We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Cozumel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
st louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Cozumel”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

So I will just say the first thing we saw was the beach and that is where the disappointment began. The water was dirty and muddy looking, not at all inviting for swimming. The food was, I can not sugar coat this, awful. Your only option was the buffet or the snack bar. We spent over 300.00 eating out because we could not stand to eat at the resort after day one. I do not know how they can advertise all these activities and restaurants, and then when you go none of these options are available. The bed was hard, but that I can over look had the first few things been awesome. We had to go to the resort next door to snorkel, they had gorgeous water because they built a concrete wall to keep out the water that was in front of our resort. "Stocked" mini fridge in room means 2 beers a day. If you want more than that they are more than happy to give it to you at $3 a beer. The bartenders were friendly. Enrique, Felipe, the doormen, Yessica, and America were all helpful and friendly. We did find some good off resort restaurants such as casa mission, la perlita, and the lobster house across the street from the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kthiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    1,107
    480
    204
    155
See reviews for
895
1,151
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We traveled off season and purchased hurricane insurance but no need. The weather was great. We were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi since it was our anniversary, perfecto! The four poster bed, deck and views were fabulous. We stayed on the adult pool side vs by the kid pool which I recommend if it is two adults. The staff was super friendly and nice, assisting us in booking a scooter to ride around the island, a snorkel trip, and recommending Primas Restaurant for our anniversary dinner, which was the best crab I have ever eaten! Great pool and white sandy beach. We worked out every day and treated ourselves to a couples massage in the small but peaceful spa. It was the perfect getaway and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sondra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a small scientific conference (~ 50 people) there in the beginning of October. This is a great place to conduct a conference. The staff a the hotel and the restaurant was very helpful, very active and friendly, but at the same time essentially invisible and not intrusive. The food in this all-inclusive was very decent, and you could find all kinds of food to your tasting - meat, fish, dairy products, salads, fruit and vegetable, all fresh and tasty. Violeta Sanchez, Director of Sales, did a great job helping with the organization of the conference (as far as i could tell, as a participant). The room was very clean, convenient, great sea view, a balcony, air conditioner was powerful and quiet. The beach is very good although the water with fish etc was better just 50 yards to the left - at the next hotel - and i swam only there before breackfast - great experience swimming and watching all sorts of tropical fish. It is easy to get to local snorkeling places and to town for great shopping etc. People are very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view, not the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having read some so-so reviews I was reluctant to try the Melia but a deal too good to pass came up so had to give it a shot. Four of us were guests from the 5th - 10th October. Check in was smooth with the front desk very friendly, changed money a couple times and still a friendly staff. Very convenient to be able to do that at hotel. Good FREE internet, best in lobby but some places, room and outdoors picked up too. Breakfasts were great, every day. We had lunch at the Iguana Snack bar about every day, very good, better than one meal we had in town even. Drinks were very good, a little tip goes a long way but not necessary for good drinks and service. Yup the beds are firm, pillows left much to be desired, we were on an end room and AC wasn't the best or the worse and the best snorkeling required a 70 yard walk, the shows somewhat campy. All true, but the charm, people, good vibe will guarantee a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Three families of 4 (total of 12) spent six days on island - when hurricane came through. We had a great time. I've broken down Pros/Cons on the stay based on our experience.

PROS:
1. All inclusive and never went hungry or thirsty.
2. Great natural beach. Spent a lot of time there.
3. Very safe. Never once felt unsure about our surroundings.
4. Played two rounds of golf (included): very nice Nicklaus design.
5. Nice large rooms.

CONS:
1. Small pools.
2. Though good variety, food could've been better.

Overall we had a great time and would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank RoamingRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Melia Cozumel from Sept. 29 thru Oct. 4th. We had a blast! We were concerned because of some of the reviews. We didn't need to be. Place was clean, people were friendly- even the front desk. Water was not so clear but we took a short walk next door and snorkled over there. Food was good you could always find something to eat. Not many people since it was October but it was like being at your own private resort. There were several honeymoon couples there. Just one caution -Beware of the margaritas and tequila shots-you may find youself face first in the sand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

2nd trip, 3rd trip in a few months
about as expected, 9/9-914/2012
friendly staff, clean room, air conditioner worked, hot and cold water worked, beach is long and very nice, mostly good food, drinks were ok,

water was murky, with rocks. one evening fish meal was undesireable, wifi is weak, many steps on resort, tile floors are mostly slippery, snack bar could be improved.

we had a good experience, we got what we expected. it was a relaxing few days.

Room Tip: we tip the maids daily, maybe that makes for a cleaner, fresher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
13.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing