We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be happy to return to Melia Cozumel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from our holiday at the Melia Cozumel, and I have to say we were very pleased with our vacation there. The first thing to impress me was the cleanliness of the hotel. The second thing to impress me was the friendliness of the staff. For a small resort, it has a very large beach. For someone who has food issues, I was impressed by the variety available at the buffet--there were always dishes I could eat. Although it was never on display, they also had a large selection of ice-cream flavours for the asking. The food at the snack bar was very tasty--I recomend the fish. The a-la-carte restaurants are worth lining up for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank openmind99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

And we will be happy to received you again!
Thank you for your possitive comments and advices for other users, also de coconut ice cream is delicious. We hope you come back in a near future, if it is this way, please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 3,003 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just arrived back from the Melia Cozumel on Feb 16, 2013. We were a little unsure as some of the comments about the hotel we not that great but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is small and perfect for couples. Great location, close to main city and attractions. The beach was perfect for our stay, just enough beach for everyone and never was too busy as you could always find a spot. No need to rush out at 6am to reserve a spot although I did see quite a few people doing just that. If you can, stay in the tower, the ocean front is just perfect and the view of the ocean is amazing. Stay higher up, we stayed on the 8th floor in room 807 and it was only a small $200 upgrade fee when we arrived. Our original room was a deluxe oceanview which would have put us in a building that was ocean front but only three stories and most views are blocked by trees, plus the rooms are much small and not as comfortable as our suite was for the week. We tip our maid $2/each day and we received great service, bar was always re-stocked and she did a great job at cleaning. The lobby bar staff Enrique was the best.....he made our nights as that bar seemed to be the gathering place as nights. A simple $1/tip for a round and the drinks kept a coming:) The resort is a bit on the quite side at night, the disco is small and was not well attended but for us that was fine, we had busy days with scuba diving and other attractions that we usually were in bed around 9 pm anyways. Don't pay attention to the restaurant reviews, the Cafe Paradeso was very good, i had the steak and it tasted fine, the welcome drinks were a nice touch. Its Mexico so we didn't expect 5 star food so we were fine with what was served, only complaint would be that they only served bacon a few times during that week. Make sure to look for wait staff that take care of you and sit in there sections....not all wait staff at the resort are as good as others. We learned this early in the week as we had to wait quite a while for coffee in the morning until we found the right guy (sorry forgot his name but there are a few good ones). All in all, we would definitely go back to the resort. If your a golfer I heard the course was tough but many of the golfers in the resort seemed to enjoy. If your a diver, I would not recommend the resort ProDive group, you have to take a cab to the south end of the island and carry your equipment over 500ft to the boats (ouch). I dove all week with a group called Opal Dream and they have small 6pack boats, only a $7 cab to the dive shop and they took care of everything.

Room Tip: Tower suite or M Experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for all the advice you gave to all the users from Trip Advisor, they are really good, Like the great view they have on the tower, It is really nice for me to see your possitive comments, because as you saw there were bad reviews that make the people doesn`t want to come, but as you read and come you were pleasantly sorprised, so we hope this reviews can help people to know they can have a great vacation withs us. Please when you decided to come back please contact me.

Best Regards and hope to see you soon.


Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Melia Cozumel, I can personally say is not justified.
This resort was great, i mean so GREAT.
The food was good, we only visited one restaurant and the rest of the time we stayed at the buffet (every day they tried to put new food which was good!)
The beach was beautiful, the first day we got there the water was so clear! the rest of the days it was a little windy but the water was still great to be in!
The service was good, the entertainers in the activity center were great! Actually everyone working in the resort was great, so friendly!
I do suggest you visit the city, so beautiful and everyone is very friendly (DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS)
Also, we did go with two kids and it is also a very kid friendly resort. With the bam bam club, painting etc
Rooms always very clean, resort was always clean and even when i was walking around at night they were spraying bug spray and sweeping floors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fdan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for write and share the experience you had on Melià Cozumel, we are really glad you enjoy your stay with us, and have fun on the beach, have nice meals at the restaurant a la carte and in the Buffete, and in the Kids Club, but most of all thank you for see the positive attitude form our staff that it is always working with a smile on their face to make you feel welcome everyday. We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice Hotel, well located on a very nice part of the island. Getting there is so easy by ferry from Playa del Carmen. 40 Minutes later you are in the Island. Melia is a very clean well organized property. Nice beach, good hotel activities and service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PECASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for write your comments on Trip Advisor, We are happy you enjoyed your stay here in Melià Cozumel and we hope you come back soon.

Best Regards

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall impressions and suggestions - I have been to many all-inclusive resorts on the Mayan Riviera and I was surprisingly happy with this smaller, intimate place. I am also very particular. Great for golf, beach, families or couples. Friendly staff, from the front desk to the cleaning people. Three restaurants with a good selection of food at the La Isla buffet, albeit uninspiring. Best for dinner was Cafe Paraiso and for lunch La Iguana Grill which is open air, with a beautiful view of the beach.
When we had booked in December the resort was full and we could only reserve a garden view room. Two days before departure, through the hotel's website, I became a MaS member. I emailed the hotel and asked for an upgrade to an ocean view suite in the number 3 complex, on the ground floor. I received a prompt answer from the front desk manager agreeing to my request. For $37.00 more per day, it was an excellent choice. When we arrived we were shown to a large suite facing the ocean. I know from reading trip advisors reviews that many people have recommended a room high in the tower facing the ocean, however, if you enjoy being 3 seconds from the beach; having a private patio with a jacuzzi with a stunning view overlooking palm trees and the ocean; waking to the birds singing and the waves lapping stay here!!! Get up early, save some lounge chairs under the palmed huts, everyone does, and enjoy a tea or coffee on your patio.
We golfed daily and it's a good course, challenging, but try to go early, it gets hot. Tee times were easy to arrange in advance and the staff was also attentive and friendly. The golf course is 5 minutes away by taxi or a 20 minute walk. Leave your clubs there. Don't come for the entertainment in the evening, there really is nothing to speak of. Go into San Miguel instead, which is only 10 minutes away. We were a group of seven and made our own fun.

Best experiences - Waking up to the sound of the birds and gentle waves; walking along the beach; reading and relaxing under the thatched hut; watching the magnificent sunset at the pier. Having a jacuzzi after sunset. Chicken fajitas and guacamole. Chocolate pedicures and couple massages on the beach. Two birdies on the 8th hole; the crocodiles, iguanas and wild boars lazing in the sun on the course. 10 minutes from airport. And just having a great time with good friends.

Worst experiences - Nothing really, I could nitpick, but life is too short. Great value for this all-inclusive. Was it the best I've ever stayed at, no, but we would probably return for the golf, beach and service...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KPaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Good night, Just want to say thank you for the review you write about Melià Cozumel, I am really glad you enjoy all the littles things that make you have a great vacation, from the food like fajitas and guacamole yomi ;) to indulge in a massage, we hope you come back soon.

Best Regards.-

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Seven of us booked the Melia Cozumel for a golf trip with attention to price and the availability of tee times. The hotel is not a five star but it does provide good value for the money. Check out 'Biffles' review, as it is spot on. Overall the staff is friendly and attentive. Nothing exceptional about the food, but plenty of variety and for the most part well prepared. Problems and complaints about the rooms are not resolved by contacting the front desk. I upgraded to a Paradise room (#118), which I enjoyed, except for the the fact that a motor kicked in, ran for 5 to 10 seconds, then noisily shut off intermittently 24/7. (Could have used better earplugs.) Numerous calls to the front desk failed to produce any results.
We were told there was a dress code in Cafe Paradisio and dressed accordingly, yet many guests were seated wearing shorts and beach tongs. There are three bars. The pool bar closes at 6 pm; the beach bar at 10 pm and the lobby bar stays open until 2 am. No nightlife and the shows leave a lot to be desired. Definitely not a hotel for the younger crowd.
Thoroughly enjoyed our golf experience. Friendly staff on a challenging and scenic course.
Overall, it was a very enjoyable vacation and the consensus was that we would consider booking the all-inclusive package at the Melia again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acmematch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for all your comments, I will check what you say about the dress code on Cafe Paraiso and also I am going personally with Maintenance for check the noise you tell us in this room. If you have more information about the person on Front Desk that you report this; please let me know, also If you are comming back it would be a pleasure to help you in everything you need.

Sincerely.-

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Front desk was very courteous and our junior suites were ready early . As we like a hard mattress we slept very well on the king bed during our stay . The food was very good as we had many choices at the buffet , spicing was toned down from the previous year . we managed to eat at both a la carte restaurants and the food and service was good . the only drawbacks are standing in line for reservations and the fact the steakhouse is not open every night . It has a lovely beach which was utilized fully . The buffet opened at 0630 hrs in the morning for the many golfers .The entertainment is done by amateurs but it is still fun to watch . The resort is small, quiet, authentic and relaxing . If your looking for entertainment go to San Miguel where there is the Hard Rock cafe or Senor Frog ,the taxi fare is $ 7 . It is setup well for families and couples . We would not hesitate to go back .
Alex and Verna

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoy your stay here, and that you can see the immprovements we made each year to make you have a great vacation. When you decide to come back please don`t hesitate to contact me. I am at your orders.

Sincerely.-

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,269 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
4,998 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $143 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing