We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great suite hotel right downtown”
Review of Suites Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Colonial
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
320 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great suite hotel right downtown”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

surprised to find a nice suite hotel right downtown, 2 blocks from where the ferry docks. Almost impossible to find as no signage at all. One block south of ferry dock and 1 block east back a long walkway. Nothing fancy but for the price, a great deal, comfortable and great location.

Room Tip: top/3rd floor nice view, but think any ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Suites Colonial.
Is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    58
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
32
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our family stopped in for a week the last week of December 2013 for a diving trip. I was a little concerned since I was not familiar with Cozumel and waited last minute to book and really all that was available was this hotel and one other. First, it's not a 4 star hotel or even a 3, but a strong 2 plus it's comfortable with lots of space, including a living room and kitchen which we did not use much. The best part of this hotel is that is real close to the main square and all the restaurants and nightlife. The only complaint I have as others have mentioned is a Disco playing music until about 3am. Well, we had the A/C on and it did not bother us one bit. You might ask for a room close to the lobby which might help, but we were close to the street and were ok with it. This place also did not break the bank as we paid $79.00 per day and got to spend time in Cozumel enjoying the nightlife and people.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise I would suggest a room closer to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
We will like you to give us the opportunity and provide you with a greater service.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

the suites colonial's location was right smack downtown, right off the seawall. it had a frig in the room and a microwave which where 2 huge bounces. the staff was delightful and friendly. the beds where hard as rocks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is very rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson Tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this hotel months ago for a 10 day scuba trip to Cozumel MX however when I arrived on October 10th, 2013 the property was closed due to renovation. <no phone call, no text and no email - just closed. Already prepaid for 10 day stay but a nice woman at a desk inside the courtyard saw me and said that the Suites Bahia was honoring their reservations. Maybe owned by the same group. Really poor on the communication as it looked like the renovation had been going on for some time. Michael from Texas

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm hotel is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael6027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel.

We understand your situation and we are really sorry for the inconvenience.
We will like you to give us the opportunity and provide you with a greater service.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Suites Colonial in July 2013 and we were nicely surprised by the very good breakfast buffet that they propose. Most likely one of the best you can get in the island according to some locals. Also, we could enjoy a number of restaurants and bars that are located walking distance from this hotel.
As scuba divers we were happy about the location and could access to a large choice of dive shops around this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have A/C but it is quite noisy. You can use ear plugs and it's fine or just shut i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livertak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel.

Thanks a lot to share your experience staying at Suites Colonial. Is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to your presence again.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed one night here while visiting Cozumel. Rooms were clean,, It was in easy walking distance from the ferry dock. Only thing missing was a pool . Cozumel is a totally different place after the cruise ships leave each evening. Had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra_casaviveconfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

Kind regards from Cozumel.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is very rewarding for us to know that our services and location have been welcomed by you.

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stay at the Suites Colonial whenever I am in Cozumel. It is spacious and the breakfasts make it a deal. It is located just off the main plaza so walking around town is easy.there are good restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Negotiate price...it won't hurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCMC, General Manager at Suites Colonial, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Dear guest

KInd regards from Cozumel.
Is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed. Is our pleasure to serve you.

We hope to see you soon!

Sincerily
Adriana Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#35 of 52 in Cozumel
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Colonial

Property: Suites Colonial
Address: 5a Avenida Sur S/N, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Colonial 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Colonial Hotel Cozumel
Colonial Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing