We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande Experience”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
New York, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Grande Experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

All inclusive is not usually how we roll. A buffet can be a mixed blessing. But then we don't usually travel with a group either and we went on a dive package trip with an NJ Dive shop. Our room exceeded expectations, large, good ac, great bathroom. Built around 2002 or so the resort is charming and very cute. It seems large but is really a medium sized property. The only downside for us the orthopedic mattresses are a bit hard, but we slept well anyway. I am gluten intolerant and shun most simple carbs--so the usually starchy fillers do not work for me. The resort offers entrees and salads that work for most dietary restrictions. Still I was able to eat healthy at every meal-- although it was hard to resist the delicious ice cream selections! There are several "reservation" restaurants, but we liked the buffets better. The two pools were lovely and the very short trek to the beach worth the spectacular view. You are literally able to go to the beach front, eat lunch there and stay until dinner time if you so desire, with dips in the pool or use of the outdoor showers to freshen up. People snorkeled right off the beach. Non motorized water sports like paddle boats and wind surfing are included. There is a good dive shop on site. Dive operation and boats leave right from the resort with a very short trip to the dive sites. Diving that week was great, but it usually is in the marine park. The rates were very low and overall the resort was a value for the money. The guest relations manager invited us for lunch at the club restaurant at an exclusive part of the resort. Some guests pay more per person per day for a white table cloth dining experience, their own chef, separate jacuzzi, etc. The lunch was excellent and I would price this option before returning, but the "standard" was so good that I don't know if I would pay for the upgrade. Based on some of the other reviews all I can say is some people will complain about everything and think any price is too high. Personally, I have paid a lot more for a lot less. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are three floors in each of the buildings with 5-6 rooms per floor and ice makers. As the dive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear MsVineyard,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel, and enjoyed the food and facilities. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of diving and relaxation.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,501
    723
    376
    237
See reviews for
1,208
1,840
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

we had a large group o 18+ ppl that went with us to Cozumel for a destination wedding... We were there for a full week and could have not been happier! there were a few things that happened that were out of the control of the hotels control like power lose due to storms but they did everything they could to make sure we were still happy and taken care of! ALSO i would like to say the photographer for this resort Edgar is the best damn photographer on the whole island! very professional and wonderful to work with! we couldn't be happy with all the pictures he sent home with us and we also received the final product in hand with a gorgeous handmade photo album! thank you so much for all your hard work and making this a memory that we will always cherish!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaitebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear kaitebolton,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We are most proud to have been your choice for your destination wedding!
We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Spent a week there in April 14 with my wife daughter son in law and 2 grand sons 6&3 . It was great the staff was great and always helpful . There were activities each night to keep the kids busy and entertained . There are enough restaurant choices for everyone to be satisfied .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear George G,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

#1. Requested a King on the second floor, got 2 Queens on the first floor. #2. Bed linens, towels, bathtub and sink and coffee cups were color coordinated...20 shades of brown. #3. Buffet food was very bland and could be salvaged with salt and catsup, #4. Room was filthy and came complete with a singing Rana lizard...which was the most pleasant thing about the room. #5. Already mentioned in other reviews about the $18 charge for one way trip to and from town. #6. I made the mistake of asking the taxi driver to hold my purse while attempting to crawl out of his van without the aid of a step stool...only to find out that evening that he had relieved me of a coin purse that contained $300 in travelers checks and $2500 pesos. I filed a report with hotel security and was told that I needed to file a report with the police in town....another $36 ride. #7. Upon the advice of an American police officer who was on vacation and in the Royal Club reception area and overheard my report, I got the name of the manager who would be on duty the next morning. I asked him if there was any way the hotel could give me some kind of credit (e.g., spa services) for the stolen $2500 pesos (I had already taken care of the stolen travelers checks issue with American Express). He was very quick to explain that was not the hotels problem issue because I was dealing with a third party, the only cab company on the island...which, by the way, was allowed on hotel property by the hotel. The name of that manager is Francisco Mundo.

DO upgrade to the Royal Club...it is a little bit more money but well worth in. Lissbeth is a delight to work with and went out of her way to arrange for shipping my purchases home by Fed Ex rather than face overage on my baggage weight allowance. Diego is also a pleasant person to talk to. Most of the other staff did not smile unless you smiled at them first.

DO yourself a favor and spend a little more time finding a place with more favorable reviews.

Room Tip: Check out the air conditioning and cleanliness of your assigned room to make sure it is acceptable B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear wbassett,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry for the taxi incident mentioned, but as it was explained to you, it was not in our hands as it was a police matter and not of internal security. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We apologize for not having been up to your expectations.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

First let's just put it out there that I was actually supposed to stay at their sister hotel Allegro down the street but because of a fire incident at Allegro, we were upgraded to Occidental Grand.

Check In
When we got to OG, I was quite impressed with the feel/decor of the place. The reception itself was quite nice. All the welcoming staff were very nice and everyone seemed very excited that we were there... but lo an behold, confusion started quite early. We were ushered to a desk where we thought we were going to get checked in; but instead, we were sold a ton of stuff that we honestly didn't need. We just sat and listened to him schpeel about packages and other holidays etc. We were then told that if we go to a presentation for future holiday packages/clubs, we would be able to get a scooter rental for a discounted rate — provided we pay ahead. Long story short, we paid, but we never got the scooter rentals because no one was there to give the presentation... they were gone to lunch from noon - 6pm apparently. Anyway, we were then ushered to the Royal Club to check in.. and when we did check in, our rooms weren't ready.. this was around 3pm. After around an hour or so, our rooms were ready and when we actually got in it, my luggage was still missing from the room. I had to call the front desk to get my luggage in despite us being at the hotel for over 3 hours at this point.

Food
There were really nothing wrong with the food. It was good and there were adequate options. If you're not vegetarian that is. The only qualm I have with the food situation is the inconsistency in when and where the food is being serve. The schedule says one thing and the reality is often very different. Ie. going from the very front of the resort to the very back. We got a schedule/itinerary for the first 2 days, but then never again.

Room
What we realized is that when it rains, the electricity likes to go out... and it did for a good couple of hours. They gave out candles to light our rooms and it actually was pretty funny in hindsight. Our AC was incredibly strong... to the point where we had to turn it down quite a bit. We didnt' really spend that much time in our room, but all in all, it was good, solid, and comfortable.

Things to do
Must give them credit for coming up with daytime activities. I spent most of my time diving so I didn't spend that much time at the resort itself, but when I did, it was entertaining watching the Aquagym or Waterpolo happening. The beach is also quite well maintained, so it's a nice place to just chill if you want.

Overall, this is a place I wouldn't mind coming back to... but if I do, I'll know what extra amenities I'll need to bring. Bug spray, extra sunscreen, conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Tiff L,


Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We also appreciate all of your other remarks concerning service as they do help us improve our overall services. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We are here in Occidental Cozumel Grand and although it is the low season the time here has been very special. The people here are so very helpful and friendly that has made our time here extra special. Francisco and Adrian at the front desk wanted to make our time here comfortable and very special. They sincerely wanted to help us out and gave us lots of information about the history of this area as well and helped us with reservations that we wanted to make. Thank you Adrian and Francisco for making us feel welcome here!!! Hema and Chad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCDeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear HCDeeg,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We'll let Francisco and Adrián you kindly mentioned them in your review.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We had a great group of fun people and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay from June 23 - June 30. We had a group of 17 in 5 villas each in a different building. We chose the Occidental Grande particularly for diving excursions and that it was a 4 star resort compared to its 3 star sister resort next door. This resort had entertainment for our diverse group which consisted of teenagers, young adults and middle aged couples. We enjoyed the disco almost every night. We had a dinner party for the 17 of us at the Steak House which was wonderful so was the roof top Pizzeria. We enjoyed the buffets and we thought the food was fresh with a lot of choices. We enjoyed the drinks especially the Dirty Monkey and we tipped $1s so we always got extra good drinks and service. We rented jeeps, however a hodge-podge of different vehicles showed up because the cruise ships take priority. We toured the island and went to Punta Sur and the Tequila Factory and downtown. We did a Sting Ray Sanctuary where you pet, feed and swim with the Sting Rays and that was fun. We all had a variety of A/C temperatures in our rooms. The coldest rooms were on the ground floors. Our teenage kids had a vacation time of their lives with the all-inclusive feature. We were picked up at the resort pier for a snorkel excursion and our group of divers were picked up there too. The beach is wonderful, the sunset was beautiful, the grounds of this resort are beautiful and the mangrove reserve is a natural beauty. We came prepared with bug spray, but didn't use it. We turned our cell phones off and gave the resort's number to family for emergency contact. None of us wanted anything to do with the Internet during our stay. This resort provided us time to have meals together, play together, rest and slow down. We are hard working folks and those 8 days were the perfect getaway for us.

Room Tip: Ground room floors are the coolest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Shellie67,


Thanks for your review. We're most glad you and all of your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We'd love to continue to be your choice for your awesome family reunions.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4,844 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 52 in Cozumel
2,130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing