We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Buccanos at Night

Buccanos at Night
Reserve with OpenTable
Buccanos at Night is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Multi-ethnic, multi-sensory dining experience where flavors clash on purpose. Contemporary seafood, fresh fish & premium quality ingredients that change with the season. Oceanview dining terrace with a panoramic view of the mainland skyline enhanced by torches & candlelight. A more relaxed and social approach to dining awaits you at 'Buccanos at Night' Friday and Saturday evening from 6-10:30pm
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We missed the sign so stopped at Playa Azul and asked for help in locating this fantastic place. So now we know, if you drive past Playa Azul you've gone too far, it's just south of it.
What a beautiful outdoor area!
The food was exquisite. Memorable: grilled shrimp with avocado tempura.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellavista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    52
    26
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Another excellent experience! Top notch.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

On this, my second, dinner at Buccanos at Night, I confirmed everything I said in my previous Trip Advisor review. This place serves the most innovative and creative food on the island - almost in a league by itself. There is simply no other restaurant doing this kind of cooking! I believe it to be the best fine dining establishment on Cozumel. Try it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Literally forgotten about”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were so excited to try Buccanos at night after reading all of the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. We parked our car and were led in by a hostess with a flashlight. We were then given the option of indoor or outdoor seating and we chose outdoor. The first experience we had at the table was being greeted by a manager that told us all of the specials. We were very impressed by his ability to remember all of it. He explained that they had caught fresh mahi mahi that day and then talked about how it was used in the dish etc... We ordered our drinks and I must say the house lemonade was very good. There was some slight confusion as to who our waiter was as we had a few different guys come to our table to ask about drinks, appetizers, food...etc. We ordered the Grilled cheese tomato bisque appetizer. This was okay at best. I have had a lot of different versions of bisque before and I felt like this was over complicated. It was not very "saucy" and was just a lot of large chunks of tomato. There was a large piece of bread in it too, and it had a green pepper taste to it. We were honestly trying really hard to enjoy it because of how well reviewed this restaurant was.

This is where it gets tricky. Due to the number of waiters and not being sure which one was ours we had a hard time getting our dinner order in. We finally alerted the hostess lady and she had someone sent over to take it. We were all geared up to try a dessert we had read about so we decided to split the Lobster Mac and cheese. Once the order was placed we waited...and waited...and waited. Finally the manager came over and apologized for the wait and said they were "slammed" and offered a free mixed drink. We thought this was a very nice gesture and that it made up for the wait at that point. The hostess lady came over and mentioned that we were "just unlucky" that a large table of 15-20 people had sat down just before us. Other than this table, which we were able to see, there were plenty of empty tables and it did not appear to be slammed. Nonetheless we went on with our wait and waited a considerable amount longer and the food finally came out. And when it did, it was very tasty. The lobster tasted fresh and it was an interesting dish that we enjoyed. Then the rain came. Not oo much, just a 5 minute drizzle. They seemed to go into panic mode. They came to each table and quickly grabbed peoples food to move them to the indoor area. We calmly mentioned that we were finished and just wanted to order dessert and were sat at not a table but a lounge chair by a table. The hostess seemed overly flustered as the move from outside to inside took place. The rain stopped and some people moved back to their original tables while some stayed inside. We waited at this table...and waited...and waited. We actually got to the point where we were humored by the whole process and wanted to see how long it went. No one ever came...at all. After around 30 minutes we were a little upset and just wanted our check. I could not flag down any waiters and finally asked the hostess lady by physically walking up to the bar and grabbing her attention. It was brought to us by... you guessed it, a waiter and he acted like nothing had happened. We paid with cash and got the heck out of there. The hostess lady started to walk with a flashlight behind us and seemed to get frustrated halfway and turned back.

This place honestly was not worth the hype, and the food was decent. Service was an absolute joke. We never stay all inclusive and have eaten many meals in our years visiting Cozumel and this was far and away the worst experience we have ever had. There are some much more amazing places worth trying on the island before this one.

Oh, and we literally never give bad ratings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozumelsnowbird, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are very sorry your experience at Buccanos was not enjoyable. We hope you can give us another opportunity to provide you with the service and quality all our clients deserve. It will make us very happy to change the way you feel about our restaurant. Please call or make contact on facebook next time you are on the Island.

Best Regards.
Bosco Barbachano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved the setting and the food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

So glad we had read about this restaurant on TA before we came to Cozumel. We arrived Sat., so we definitely had to eat there that night (as others have noted, it's only open Fri. and Sat. nights). We had made reservations, but because it was low season, we really didn't have to have them. We caught the last of the sunset light as we picked our table on the patio by the pool. Again, as others have said, it was really nice to be greeted by both the owner and chef to tell you about the restaurant and the specials. The tuna tartare appetizer topped by a tempura poached egg was out of this world! My wahoo special was a bit dry, but I think that's just the nature of that fish. My husband's seared tuna was delicious. Both meals had fabulous sauces to perfectly accompany the fresh fish.

A funny note - as the mosquitoes were starting to bite, Ann brought around Deep Woods Off to each table that she had ordered specially from the US, because you can't buy anything that works as well on the island!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best ambience, service, and food on Cozumel”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

You art greeted by Ann at the entrance and seated at a table with the best beach sunset view we have ever seen. Then the service starts with explanations of the chef's creations of the day. The chef, Ines, and Ann both visited the table several times during the most excellent meal. The Fish and Chips were the best I have ever tasted. The venue was remarkable for the elegant construction decor. Highly recommended. Will return next Cozumel visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccanos at Night also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Buccanos at Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing