We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but do not plan on returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but do not plan on returning”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in the tower, beautiful ocean view, very clean room (maid was really nice), soft sandy beach but every noise from the pool below would multiply in sound. Party in the bozze pool all day with loud drunk no-class guests, shouting, screaming, which was not stopped by management. In order to read in my room, which was on the 10th floor, I had to close the patio doors and start the A/C not to hear them. Quite annoying ! People were even moving their chairs further down the beach to get some peace. Which was further continued in lobby bar before and after supper, which sent everyone else out of there. Did not find the staff that friendly either, eventhough I smiled at them with a "Ola" and tips and practiced my Spanish. Food was good and varied with theme nights. In order to eat at the two 'a la carte' restaurants, you have to stand in line at 10 am to reserve for the same day. If you take an excursion that day, you've already left before 10 am, you have no other choice than eat at the buffet upon your return. The shows at night were amateur but two of them were really special : Mexican night with the mariachis and another night with Cabaret girls. You can snorkel at the hotel next door (since the beach is public) where there's lots of fish (due to the artificial reef). Bring some bread or cereals and your underwater camera, you'll be invaded. Talking about invasion, Cozumel caters to at least 5 cruise ships a day (if not more), you draw your own conclusion...

Room Tip: Closer to the "non-alcoolic" pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorianeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for share your comments with other users from Trip Advisor, I am really sorry about the treatment you have on Front Desk and Restaurants a La Carte , if you wish you can send me more information about this to my e-mail, to know what happened and give it a solution,
I apologize for this and we hope you can give us another oportunity.

I am at your service , Sincerely


Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    1,075
    469
    200
    149
See reviews for
851
1,118
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sorry in advance for the length of this review.
My family and I recently stayed at the Melia Cozumel (Jan 25th-Feb 1st)
We travelled with our two boys 4 and 2, my parents and my mother in law.
Let me first begin by stating the Melia is a beautiful smaller resort that possesses an absolutely gorgeous white sand beach. We stayed in the tower where all rooms have a breathtaking ocean view.
The service at the hotel was fantastic! I've unfortunately forgotten a lot of the individual's names who were so extraordinary but a few I would like to single out would be Ignacio, Mari, Sussy and Juan.
Ignacio, the maitre d at the dinner buffet was amazing! He made everyone, especially us feel special every night. We didn't go to the a la carte restaurant because we knew Ignacio would be at the buffet. Ignacio is tremendous at what he does and I hope Melia management read this review and recognize him for his fantastic work ethic! Thank you Ignacio for making our dining experience so memorable!
Mari at the front desk was very helpful with our check in and I believed she actually cared that we were happy. We experienced a bit of a delay at checkin and she was gracious enough to put some of our perishables in the fridge for us.
Sussy from the Bam Bam kids club was perfect with our kids. Sussy was always smiling and laughing and that warm friendly attitude was much appreciated by our children.
Juan is the front desk manager I believe and I appreciated that he responded to a random message I sent to the hotel prior to our arrival. He addressed our concerns and then actually found us when we arrived and further explained what he could do for us. Thanks Juan for being professional and responsive to the needs of your guests.
Finally, if you are considering a trip to Cozumel and you like fantastic food, great service, clean big rooms, beautiful beach and a peaceful atmosphere them I suggest you stay at the Melia Cozumel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank matdandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good night, We are glad you enjoy everything about Melià Cozumel, thank you for take the time to write this review but most of all to remember the name of the people who makes you feel like home , I am talking about :Ignacio (Cafe Paraiso), Mari (Front Desk), Sussy (Kids Club) and Juan (Front Desk Manager) I am going to pass congrats to all of them, and we hope you come back soon.

Best Regards.-

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

hotel was very nice and clean, staff were great. A little quiet if you are looking for a party try somewhere else. Having to stop in belize made for a very long trip home. Luggage loaded in Cozumel was off loaded in Belize without explanation. Not advised on flight or at baggage pickup people waited till pickup was empty and when they went to desk found out about 50 pieces removed in Belize due to plane weight?????????????? how does that happen and why off load luggage already on plane to add more. Very poorly handled by Sunwing

Room Tip: all the rooms would be ok as all are close to pool and beach we stayed in the suites and the ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lori d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good afternoon, Thank you for give us a couple of minutes from your time to share your experience, I am glad you could saw our Hotel is clean and the staff are nice, we are sorry what happened with your luggage, but we hope you come back to your house Melià Cozumel.

Sincerely

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinte west
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

clean rooms,the ocean veiw room is well worth the extra money king size bed bar fridge and the easy access to having a washroom as you sit 20 feet away on the beach,and the beach bar right there also.food decent im a picky eater and i didnt starve,the people working tried to make everyone happy. pool table and ping pong by pool .name brand liqours and mix.

Room Tip: ocean front main level private outdoor jacuzzi on your deck great upgrade my wife loved having her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank yopu for share your comments and also the tip you gave about the rooms, This category of room is called " Paradise Suite" and its perfect for people who celebrate honeymoons or anniversarys, we are glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope you come back soon.

Best Regards

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great place,nice beach..great snorkelling on resort,,great ,great diving with the dive team ..best food is at the buffet,,clean...check into renting a plane to see Chichenitza..great view of Mexico and the pyramid from the air.look for the dolphins passing by in the morning,,nice staff,overall a great little place..

Room Tip: High in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting Mexico and for give us a couple of minutes from your time to share your experience at Melià Cozumel withother users from Trip Advisor, I am glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope you come back soon. Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We read many reviews before choosing this resort as a last minute choice. We wanted a resort where my husband could take advantage of the All Inclusive Golf Package at a safe resort where I could chill out on the beach/pool while he was golfing. We honestly were not impressed with the reviews we'd read prior, yet booked Melia Cozumel as a last resort with low to no expectations. We kept reminding ourselves before we left home that the golf package was our main purpose and we'd deal with anything else that we were disatisfied with when we experienced it - HOWEVER! we were pleasantly and EXTREMELYsurprised.

I will give an honest review of our experience. We stayed the week of Jan 19 - 26th, 2013. In a nutshell - we LOVED it!

Staff: Check in was quite slow and the front desk staff always seemed to be a little put out to assist - not sure if it is because they were busy, or just unhappy. We are friendly and polite and found if you are pleasant and appreciative to people, you get the same respect back again. The rest of the staff were fantastic - bell hops, housekeeping, groundskeepers, bar tenders, wait staff were all VERY friendly and helpful. Special shout outs to Felipe and Luis at the beach bar, David in La Iguana, Lupe in the buffet, William in the Lobby Bar, and Augustin at the pool bar. We tipped $1.00 US along the way which was appreciated, but certainly not expected.

Rooms: we had a Paradise Room with walk out patio (with jacuzzi tub) right onto the beach...JUST AWESOME! The room was immaculate - very clean. Sure, the furniture is a little dated, but it's all in good working order and functional! The bed was hard - which I personally like. Slept like a rock! The bathroom was very small and inconvenient. The door barely opened without hitting the toilet. It was however kept very clean and well stocked. Good water pressure and hot water. The housekeepers bring a second set of towels in the evening which is a nice touch. The mini fridge was not stocked daily - but I am not sure if you are supposed to call to request it be stocked. The room did not have a coffee maker which we missed. We did ask for a dehumidifier as everything seemed to get quite damp, but they did not have one. The air conditioning kept the humidity at bay somewhat.

The Melia Cozumel is a really small, relaxed quaint and cosy resort. You can walk from end to end in about 4 minutes. The grounds are beautiful, with gorgeous plants, flowers and palm trees. The grass is lush and green and the walkways are kept very clean - no litter, sand swept away etc. There's about 10 large iguanas - one of which is about 4 feet long and yellow. People were feeding them bananas....watch out they get pretty excited and snap! They love their photos being taken, and almost seem to pose for you. We did see a racoon outside of our room one night. I did not see ants, sand fleas, bed bugs, flies, or mosquitos or any other crawling or flying creature for that matter. There's some pretty nasty black birds flying around the outdoor snack bar and bars - but you get used to them!

Amenities - there are 2 pools both of which were freezingwhile we were there, however some folks did venture in! The adult pool (near the tower) has a swim up bar, it is in the shade of the tower most of the day, and gets good sun later in the afternoon. The bar tender Augustin was just great -so much fun and very friendly.

Food and Drinks: Overall we'd rate 7/10 for food. The buffet breakfast was excellent with made to order omelettes. During the busy times it did seem to take some time for re-stocking, but overall the food was tasty with good variety. Snack bar for lunch had decent variety - burgers, fries, nachos, wings, wraps etc. and was just OK - perfect to fill a hungry tummy but really nothing to write home about! If you want reservations for the 2 a la cartes you have to line up at 10am outside the buffet - there were a lot of very disappointed people as reservations fill up fast. Paraiso was good food - very small gourmet portions. La Iguana (snack bar with table cloths!) was a more relaxed atmosphere - we liked the food at La Iguana better....and the atmosphere was livelier - we felt like we couldn't make noise in Paraiso - that we were disturbing those on a romantic night out if we were laughing too loud.

Beach/Ocean: The ocean was very murky and sea weed ridden while we were at Melia Cozumel due to stormy weather prior to our arrival, however people we met who'd been before said the ocean is usually crystal clear and calm. The sand is so soft and there was a refreshing ocean breeze the entire week. If you want to snorkel or swim, head down the beach for a 3 minute walk towards El Cozumelino - the snorkelling there is like swimming in a tropical fish tank...warning...remove all jewellry - the baracudas like shiny things! Take a banana or pancakes from the buffet and feed the fish from the pier - just awesome! The water on the El Cozumelino side of the pier is turquoise and full of fish, yet murky, and full of seawood and garbage on the Melia side, but it's far enough away from the resort itself that it wasn't a problem or even an eye-sore. Any seaweed that is washed up on the Melia beach is cleaned up by a team daily. Specatular sun sets as the cruise ships are leaving port - breathtaking!

Activities and Night Life: If you are looking for a high energy resort with plenty of crazy activities and night life - choose somewhere else. We made our own fun! Whether at the Lobby Bar or the Beach Bar there'd always be lively conversation and people to chat with. By about 3 days into the trip you start to recognize the same people where ever you go which makes it easy to socialize. There's a small 'disco' - DISCO SHADE' in front of the Lobby Bar - it's up to you to get the party started - and trust me....someone is always waiting for someone else to start dancing, then the flocks of people arrive! It's HOT, the doors must stay closed and it's like a sauna in there, the music was great to dance to! We did not make it to any of the shows, but did participate in "Name That Tune".

We also did not participate in any of the resort day time activities but it appeared the activities staff had a packed schedule with yoga on the beach, volleyball, pool aerobics, table tennis, darts, board games etc etc.

Golf Package: Green fees are included in the golf package. The $7 taxi to and from the golf course is not, neither are food/drinks on the golf course. It's $30 for a golf cart per person and you can leave you golf clubs at the golf course until you need them again. The staff there will wash your clubs for you. Watch out - there's crocodiles and wild pigs on the golf course! Also apparently tarantulas in the sand traps - and iguanas in the trees in hole 3. Quite a hard, but beautiful golf course. The golf course is just a few minute walk so a taxi really isn't necessary.

Overall a super week! We'd recommend Melia Cozumel for both the all inclusive and all inclusive golf package. We'd return in an instant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Biffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for share your comments and experience with other users from Trip Advisor, but most of all thank you for gave us the oportunity to made you have a great vacation , when you thought it wouldnt be this way. The minibar is refilled on request by call, so I hope you can come back soon and enjoy all the service and activities again. I am at your orders.

Sincerely

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was better than advertised. We used a friend's timeshare to take our 9 year old for the first time. The room was excellent and the pull out for him was very comfortable. We did the all inclusive package and had wonderful food. The fancy restaurant is very good and the service is impeccable no matter where you eat. My son is very picky but loved all the options and breakfast was his favorite. All the bacon he could eat! We rented a jeep and went around the island one day, I highly recommend it! You see so much and can spend all the time you want at various spots...Bob Marley's is not a place to miss! We also did Excaret one day. You really need two days to see everything because there is so much to do. If you go, do not miss the show, our son couldn't stop talking about it. Snorkling at the hotel is just a short walk. You can snorkle right off the property but it is so much clearer and calmer on the other side of the pier. We were in the water everyday. This was definitely a great experience and thank you Melia for the great service and food!

Room Tip: Loved the condo with the jet tub on the balcony. We slept with the door open since it was windy, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks to you for come to Melià Cozumel and for share your positive experience with other users. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you can come back ; but these time more days to met all the island. Best Regards.

Vanessa Villalobos
Quality Control
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing