We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Buccanos at Night

Buccanos at Night
Reserve with OpenTable
Buccanos at Night is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Multi-ethnic, multi-sensory dining experience where flavors clash on purpose. Contemporary seafood, fresh fish & premium quality ingredients that change with the season. Oceanview dining terrace with a panoramic view of the mainland skyline enhanced by torches & candlelight. A more relaxed and social approach to dining awaits you at 'Buccanos at Night' Friday and Saturday evening from 6-10:30pm
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Food was fantastic, service was great, wonderful atmosphere. Owner/chef came to our table to check on the quality of the cuisine. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lpedro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you dine with us and when you return to Mexico we hope to see you again. Thank you for the wonderful review.
p.s. we love France :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    52
    26
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After a few horrible meals at our resort, my husband found Buccanos online and insisted that we try it out...and I couldn't be happier I listened to him. We had a wonderful experience and truly loved the food! The hostess and the waitstaff were incredibly helpful and attentive. The chef came out to describe the specials and helped us make decisions about what to order. I had a fantastic Mojito (probably the best that I had on the island). The food was flavorful with unique combinations, especially the lobster tail. Although we were there in the rain, it was easy to see that the space was beautiful. We will be returning to Buccanos during any future trips to the island!
Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rgshine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for highly recommending Buccanos at Night and so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again so you can flavour the rest of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
1 review
“Delicious and Delightful!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Perfect place for a romantic dinner or to dinne with friends , the atmosphere is unique on the island.the specials of the day are definetly a must try. A blend of fresh , different and i would say also exotic ingredients perfectly combined for an explotion of flavors and textures wich makes the food simply delicious and different!! Excellent personalized service !!very reasonable prices for high quality food and service !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tere N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It was a pleasure to have both you and your husband dine with us Teri and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czm
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Sad disappointment”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations. They placed our group outside the main seating area where it darker than anywhere else. Ha e 2 use flashlights to read menu. Had heard about mac n cheese w/lobster, but they offered the special mac n cheese w/roquefort (making it a 4 cheeser). The menu mac was $19, our. Mistake thinking the spe ial would be slightly higher. Bill came & this mac was $34!
We complained and the chef reduced our bill by 10%, but still way overpriced. Learned valuable lesson ---always ask!
Ann, the hostess, was busily visiting everyone and was a delight...even she was u aware of this huge jump in price.
Sadly, i will never go back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It really is a sad disappointment that you did not enjoy yourself at our restaurant but I would like to clarify a few points. We have tables at poolside and under our palapa and we offer flashlights so guests can see our menu easier and even though you had the choice you did pick the table off the poolside for your dinner.
As for our menu, we do offer a lobster mac and cheese which includes 1/2 lobster tail hence the $19 dollar price and mind you we never have had a complaint on either price or taste. One of our evening specials during your visit was guajillo crusted lobster tail accompanied with glazed figs served on top of 'a touch of rouqefort' cheese mac and cheese. As this dish is a full lobster tail the market price in Cozumel is approx. $30-34 dollars depending on where you dine and upon revisiting your bill you were charged $32 dollars. We do take responsibility in that you were not explained well the difference of the two dishes. Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More than "Dinner"”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Probably the best way to describe the evening was just that: an evening to enjoy and linger.
Food: all delicacies including:
grilled salad (yes, grilled!) with fresh tuna tartare
warm brie, grilled shrimp, apples (amazing!) quesadilla
amazing wahoo dish with a sauce so delicious almost licked the plate clean
Other dishes ordered were equally presented and prepared
We will continue to return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bellavista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Michelle. It was a true pleasure having you dine with us and it is a review like yours that give us the passion to continue to create dishes that excite you as much as they do us. We look forward seeing you again . Thank you and happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccanos at Night also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Buccanos at Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing