Our luggage did not get there until the next day and we had to wait until a concierge who spoke English could help us. Agnes and Karina were very helpful and ensured us it would get here and they would take care of us.

My only complaint is that the restaurant, Cafe Paraiso, requires a reservation and we tried everyday of our stay and they told us it was booked up every day. I've read similar reviews that say he says that regardless. The food at the Restaurant La Isla was mediocre, but the staff was so attentive and made us feel taken care of. We requested bacon every morning and they brought us bacon that was still sizzling because it was just cooked!

The maid staff was so wonderful and worked around the times we were in the room, which was very convenient. The air conditioning wasn't very cold, but we closed all the curtains during the day to salvage the cool air.

We booked through Bookit.com, so we had to meet with a travel guide the first day, which was probably the best thing we could have ever done. Flavio was WONDERFUL and steered us in the right direction as far as fun things to do and places to visit. I highly recommend renting a jeep and exploring the island and all its beautiful beaches on your own - such breathtaking views!

Overall, a beautiful place. We felt very safe, which is so unlike the other vacations to Mexico I've taken.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmanova, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were looking for a place to just enjoy the ambience and forget about the rush during the year. and yes, we found it. So close to the beach we spent a lot of relaxing time on the beach or in the adulkts only pool. Drinks are very well served and high quality brands are used. Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
The hotel is not one of the big crowded places so we found a great personality. Rush hours at the Bar or Buffet is just not existing.
All over the day there is various posibility to get snacks or buffet.
The rooms was much more spacious than expected and the view is unbeatable.
I loved that place, will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper floor (I was 11th florr) have unbeatable views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas041970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff was super friendly, however that's where the good things end. Not all inclusives are created equal, this is one of those that should have never tried its hand at all inclusive. I cannot imagine anyone staying for any length of time and having to consume this awful disgusting food. Especially in comparison to the numerous all inclusives we have stayed at in the past. The drinks were heavily watered down, although we don't even consume alcohol, even the virgin drinks were watered down.

The lobby ac when we arrived was broken, elevator was not functioning either. The rooms are in desperately in need of updating. They still have tube 27 inch tv's in the rooms, the iron was spewing nothing but calcium, beds were so old you can feel all the springs, bed linens clean but stained.

Save your money, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilnyudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our family stayed at the Melia Cozumel in mid-June. The rooms were nice and the maid service excellent (Cecelia). We were in the small building and had ocean-front rooms. The beach was beautiful but there was a lot of seaweed in the water while we were there and the water was not as pretty as we expected. Much of the coral was reportedly destroyed by Hurricane Wilma in '05 and I was disappointed with the sea life that we saw at the hotel as well as on a snorkeling excursion. Past the pier at the hotel next door the water was beautiful. The beaches are public so you are free to snorkel/swim there.

The food was excellent. Plenty of fruits and vegetables and healthy choices. Homemade chips and pico de gallo and guacamole were our favorite snack.

There were plenty of activities for all of us! The activities' folks were great! We loved Rocky and Eric and Norky. Rocky is VERY energetic and fun! Beach-front massages were WONDERFUL.

Unfortunately, I had an accident and cut my foot, which required a ride in an ambulance to the local hospital and 10 stitches. I was VERY well taken care of by the paramedic on the hotel property (Abner, employed by the hospital) as well as by hospital staff. Abner subsequently took care of my foot daily to make sure it was healing properly.

When you first arrive at the Cozumel airport, watch out for the predators that will immediately try to sell you excursions, etc. (scam). They will approach you under the guise of being with Melia. Another thing to be aware of: the "all-inclusive" snorkeling, kayaks, etc. really means you get the equipment for 1 hour per day per person; it is not unlimited. May want to pack your own goggles and flippers.

Overall, I would recommend the Melia. We had a wonderful stay. The people are great.

If you are interested in purchasing a 50 year hotel package, Joshua is your man. He is an excellent salesman.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We LOVED our Melia experience. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff was amazing!!! So friendly!!! From the bell hop, front desk, wait/bar staff, wedding coordinator, entertainers, etc.... everyone was GREAT!!!! We also had our wedding on the beach. Yessica helped with planning every step of the way. She covered details i hadn't thought, and was VERY patient with me (the bride). The photographers were EXCELLENT. We made friends with several of the wait/bar staff. It was sad leaving, like leaving all of your new summer camp friends. :)
The grounds were beautiful! Plenty of activities, places for families or just couples. They thought of everything at this resort. There is even a kids club for child care (free!). They have an abundance of activities on site (aerobics, nightly shows, snorkeling, jet skis, volley ball, jewelry making, gift shop, trip coordinators, volley ball, etc) There was really no need to ever leave the resort. We did however rent a jeep and spend an afternoon on a snorkeling tour to the Columbia reef (look up chac-choc tours). I can't think of a single negative thing to say about the resort, the staff, etc. The Melia was a little piece of paradise for us, and we CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 4,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
11.8 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
13.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 50 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 stars 3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Vacation Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing