We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding value just off the square without compromising. A+++” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suites Colonial
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An outstanding value just off the square without compromising. A+++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had previously stayed at this chain’s other two properties in Cozumel, the Suites Bahia and their flagship hotel the Casa Mexicana. I enjoyed both and would recommend either, but I had not stayed at their budget property, the Suites Colonial. I had looked at a room last fall when I was walking by and it looked ‘OK’ but the whole property looked tired.
Last weekend I was coming down solo for a quick dive weekend and asked a friend, who is a local Travel Agent, to book me a room there, so I could check it out. I was pleasantly surprised. The property appears to have been recently remodeled / ‘freshened up’, new paint and fixtures throughout, new flat screen TV’s (with HDMI inputs for you GoPro cameras and tablets), refrigerators and AC units. The mattresses seemed new and were standard Mexico ‘firm’. It’s Mexico and that is the standard.
The property is ¾ of a block south of the main square on 5th Avenue, which is closed to automobile traffic. You enter from the street, two entrances up on the east side from the intersection of 5th avenue & Calle 3. Currently there is no sign but there are shopkeepers on the side walk who will point the entrance out to you. You walk down a corridor / broad walkway that is canopied with flowering vines (Bougainvillea?) to a glass walled immaculate lobby area, it is very well done. The rooms are in the upper floors. I am surprised they have not marketed it as a ‘boutique’ hotel like most properties in Playa and jacked the price.
What I really enjoyed, other than the included fantastic breakfast buffet over at the Casa Mexicana, was that it was quiet. On Saturday and Sunday night they had live music and dancing in the square, which gets pretty loud. Outside the room door along the walkway the music and festivities could be clearly heard but inside nothing but the hum of the AC unit. This is a real plus as I have trouble sleeping in general.
The Studio (budget) room has a Double bed and a Twin (the Bahia sports a King and a Queen), a decent work table, a new LG flat screen TV, a good quality ¾ size refrigerator , a large shower and an AC unit that can turn the room into a meat locker if you max it out. The room is spacious and does not feel cramped and is clean and freshly painted, it shines. For the diver there is not a private balcony to hang your gear but the shower is large and the shower fixture appears to be solid and structurally supported by the concert wall or you can use a high quality dive op like Tres Pelicanos, down the street who will take care of your gear for you (shameless plug to my LDS). The free Wi-Fi was better than I normally see on the island.
I liked it enough that I booked another room for next weekend to get if another quickie dive weekend before AA reduces schedule for the low season, perhaps they will upgrade me and I could review the suites.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gopbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. It is very rewarding for us to know that our services and location have been welcomed by you.
Is our pleasure to serve you.
We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
30
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I go to Cozumel two to three times a year. I always stay at the Colonial. It's location is great (just off the plaza) and everything you need is steps away. Always clean. A courteous person is at the desk 24/7, speaks English well and always there to help. Great breakfast included too! Just a short walk to the Mexicana across from the ocean.(look for the only hotel with an escalator). If you don't need a pool, and why would you on this island, try the Colonial, you won't be disappointed! P. Locascio, N.Y.

Room Tip: a suite with small kitchen large refrig and a small private balcony rooms 208 0r 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Always thankful for your preference, is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed the professionalism offered by our great team and our location and services have been welcomed by you.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was inexpensive. Me and some friends were just doing a short dive trip from Isla Mujeres to Cozumel for a couple of days. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We found the room to be exceptionally clean. The outside of the hotel is really pretty. The entrances is covered in flowers! It is right downtown only a couple blocks from the ferry. It was a little difficult to find, but we just asked one person and they told us exactly where to go! The A/C worked great, hot shower, refrigerator, cable tv, and the wifi worked really well! We only booked one night and planned on doing two dives the next morning. The hotel held our things and even let us go back to our room after we returned (about 1:30pm) and let us wash all of our equipment and shower before we headed back to Isla! We tipped the maid and thanked the guys at the front desk! It was something that most hotels would not do and I was really impressed. Also, the breakfast at the sister hotel was really good! It was just a couple blocks walk away. Highly recommend this hotel for divers on a budget. It is not the Ritz, but for the price it was great! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for share your experience. It is very rewarding to know that our services and location have been welcomed by you.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Dollar for dollar this is the best deal we have ever had in Cozumel. This was our 5 trip to the island. We rented two rooms. We ate the breakfast each morning at the sister hotel three blocks away, then spent the day in our rented car enjoying the island...we dived, watched the stars at night from the east (dark) side of the island, ate cheap and expensive meals, walked through the shops, our family played cards at a restaurant on the street, saw the sights, played in the surf on the South side of the island, joked with the locals...great time, great price, fantastic value!

Room Tip: From the street entrance to the hotel: There is a Chinese restaurant 50 feet to the South and 100 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thanks a lot to share the experience staying at Suites Colonial, is very important for us to know that you enjoyed our services.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
312 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

surprised to find a nice suite hotel right downtown, 2 blocks from where the ferry docks. Almost impossible to find as no signage at all. One block south of ferry dock and 1 block east back a long walkway. Nothing fancy but for the price, a great deal, comfortable and great location.

Room Tip: top/3rd floor nice view, but think any ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Suites Colonial.
Is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our family stopped in for a week the last week of December 2013 for a diving trip. I was a little concerned since I was not familiar with Cozumel and waited last minute to book and really all that was available was this hotel and one other. First, it's not a 4 star hotel or even a 3, but a strong 2 plus it's comfortable with lots of space, including a living room and kitchen which we did not use much. The best part of this hotel is that is real close to the main square and all the restaurants and nightlife. The only complaint I have as others have mentioned is a Disco playing music until about 3am. Well, we had the A/C on and it did not bother us one bit. You might ask for a room close to the lobby which might help, but we were close to the street and were ok with it. This place also did not break the bank as we paid $79.00 per day and got to spend time in Cozumel enjoying the nightlife and people.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise I would suggest a room closer to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
We will like you to give us the opportunity and provide you with a greater service.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

the suites colonial's location was right smack downtown, right off the seawall. it had a frig in the room and a microwave which where 2 huge bounces. the staff was delightful and friendly. the beds where hard as rocks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is very rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#20 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Colonial

Property: Suites Colonial
Address: 5a Avenida Sur S/N, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Colonial 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Suites Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Colonial Hotel Cozumel
Colonial Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing