We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vacation but...”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our group of three over-50ish couples have traveled together often in the Caribbean and we always have fun. That said, we had a great vacation at Melia Cozumel.
The food at the buffets was fine, not great. Breakfast I thought was weakest, but I'm not a big fan of typical breakfast fare so I look for other options which I have usually found at other resorts. The two specialty restaurants were better than the buffet but they still use the old reservation method where someone from the group has to stand in line at 10am every day.
We were surprised that they did not offer bar service to the pool area or beach. It didn't hurt to get up and go to the bar but it's nice to be pampered a little on vacation. The liquor selection was poor. Mostly domestic. Any port in a storm, though! ;)
We had crazy weather. We hired a cab driver to take us bar hopping around the island one rainy (??!) day and it was cold, but great fun. We had drinks and appetizers (great ceviche) at The Money Bar (only ones there), Coconuts, the reggae bar and a couple others.
We love Migual and Tequila Town downtown to the left of the clock in the plaza. We have stopped before and were welcomed back this time. Had to go twice actually. The second time to buy delicious small batch tequila to bring home. Migual recommended dinner at La Mission and it was delicious! The special that night was lobster tail, grilled shrimp and grouper with sides including tortilla soup for --- wait for it --- $21. We couldn't touch a meal like that in western Minnesota for that $$ and it was delicious! We also loved Guido's. Excellent food including spinach pasta, and DESSERT! Coconut ice cream and the most decadent chocolate brownie - a little crunchy outer layer and warm inside. Don't get me started! The house wine was good too.
We usually stay in Playa del Carmen. We love PlayCar Palace, Iberostar, Riu Palace by the golf course. Just a step or two up from Melia. So while we had a fantastic vacation we probably will not got back to Melia, but will be back to Cozumel. At least to get more tequila from Migual!

Room Tip: We were in 431. We inquired but an upgrade was not available and that was fine because we had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigDoggieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    1,121
    483
    207
    162
See reviews for
928
1,162
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Melia March 9th-16th. I have never experienced the poor, poor, service in my life in any Mexico place we had stayed at. They were SO understaffed. They had 1 bartender at all times, so you had to wait forever for your drinks. Down at the hotel bar, it was always crowded with things going on at night, so again, had to wait forever for drinks. They had no personality at all, to hold a conversation or even crack a smile. Each time we went to exchange money at the front desk, they gave us a hard time to go back up to our room to bring down our passports, when they had them on file from the beg. Our first day we went to go eat lunch and we were waiting outside the laguna grill for about 20 min (we didnt know it was seat yourself) and 3 waiters walked past us not saying a word, until a couple sitting down told us to seat yourself. Took forever to get waited on and never came back with our drinks. Our mini fridge in our room was never stocked daily. We booked a activity for the day and they called the night before at 6pm to tell us they overbooked and we needed to reschedule. Just horrible, horrible, service all around. Never anyone waiting on you around the pool, had to get up and get everything yourself. Also, as we were leaving, a couple that was on our same flight told us they had bugs and aunts everywhere in their room and took 2 days for them to finally get moved to another room. A taxi to town both ways is $20.00 with tip. Beds were SO HARD, like laying on plywood, had sore back everyday and neck. Very dissapointed with Melia all around, will never go back to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 244Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just stayed at Melia March 9-16 2013. There was three of us travelling so I had booked two M Experience rooms. What a great choice. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out the staff could not do enough, and made our stay amazing. When you check in with M Experience you are given a black wrist band. I swear when the staff see you have that, they go over the top. Just a quick example. My brother-inlaw and I were coming back from town one night with a pretty good charge and were starving. Its 10:45 and buffett closes at 11:00. So we go waltzing in, nobody is in there. Normally the staff would say oh senior its closing. Not these guys. They couldnt do enough. We had three guys waiting our table. As soon as one of us put down an empty glass of cerveza it was replaced with a new one. The chef made us fresh food on the grill. I kept saying we gotta go and let you guys close, they wouldnt hear of it. I have no idea when we finally got out of there. The M Experience rooms are located on the 10th and 11th floors in the tower. The 12th floor is just regular rooms for timeshare people and the stairs to the (13th) 14th floor are actually just bedrooms. The view is amazing from the 11th floor. The beds were comfortable and the upscale amenities were excellent. Another nice touch is having your own coffee maker in the morning. Also having cold beer in your fridge when you arrive is appreciated by a thirsty traveller. The beach is great. The WIFI sucks. The pools are freezing. I was in contact with Vanessa before we arrived and arranged some special requests as well as booked our specialty restaurant reservations. She was over the top. Not only accomodated our requests but went beyond. She was on vacation when we arrived so she had Erika at the front desk do everything for us. She was just awesome. We ate at Paraiso two nights and Iguana once. We did not care for Iguana. Paraiso was great. The menu,atmoshere, and staff were again awesome.We ended up eating at the buffett two nights.It was totally good. None of us had any stomach issues the whole week. Just thought I would add that in. It is a quiet resort. So if you are looking for party,party and loud booming music its not here. Most nights we buzzed into town and caught a band and had drinks. Its so cheap. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. See you next year. I think were bringing more people with us.

Room Tip: M Experience in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachbuoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ont
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself and Another couple stayed the week of march 2-9. It's not what you want to see when u first walk in....but, give it an hour or 2 and I think you'll grow to love it. I did! When everyone says the staff is friendly.....they really are. The only time I had an issue with the buffet was the Friday night. It is a Chinese theme. I had a huge salad and desert...lol. At the buffet, I never had to wait for my empty plate to be picked up or have to ask for coffee. The staff was right on top of it. They always were :). You have to ask for a Spanish coffee or ice cream. I really enjoyed the fact that they had different dinners every night. I am a pretty picky person and I gained 5 pounds on my trip....so take it from there...lol. We had a paradise suite beachfront. We really did enjoy the room. It's actually the same as all the other rooms on the resort except you pay a price for your view and the convenience of oceanfront. I had to wake up at 5:30 am to get good chairs on the beach. The beach was beautiful! We took a tour of the whole island and I find a lot of the shores are rock. The melia has a great beach compared to everyone else's. a lot of the other hotels look like man made beaches. We took the Polaris excursion! It's a must! What a great bang for your buck and its an all day tour! The thing I loved the most.....not one bug was around! Sure....there were a couple of iguanas, baby lizards, pelicans, birds.....even a stray dog.....but, not one bug! The place was clean and when I say clean....i mean clean. Fabulous service, hard workers and enjoyed every minute. Kudos to Enrique at the pool bar for keeping up with our tequila shots with the Idaho boys!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dkboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great beach location,very friendly and helpful staff. Food at buffet average however good at the two specialty restaurants, ocean front rooms nice. They are constantly cleaning and keep the resort very clean. Would definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean room front absolutely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited from March 9-16th and had our wedding on the beach. It was beautiful and compared to some of the other Melia resorts we visited - the service here was superior. We are timeshare and that brings some advantages from a service standpoint. The beach is the best on that side of the island. It is an older resort but found the people and the service to be very good.

Room Tip: Try to get Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay was from March 6-10. First, the hotel is extremely easy to get to from the airport which made a long day of travel a lot easier to deal with. Upon arrival, we were told that Expedia overbooked and we would have to be downgraded. This was the only glitch of our stay at Melia. The check-in person was not even apologetic and in cases like this, an overbooking should result in an upgrade, not a downgrade. Every time we would ask for a manager, he was always "out." The issue still isn't resolved as we have yet receive a refund and Expedia says they won't issue a refund until they speak to management which is seemingly impossible.

On to the positives: the beach was nice and not too crowded but there were never enough chairs on the beach for everyone but the employees are nice enough to bring some down from the pool. Staff was polite and accommodating and much nicer than other all inclusives we had stayed at previously. Drinks were fine but we felt bad for the lobby bar attendant as he had no help every night for A crowded bar. He did great though for such busy nights. The food was good and always seemed fresh. Two restaurants need reservations to be made every morning so get there early to stand in line to ensure a spot.

We rented a jeep easily from the hotel. All of the check engines light were illuminated which made us extremely nervous but we made it back to the hotel without a glitch. The pool areas were kept clean and the entertainment was decent.

All in all, we would go back but only if our room issue gets resolved. Melia is a great hotel for couples looking to relax as it wasn't overly loud or full of young spring breakers yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
2,210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing